We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
Ranked #36 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Coral Grand in one of their cheaper rooms. The front desk staff was very unfriendly when we arrived (however, later on in our stay, there was a nice and helpful woman at the front desk). We were told we had to check in with the dive center for our room, I don't know why... The dive center staff was very nice and made us feel welcome. The room was very plain, the shower head sprayed everywhere but in front! When turned on the sink faucet only dribbled water, not enough came out to wash our hands. The walls are paper thin, we could hear the telephone conversation in the next room. Our maid was terrible as well, our bed was not made properly the entire time. We tried to find somewhere else to stay, but it was high season and there were no rooms available anywhere.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Genevieve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Room was okay size however I don't think it had been properly cleaned when we got there, there was crushed soap all around the sink and half empty bottle of shampoo. To put it nicely there was someone else's 'stains' left in the toilet and half eaten food in the bin. So, yeah our first impressions weren't good! However, it is right in the front of the beach which is beautiful and just a short 5 minute walk to all the main restaurants and bars etc. We found the staff really friendly and the pool area was nice. Would find somewhere else to stay next time in koh Tao though!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kadi_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Booked hotel for a holiday after a wedding in koh samui, room is disgusting it's basically a shed on stilts. There's been lizards in the room on a number of occasions and cockroaches in bathroom. We'll over priced its 100 times worse than a travel lodge, Air con hardly works and makes a racket so it's almost impossible to sleep at night and so hot that you need it running. Staff are very rude including the front reception and the bar staff, all the sun loungers are falling apart at the pool and the restaurant is poor.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank will f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

On arriving to Koh Tao we were immediately scammed by the local taxis to take us to cheap accommodation on the beach. After being turned down from every hostel we arrived at the Coral Grand. The minute we got there they were rude and unhelpful. The worst part was after booking a ferry off koh Tao through thrm they were suppose to charter a free taxi. They never let us know when the taxi arrived and we ended up getting in the wrong one (and kicked out) forcing us to scramble to get a taxi to the peer. Next time I visit thus island, I will stay far away from coral grand.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed in the dorms attached to this place (Nomads Koh Tao). Clean dorms with a/c. Each bed had a curtain, reading light and locker (bring your own lock). There is free wifi although connection in the dorms isn't so good but works well in the reception area. The dorm was spacious enough and the shared bathrooms were clean with good shower pressure. The dorms share the grounds with Coral Grand Resort so you are right by the beach and you get to use the pool. I really liked it here. The beachfront was nicer than other places to stay. May be a little pricey but a good option for a solo traveller. The restaurant and the diving that are part of Coral Grand Resort are not the best value for money. Good food and professional diving but you could find cheaper option elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelseys82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We went here for diving, because it's cheap and a good place!

We thought it was a nice place and the staff are friendly. The location is also good and 5min walk from the city with a lot of restaurants, supermarkets and disco/bar. A nice place, but mostly just for divers. If you dont want to dive, you can find a better place we think

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I'm going to split this review into two parts; the resort and the dive school.

The Resort:
I stayed in a basic room with AC and cold water shower. I was staying as part of a package that gave free accommodation if you were using their dive school. This was a fantastic offer and for the price I was paying, the room was excellent value. It would normally cost 600 baht a night, which in my opinion was not really worth it for what you are getting. The general standards were good, but I would recommend eating out, as the restaurant staff are extremely unenthusiastic. The breakfast buffet is also overpriced. It is however a nice enough resort and somewhere I would stay again - the beach is absolutely stunning and the location could not be better. It is at the end of the beach which is near everything but also set a little further back from all the party people. Great if you like a little calm! They also offer a free taxi to the pier which is really handy.
The reception staff are also really helpful.

The Dive School:
Absolutely brilliant. No problems here, all the staff were really, really patient, competent, reassuring and lovely, interesting people. My one complaint is the inconsistency of the photographer who goes on the boats with the new divers. There were several people in my dive group who were excited to have photos to take home, but our trip did not have a photographer. This is particularly frustrating to come back and see the other groups enjoying their photos.

Aside from that, the whole stay at Coral Grand was pretty great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.6 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dusit Buncha Resort
Dusit Buncha Resort
#25 of 50 in Koh Tao
368 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#12 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,273 reviews
0.9 mi away
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort

Address: 15/4 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £30 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Coral Grand Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing