We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Ranked #151 of 181 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We booked a room, very closeto the noisy road. We ask to change, int sink was broken in the other room. So we had to go for an upgrade, of couse more expensive, with garden view. It was clean, but shower splasing the whole bathroom, baldaquin bed with soare parts missing and garbage view. In addition we totally shared our room with our neighbors, as we could hear EVERYTHING. Breakfast was rather nice. To conclude, it' too expensive for what it is.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank N C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    22
    16
    12
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Non existent service and rubbish food”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We hired out a couple of sun loungers for the day here for 150 baht each. We asked the waiter for the food menu, it did not come. Not once did a meme bet of staff come out to take our lunch order, clear plates, ask for drinks... Nothing. It was like we did not exist. We then sat inside to get out of the sun, were given a menu instantly, however after 10 mins of waiting for someone to take our order we went up ourselves.
All the staff are just behind the computer, on their phones or wondering aimlessly around.
We had the veggie chill with jacket potato for lunch. It was disgusting- a microwave job, and even that they couldn't manage! The witless does not work. The toilets are disgusting.

Needless to say we will not be returning!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller10205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Waste of time, dissapointing...”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

I would rarely award one star to any dining establishment but this one honestly deserves one and should wear it with pride...

We went there expecting an ok bbq and standard as you can in Koh Tao.

Unfortunately we cut our visit short there thanks to rude and unattentive staff. The 'journey' started with the bbq guy overtly upset that we ordered 6 king prawns between the two of us hence qualifying for just a garnish of one plate, potato and salad to share (not that We would particularly bother about additional potato and salad. Who would?.). No recommendations, explanation, customer service whatsoever.

Inside it got worse. 6 of the staff were wandering on the floor despite it wasn't busy and it took longer to serve one beer than to bring food.

Talking about latter it was rather poor and of questionable freshness (king prawns).

When it came to paying the bill, we enjoyed two cherries on the top of our 'experience'. Firstly, when trying to complain, two of staff members lost their ability to speak or understand English that during the attract/sell process was Ok. So no discussion happened even when the supervisor arrived. Secondly, they assumed a tip and bringing change took ages again (still despite the folks wandering on the floor doinf seemingly nothing). No understanding for our right not to tip such behaviour.

So to sum up, having dined almost everywhere in Koh Tao I would recommend anyone to avoid this place as there are many other places in Koh Tao where you are get much better food and customer service for your buck.

Helpful?
Thank WK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful food quality”
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Ordered a chicken sandwich and a veggie chilli. The chicken was dry, over cooked and chewy. The 'chilli' was poor quality beans with rice. No sauce. Same price as everywhere else so eat elsewhere! Waste of money

Helpful?
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best beef BBQ i had”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The beef BBQ was so good and cheap (150THB for 2), i ordered again after finishing my first place. The others fish and chicken were average i have to say. The staff are often overloaded so better you order yourself on the BBQ stand setup on the road.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maeva101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seashell Resort Koh Tao also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Seashell Resort Koh Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing