We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dive, relaxe and enjoy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Dive, relaxe and enjoy”
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed in one of the diving-rooms, simple and clean double room with AC or Fan, all you need when you spend most of the time in the water with the crew from Coral Grand Divers.
The resort have a nice pool, beach and restaurant. Most imported for our stay a divecenter with very, very professional dive masters and instructors, following PADI guidelines, choosing the best dive spots of the day and making small groups that fit together in skills and air time. Coral Grand Divers is also a very good place to do diving courses, beginner or pro, they can take you to the next level with comfort.
When you are not diving, you can enjoy the sun from one of the beach chairs on the beach or by the pool, with a beach towel provided by Coral Grand and a big plate of fruit from Happy Snapper, the restaurant.
Coral Grand is located in the quiet end of the beach some 200 meters from the bars.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFuglsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    120
    89
    74
    74
See reviews for
49
173
40
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Esp
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

the hotel itself is quite basic , the rooms are Ok, clean enough to be in the middle of the sea in a tropical island andthe swimming pool is nice but I never tried it,you have a maravelous sea just in front!!!
The diving place is very good, dive masters are really friendly and profesional, always taking care of you and spending some time before and after to explain about the incoming dive's spots. If you like diving this is your place and is easier to stay also in that resort.Youcan reach nice places to dinner just walking across the nice beach in 5-10 minutes of a nice walk.

I don't agree with some other posts as , at least with us, everybody was really nice and polite. Is not the resort of your life but you will get a nice and clean place to sleep and a great place to dive.In adition is away from the night music of the nearby beach bars.Some other best resorts will get all the night music and if you need to wake up at 5:30 am to dive, that's not very nice.

The only bad thing, too many people diving at the same time in the same place

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trumanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2010

This was my second trip to Coral Grand in a year. It was like going back to see old friends. The dive staff are the best. I'll go back again. See you there!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMooreBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Great location, nice pool, right on the beach but cockroaches in the bathroom! Thought it was a little overpriced. Restaurant is nice but make sure you have a good while to wait! Service is so slow!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neasabray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We traveled through Thailand this July and August 2010. One of our stops was Koh Tao. We did not have an accomomdation booked in advance so after arriving by boat we took our Lonely Planet and started calling some hotels. The Coral Grand had vacancies and a good price. They picked us up at the pier and took us to the resort.

The first impression was already very good. The resort is very wel mainained, has a great atmosphere and the staff was very friendly. We could take a look at the room first before we had to decide whether to stay or not . We were shown to a cottage that was very nice. It was close to the beach, the restaurant and the pool. The whole cottage was great! Cozy room, nice bathroom and own porch.

We stayed four nights at the Coral Grand and enjoyed it very much. I went along with one of the dive trips organized by the Coral Grand dive school. Very nice people at the school and great spots to dive. The restaurant is also nice. Breakfast is good and extensive and when you order lunch while on the beach they bring it to you as well. The locaton is perfect. You walk to where the action is in not more than 5 to 10 minutes (depends on what you are looking for) and when you want to go to sleep you will enjoy the resort's quiet location.

If I have to mention a minor thing about the resort, the only thing I can come up with would be the laundry service. It cost us 280 Bath for one bag while you can get your laundry done in town for around 40 Bath. But that minor detail did not spoil our stay at Coral Grand Resort at all.

Would definately recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0bertC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katwijk, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We stayed 3 days in this hotel. The beach is great, there is some simple coral in front of the beach for snorkling, Koh Tao is real fun (we went to all 3 islands and liked Tao best because it is alive). Also some fun shops and bars and restaurants close to the hotel

The 'bungalows' are really nothing special, very average, and overpriced (we paid approx 4500 per night which was the highest during our stay in Thailand and definitely not the best value for money. Staff is not very friendly (ok, compared to usual Thai standards...)

They offer free accomodation if you sign up for a dive course, but these are very simple rooms with a fan, not the bungalows that you see on the website. (we did not use this option)

The dive team is great and 'danish'. Our instructor Nad was a great guy and we had lots of fun diving with him. Everything well organized.

Although all resort have their own dive center, they all leave on boats from the pier where also the ferries arrive. They take you there by car, not a problem, but for diving it is not really an advantage to be on a "dive resort", you may as well book any place close to Sairee beach. (unless you still need to certify, than it is a different story)

The wifi is not workign well and certainly not with iPod and iPhones. Never experienced this before, but they said it is a known problem.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeendertVis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

A diving instructor showed us some pictures of the resort. It looked fresh and nice, and was also mentioned in the Lonely Planet guide as a top end hotel. We were quite shocked when we arrived at the resort. The peple working at the front desk was anyting but friendly and helpful, and the rate was way too high. Since we came a couple of days after the Full Moon party, most hotels were fully booked, so we decided to stay one night .
The bungalow was just awful. It might have been nice 20 years ago.... And with cockroaches in the bathroom... Well, do I need to say more....
We had lunch at the restaurant. Stray dogs running around and birds hopping around.... Not very pleasant. Bad food. No soap in the bathroom. A lot of empty cans and plates around the pool.
We could'nt wait to move to another hotel - we had an early breakfast and grabbed a cab...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoctailsAndDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
500 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#33 of 49 in Koh Tao
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
#41 of 49 in Koh Tao
484 reviews
0.9 mi away
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
In Touch Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort

Property: Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
Address: 15/4 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Coral Grand Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing