We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the social”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SpicyTao Backpackers
Ranked #38 of 147 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Its basically a legend. If it's for you, you'll stay forever. If its not, leave and let someone else stay. Though you'll probably still want to come back for the BBQ and just to escape the strip.

Its definitely more for the backpacker than the flashpacker, but what it lacks in flash it more than makes up for in magic. If hot showers are high on your list of priorities then maybe you should go elsewhere. If friendly, helpful staff, a good social and making new friends are your thing then this is where you want to be. Loved it.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank inertiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

I've stayed at Spicypai and Spicytao and can honestly say, in 4 months of traveling SE Asia, these are the best stays yet! Super chilled out vibe makes it easy to meet people, and they are just rugged enough to get you out of the hostel and on adventures every day. They also organize some awesome events including their top notch BBQ's. Don't miss the chance to stay here!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank CodySunkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Really enjoyed my time at Spicy Tao, really unique place! Definitely not the cleanest place, full of bugs and very basic but the outdoor common areas allowed me to meet sooo many cool people! It's out of the way of the main town but just a 5-10 minute walk. Great place to just chill and relax.. would deffo stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Often you get a free stay at your diving trip. But when you dont dive this is a great place to stay! Even I dived and stayed at spicy!

The great "living room" outside is nice to meet new people. Just shoutout you are having dinner and and least 6 others are joining. Own pubcrawl.

I made pancakes in the morning before diving and shared with everyone that was awake. So nice to use a kitchen in a hostel.

Anyway those were 5 great days! Met awesome people and can reccomend it to everyone!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Rtessels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

I have sent the hostel a message through Facebook as indicated in their web site in advance, I did not got a reply from them. When I arrive in the ko tao pier I had to pay a taxi (taxis aren't cheap in ko tao) as the place is far from the harbour, then I walked for ten minutes and when I arrived they told me that the hostel was full!!!
They didn't even apologize or explain me why they didn't reply to my message.
So I had to walk again to find another accommodation around the area.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Carles Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klyde1988, Manager at SpicyTao Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2015

Hey Carles Z

Hope your great bro.

You really made us laugh with your review!!! So, you sent a Facebook message to a hostel the night before you arrive, then you arrive, without ever confirming the booking or getting any reply, and the hostel was full!!!!!! OMG! We must be truly irresponsible staff as you say ;)

Taxis are not cheap in KT, this is true. I dunno can we be blamed for this though.... :P
AND you had to walk - for TEN minutes!!! You poor guy ;)

Also, its a pity you are reviewing a hostel you never stayed in.

Please come back and make a full and correct booking and we would love for you to stay and enjoy Spicy.

Peace and Love, Spicy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I was brought to spicy by a friend of mine only planning on staying two nights in koh Tao but instantly fell in love with the place an spent the better part of two weeks. The hostel is situated about a 5 mins walk from the main strip in sairee, the dorms are basic and cheap but still comfortable they have a great common area with heaps of movies and tv and a long bench table where it's impossible not to meet new friends. The two Irish guys running the place make it what it is organizing an awsum BBQ every few days, booze cruises and help with anything you need. Definatley the best hostel I've stayed in

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexThornton87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I was supposed to stay here for 3-4 days and then look for a place on my own, but then I realised that any other accomodation solution would be worse and it's now my 6th week at SpicyTao. Unless you're looking for luxury, this place has got everything: a price tag which is comparable to a long term accomodation place, (but you don't have to pay one month in advance), plenty of space to chill out, free coffee and toast in the morning, cheap drinking water, a lovely common area where you can watch 1000 movies a day (and that's been my office on some occasions) and where you will make friends even if you're a sociopath like me. Yes the biggest feature about the hostel is that you'll never feel alone, expecially when Clyde the mutant with differently coloured eyes is around.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank VerySmall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
OK View Bungalows
OK View Bungalows
#72 of 147 in Koh Tao
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Central Hostel
Koh Tao Central Hostel
#12 of 147 in Koh Tao
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
#40 of 147 in Koh Tao
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Indie Hostel
Indie Hostel
#21 of 147 in Koh Tao
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Dearly Koh Tao Hostel
The Dearly Koh Tao Hostel
#2 of 147 in Koh Tao
78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summer Guesthouse and Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpicyTao Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpicyTao Backpackers

Address: 35/23 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 147 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: £8 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — SpicyTao Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing