We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a waste of time and money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a waste of time and money”
Reviewed 5 August 2008

Normally I would not be doing a write up but feel I have to because I don't want anyone else to experience what we did during our stay. Prior to coming to Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort, we stayed at various places in Thailand and we loved them all, that is until we got here. I couldn't believe what they were charging for what we got.. There were 3 of us so had to pay an extra $1200 baht for the third person. In all it cost me $7,000 baht a night. We would have moved if we could but we paid ahead of time for the three nights we were there. Staff were very unfriendly except for the small guy doing the beach towels and lounges (long hair). The restaurant was awful. I was always looking for salt and pepper shakers as there were never at my table. Food not great. The female staff looked as if they were doing us a favor by being there. The pool was small and every time I wanted to go in it, there were about 10 divers in it. The Cabana Resort at the end of the beach close by looked so much nicer and it was cheaper, but unfortunately had no rooms. Only stay here if you like getting ripped off.

Debra from Calgary, Canada

  • Liked — it was a 30 second walk to the beach
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank carmelle100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    121
    89
    74
    74
See reviews for
49
173
40
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2008

Coral Grand Resort has ruined my entire holiday!! don't stay here if you going to Koh Tao, it was a complete nightmare. apparently the most expensive one on the island, i booked 3 nights the delux cottage supposed to be one of the top & 2nd expensive room in the hotel, i paid closed to 5,000 baht per night, the room was terrible for a start, air-con not funtion well, shower is dripping the whole time, i rather take shower at the pool! Most importantly the services was extremely BAD! I never stayed in a resort with such horrendous staffs! i dare to say almost every single staff in the entire hotel (beside the guy arranging the beach tower), not to say unhelpful with mere request but also incredible RUDE, having bfast morning every morning was like a challenge, you don't feel welcome let alone how awful the food is. The last day i asked this guy at the front desk to help me made a phone call to Ben diving resort to arrange pick up (there is no outside call from the room!), he was relutant to do so and kept repeating 10baht per minute! i felt this was clearly an insult, if i could pay 5,000 baht for the room, why would i not pay 10baht for the local call!! i couldn't put off with this so i confront him, he didn't apologize but pointed at his name tag and challenge me that if i ve any problem here is my name and feel free to complain! I then tried to speak with the MANAGER, he sat there pretend he didn't know what happened and staring right at me and said "what is your problem?" giving me a cold and nasty look! i finally gave up debating with them, this was absurd! their attitude is profundly disturbing, we ve to bear their grudges since the 1st day we arrived! When we about to leave the hotel, there were 2 visitors which intended to check the hotel availabilty, my sister immediately told them (in front of the whole crew of rude staffs) to switch to somewhere else if they want a nice and peaeful holiday. We were pleased they left right after us and believed our warnings! We then moved to Ben's diving resort which is a million times better in term of price and staffs, only 2,000 baht for a nice room a far step from beach, shower was great and air-con is running, staffs were extremely friendly and helpful. Unfortunately we only stayed for 1 night and left for Samui the next day. Once again i like to stress CORAL GRAND bloody ruin our holiday and please no matter how impressive their website is, dont tempt fate, you will regret once you step into their resort.

  • Liked — May be the pool photo from the website but NOTHING AT ALL in reality
  • Disliked — everything, esp Staffs' attitude and services was the wrost ever since my travelling history!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathchow113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2008

We stayed here during our honeymoon in April. friends had previously visited the island and recommended that we go here as it is not as commercial as some of the other islands. Koh Tao itself is a paradise, the beach at Sairee was beautiful, no sign of the rubbish mentioned by others. Nicer towards the top end of Sairee. nightlife is extremely chilled out, fire shows entertain you as you lie on a bean bag or bed a few metres from the tide. Food was also amazing, definitely recommend simple life chicken bbq kebabs and there was a really good mexican in the town, Tongs was also good, unbelievably cheap.
Our problems were with the accommodation.....oh and the weather!!!! We were booked in for 10 nights, but left after 6. For 3 days there was thunderstorms non stop and of course if you don't dive and there's no sun, there's very little to do on this island.
We stayed in a deluxe pirate cottage poolside. This was one of the most expensive cottages........definitely not worth the baht. We had stayed in luxury in Bangkok and Ko Samuii for a fraction of the cost. When we checked in our room had no towels, but these were delivered quickly when i asked for them. Air conditioning is poor and very noisy, it consists of a roof fan which can be very noisy and that stops when you leave your room as the key operates it. The bathroom is dangerous if you have a few drinks. It has tree wooden steps down to it, you need to be careful. We found ourselves with an unexpected guest on day 2 of our stay....a large lizard that had taken residence between bathroom and bedroom. It disappeared but returned the next day. When i approached staff at reception to remove it, they did not want to know. They appeared not to understand what i meant. I had to return 3 times to have it dealt with, it was 2 and a half hours later before anyone came to deal with it. Then it could not be found. The lizard came back that night!!!! Reception staff were unfriendly and unhelpful (although the guy who give out the beach towels was very funny and chatty). I was very surprised by this as my experience in our other accommodations had been the opposite, staff in Bangkok and Ko Samuii could not have been more helpful and courteous. Breakfast was also poor.....some of the fruit had ants crawling over it. Also no entertainment here at all at night. Oh ....and forget about using the pool......always full of divers......
We checked out 4 days early....a big disappointment in accommodation.....and we are not fussy people. My advice, do not book here. There are probably much better places to stay that are probably lots cheaper.

  • Liked — on the beach
  • Disliked — unhelpful, unfrienly staff, not value for your baht
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IrelandMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BE
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2008

BUNGALOW: hightened small room and seperate bathroom some steps down. it was clean enought for us, even thougt there were some spider webs and dust. the wooden floor and wall had some slats, so the air condition had hard work. there was a water heater, tea bags, coffee available. towels, sheets were clean. there were some shampoo, shower gel, sope and detergents. so, the room was ok for us.
the BEACH was nice, but i was never swimming due to the dirty water and trash in the water.
the hotel STAFF was unfriendly. the receptionist was in the AC office beside and didn't move her [--] out of there, although she saw me standing at the RECEPTION.
asking to call a taxi (to another beach) seemed to be too much for them. they didn't want to know where the place we wanted to go is (actually the driver must know - not her) and after 15min we asked what is going on. not till then she called someone and assigned us to wait. she left the reception and didn't show up again. after another 20 min we left by foot.
later: there is a refrigerator at the reception but it was not possible to get anything from there. we had to go to the bar, but at the bar they didn't have anything to take away in a bottle or can....
it was not allowed to keep the available beach towels during night time to use them the next day again. even when we went diving at 6:15 we couldn't keep them and had to go to the beach and asked someone to be kind to hand out one....
the RESTAURANT we joined only once and no more.
there were many restaurant or bars with food along the beach. the food was much better than in the resort, but there as well, most of the staff was unfriendly, resigned and lethargic.

the DIVE CLUB seemed good by the first view. but it was a dispatch. guides were unprepared (i don't want to show my guide questions have to be solved - an pay for that!). my adventure deep dive was guided unprofessionally, dives were a fast swim along the site. no stops to have a properly look at something, by the only one we did the guide swam avay and we didn't found her anymore! the equipement was probably not old, but used a lot.

we will never go there anymore.

  • Liked — the nearness to the sea
  • Disliked — the reception
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bor77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2008

Despite an excellent beachfront location, a generally good level of facilities, a number of nice staff, it is quite one of the worst managed hotels it has ever been our misfortune to stay at.

The poor choice and standard of food, thepoor level of service in restaurant and bar, to the column of ants that adopted the bathroom wall as a a dual carriageway! Management was not remotely 'hands-on', elicited not the slightest interest in its customers' well-being (or otherwise), and appeared solely motivated by considerations of the minimum expense and standards it could get away with.

If you don't want to be ripped off and picked clean, do not go there. They haven't changed our bed linens for a week, and we have been given dirty towels twice. When we requested from Room Service assistance, it took them forever to deliver.

And finally this hotel is poor value for money, it is one of the most expensive in koh tao and it has no luxury things that could justify this unreasonably high price.

Never coming back to this hotel again !

  • Disliked — its located in a very windy side of the island
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orchideaselvaggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2008

There is very little luxury accommodation available on Ko Tao, so this resort is very high priced when you compare it to the other islands. The pool is hardly usable because ther is always a diving lesson going on in there.
It is miles away from the decent bars and restaurants, and doesn't have much life of it's own. A great walk along the beach though.
Ko Tao, thankfully really, is not a resort place yet. So when I go back, I will go the cheaper, more authentic option and get a niceish bungalow near the main town.
You just don't get the value for money on this island to warrant spending the extra baht. Plus, you will be able to afford to stay there longer.
Lotus bar was my favourite bar for nightlife, so I would stay near there next time.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Global_Trekker_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quebec
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2008

If you want to share your bed with bedbugs that bites you & if you

like also to eat in the middle of dogs, flies & other insects, you'll be

served there.

Bathroom is in a very bad condition, and you have to go down 5

steps to get there.

Also they take your PASSPORT as garanty for your expenses while

you stay & forget to give it back when you leave.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — comfort & meals
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank momooo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
501 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#32 of 49 in Koh Tao
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
#41 of 49 in Koh Tao
485 reviews
0.9 mi away
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
In Touch Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort

Property: Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
Address: 15/4 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Coral Grand Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing