We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SSI level 1 and 2”

Big Blue Freediving
Ranked #58 of 91 Tours in Koh Tao
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Big Blue Freediving school offers freediving courses. The school was founded by South American champion Flavia Eberhard and Spanish Champion Pepe Arcos. Now under other management.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“SSI level 1 and 2”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Such an awesome place to learn freediving. The instructors are very professional and a lot of fun to hang out with. A really great place to learn your limits and push yourself. Emil and Pepe had two of us holding our breath for over three minutes and diving around the 30 metre mark. Thanks a lot for everything, highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Big thanks to Emil and the big blue staff!”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I did my Freediving Level 1 immediately after finishing my open water course, and I had such a good time/learned so much. Emil's a great instructor who will really make sure to explain and help you develop techniques for freediving. He does a great job of stressing that when starting out, your limits are more mental than they are physical. Hope to dive with Big Blue again at some point and I look forward to putting these newly-learned skills to use. Thanks again, Emil!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alvin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Freediving Level 1”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Amazing instructors made Big Blue an unbelievable place to learn how to freedive. Emil taught the 2 day course and had all three of us holding our breath for at least 2 minutes and 15 seconds and diving to over 20 meters by the end of the second day, all in a stress-free environment. A great sport to learn to push yourself and your limits. Its all in your head! ;) Thanks for an awesome course and uncovering a new passion Big Blue!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Paullyc3773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
163 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Addicted because of them”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Had a great year end freediving training thanks to Emil and Lubo!
I had a tight schedule but they did the best to accommodate, gave professional advice, and shared lots of great experiences they had in freediving in all over the world. At first I got trained by the professionals Flavia and Pepe, and since then keep coming back.
Definitely will come back again soon!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chinono-tai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
125 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Big Blue Big Fun”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Set on Sairee Beach. Fantastic, super-friendly Staff - emphasis on Environment protection, Dive safety. If in doubt Do it - if you want fun - Blue it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stoffel45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Blue Freediving also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Big Blue Freediving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing