We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we have had a perfect time and very very safe diving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Meerhout
2 reviews
“we have had a perfect time and very very safe diving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

I'm surprised at some of the reviews. Koh Tao is just out of the backpack stage and for me it should not go further keep the current state. I'm travelling a lot for my work around the globe and I'm quite happy with the accomodation. Altough the restaurant was under renovation (This was very slearly indicated at the resertvation upon receipt and in the rooms) the service and food were simply good. Certainly not over priced.

The dive centre is definitly up to the 5 star padi standard. I'm an instructor since 1996 with more then 11.000 dives and I was impressed with the attention for safety and the willingness to adapt to individual wishes of the divers being from different levels of experiece.

I canw armly recommend this site and I'm back next year

Rene & Gaby

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneManders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    118
    84
    72
    72
See reviews for
47
167
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

We stayed in the free fan room that came with signing up for the PADI Open Water course. The first room we were given a key to was a bit ramshackle, with one of the window's screens not quite attached. When we asked for another room, we were graciously shown to a room that was basic, but clean and surprisingly cool with just a fan. I would recommend trying to find a corner room to get the breeze to blow through. We were really happy with our room, especially considering the price!

The cleaning staff and Thai staff in the dive shop were very helpful throughout our stay. The restaurant seemed mediocre, and a bit overpriced, compared to the other Sairee beach restaurants. The location was wonderful; slightly secluded from the hustle of Sairee, but only a 5-10 minute walk from the action.

We went into the course with open, excited minds. However, this kind of course is hit-or-miss based on the instructor, and ours was a big miss. Our instructor, Jackson, didn't have the patience to teach new divers. With a student-teacher ratio of 6-1, it was a bit scary to have my very first dive with an instructor who didn't take time to explain the steps of how to do something correctly in the middle of the ocean. After the first dive, my girlfriend began feeling quite dizzy on the boat, to the point of not being able to open her eyes. Jackson's verbal reaction was, "Oh, you must have had too many buckets last night." When I told him I would stay on the boat with my sick girlfriend rather than continue with the second dive, he was quite condescending.

We missed the 2nd-4th dives, but the next day we completed our academic part of the course. When we try the last 3 dives again, we'll be sure to go with a smaller establishment with a smaller teacher-student ratio and less pompous instructors.

So, to sum up: the OW course is a great value, ONLY if you get a good instructor.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
304 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

A bit of a mixed bag this lot.

The boat crew are very helpful and so is the shop manager Jonas, plus a few others. But some of the other staff, including the DMs are quite arrogant.

The boats they use too are very old and in quite a state of disrepair with poor facilities. Mind you, looking around at the other boats at the harbour, this did seem to be the norm in Koh Tao. The dive staff were allowed to smoke on board, which they did, all of them like regular chain smokers - quite disgusting, especially when the staff were often the only ones on board that were smoking. Surely, they could ban smoking on board - the trips are only 4 hours long or so.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zambezikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

South Africa
Level Contributor
304 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

I stayed in the cheap accommodation next to the dive shop. This was partly because I wanted internet in the room and these were the only rooms that provided that. Plus, the other accommodation was highly and a bit over priced, considering other resorts nearby. I didn't actually mind the cheap accommodation - it was basic but then it was very cheap and fucntional too, so I got what I paid for.

But the restaurant didn't have a good menu and had no veggie options for breakfast. Plus the staff were quite unhelpful there. What's more, I saw many guests that were staying in the expensive accommodation wheeling their luggae up and down the resort. this was because there were no staff porters at the resort in evidence - very poor service, considering the price they paid for the rooms (approx US$ 80/90 per night).

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zambezikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

I lived in Thailand for 7 years and never have I seen so expensive old resort. We booked 2 nights on the net and we payed 4850 baht per night for a Deluxe Pirate Cottage. what a mistake. From my experience in Thailand I will say 1000 baht is more like it. We also went diving whit their diving center. One more mistake. We have dived many times. We came on the boat end we met the Dive Master that was gonna dive whit us, hi was very arrogant and he sad by the law of Thailand we have to do everything exactly as he says If we didn't hi would cancel the dive. We went under water and after 15min of sand bottom he signaled to go to surface and we did. Hi said he got a panic attack and we have to swim back to the boat where we will get a new Dive Master. Easy on the pills mate. And we payed full price of cause. So if you want a dangerous dive whit armatures and stay in some old overprice xxxx Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort is the place and remember to bring your wallet the hotels taxi pick-up charges 300 baht to drive 1.5km . En joy. ooh and you can't see the bottom in the swimming pool it is that dirty.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samui-Larsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

Thai owned and managed hotel which is slowly being run down. In real need of renovation. That said, lovely site, helpful staff, quirky and basically OK. However their restaurant is seriously overrun with flies and nothing is being done to combat the problem (overhead fans etc.) We were forced to eat meals on our veranda or anywhere elsewhere. Nowhere else in town seemed to have as bad a problem. The hotel is also a dive resort and the food on the dive boat was the worst we have experienced on a day dive anywhere in Thailand...and we live here! Dive crew great, not a problem there but restaurant has real problems

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yazza1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

CHOOSE ANOTHER PLACE!!!!

We booked 2 nights, but actually didn't want to stay even one night.

We booked the poolvilla, highest in price. (+5000 THB).
The reception told me to hand over my passport. I then already had a bad feeling.

To come short:
It was ridiculous; the state of the room was very basic.
The floor was open so the hot air coming out of the outside AC unit (which was placed directly under the room), would come into the room again via the floor!

The 'door' to the bathroom was very loose, children could open it easily which a steep drop of about a meter. The water in the shower was a tiny drip. The food was so so.
The pool was half salty and did not look to clean.
The baby cod provided was VERY UNSAFE.

Checking out the next morning, the staff became very unfriendly.

There is a choice: DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripadvisewithfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#28 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
#41 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.9 mi away
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#5 of 137 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort

Property: Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
Address: 15/4 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Coral Grand Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing