We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spot for anyone really...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Spot for anyone really...”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Ended up here by accident when the place we booked let us down, and given it was half the price we had intended paying at Cabana next door we actually really liked it. The rooms are huge, big double bed in the centre with all usual mod cons. Air Con units a little old but works great, nice big ensuite, basic enough standard but nice too.
The best part of this is the lovely pool virtually on the beach. Great food at the restaurant as well but the staff in general at the hotel are a little unfriendly and not really bothered. But they are pleasant enough so we didnt really care as the location and beach front situation are fantastic! Had massage on the nice beach loungers and hired hotel snorkels. Only bad thing was the transfer to the ferry which was 1.5 hours ahead of the departure time - you only need 30 mins. When we asked if we could go later we were told to get a taxi, which of course the receptionist arranged and was their friend from what we could see. But this seems to happen all the time in Thailand, getting as much money out of you - that was a rip off. But generally it was a good place to stay for the $$.

Room Tip: 311 is virtually poolside but without the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suresh23456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    118
    86
    74
    72
See reviews for
49
168
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2011

My Friends and stayed here whilst we did on Open water PADI, and this is what i thought..

Beautiful picturesque cottages in their well tended grounds, right in front of a beautiful beach with palm tress lazily leaning out to sea. we were staying in one of the more reasonable rooms at the rear of the resort , but it was extremely comfortable, with a large double bed and all the necessary amenities and spotless.

We had a super instructor, who was patient, experienced and good laugh too. Nothing was too much hassle. As a result the diving course was a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

We never ate in the resort really apart from breakfast (one of the most beautiful spots to have breakfast) we always walked down the beach to some of the local places, which i think CG secretly prefer you to do anyway.

However i just couldn't help but feel though, that i wasn't so much of a guest there, but more someone who was on the outside of an "in" crowd (they being the instructors) i felt like i was encroaching on the staffs turf.

In conclusion, for a few days diving with your mates, yes. For a relaxing non scuba holiday with family. No. Shame it could be more, but at the moment it isn't.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Trip advisor 
We arrived and the hotel pick up at the docks never came. We searched around but had to get our own transport costing 150 baht. When we arrived they had lost our booking and claimed we had neither paid for the room or the diving, nor had any space to accommodate us. After showing our receipt we were offered an 'upgrade' to an air conditioned room but they wanted £11 each per night (for 3 people) and we were also asked to share with 2 other people with the same problem.  Feeling that there was no alternative we accepted the room and were shocked!

When we moved in there were spiders and ants everywhere and looked like mouse droppings on the bed. The first night we were eaten alive and noticed a 1ft lizard living on the ceiling which turned out to be the culprit for the poo on the floor and plastic coated beds.

The bathroom flooded as it is an open ceiling and overspilled into the bedroom soaking our bags with foul coloured rain and drain water. 

We decided to leave and went to cheaper and much cleaner accommodation at the Lotus further down the beach. 

The only positive I can really give is that the diving here is fantastic and the dive team and boat crews are the best ive seen. The instructors and DMs really take care in terms of safety, group size and quality of training and wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickTomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

i recently spent some time diving with this company and found them to be very friendly and entertaining and made my stay an extremely enjoyable one. :)
it may not be the cheapest resort on the island, but this is only one of a handful of resorts on the island with this amount of facilities! swimming pool great for learning, lovely dive shop, nice restaurant and the dive-team were very friendly and helpful.
if you do get slow service here, (as i have read in some reviews) remember, you are in THAILAND and this 'relaxed' approach is a way of life!

overall i found the whole resort and time spent with CORAL-GRAND, a very enjoyable one and will certainly recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chumbomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

The staff are so so rude!! The girl at reception, carries around a small dog with her, was reluctant to give me my passport so I could photocopy it in town, uttered the line "how do I know you'll bring it back" et it's my passport and you have my friends also!!
They tried to charge us for minibar items that hadn't Been restocked from the previous guest, said it's ok we won't charge you this time? What not charge us for items we havnt used!!!
Dont stay here, it was absolutely rubbish and so so overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneBelcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

I definately would not stay Here again. We booked here as a treat for our last night in Koh Toa having travelled for 3 months and I can say I have stayed in much better and cheaper places. The room was nice however it rained and water gushed through out bathroom roof, the tv did not work, the staff were ok but the manageress was very rude and walked around carrying a small dog which was highly unprofessional and then upon check out having charged us an extortionate amount of money for somewhere really not worth it, they tried to charge us for minibar items we hadn't used but then decided that perhaps their housekeeping staff had not replaced it from the previous guests. They said it's ok we will let you off, let us off with things we havnt consumed, the cheek. Being told this by a woman holding a small dog was infuriating.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneBelcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Our experience with Coral Grand was certainly mixed. All of the instructors at the dive centre were so friendly and helpful and amazing in every possible way and extremley supportive. They went out of their way to help people who were struggling (as I was), lacked confidence or who had language issues, if you are interested in diving then stay here without a doubt.

HOWEVER the Thai receptionist there was without a doubt the rudest person we have ever encountered. The tone in which she spoke at us and the looks she gave were not worthy of giving to a dog. Her attitude at all times was disgusting, as we observed her nature towards other guests. On top of this when he enquired about a potential refund over the phone we were screamed and shouted at by the Thai manager which was absolutley disgusting and unfortunatley put a severe downer on our stay.

The accomodation was ok, although the cleaners were awful, bed not changed once in 4 nights and towels changed randomly, sometimes only one a day changed.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#33 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
#41 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.9 mi away
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
In Touch Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort

Property: Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
Address: 15/4 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Coral Grand Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing