We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hostel, great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koh Tao Central Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
State of Bremen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cool hostel, great staff!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Koh Tao Central Hostel is great. It is located close to the pier and there are some nice places to eat and drink around. The mainbeach "Sairee" is a 15 minute walk away. The dorm and the bathrooms were always really clean. They have a decent WiFi and the A/C was working well. Rolf, the owner and the guys of island travel are awesome and very helpful!

I really enjoyed my stay in the Koh Tao Central Hostel and I´d recommend to stay here,you will have a great time!

Room Tip: The big dorm upstairs has a balcony The dorm downstairs has no window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    59
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
27
85
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights and couldn't be more impressed with the cleanliness of the hostel, great price and most of all the fantastic staff who couldn't do enough to help out with anything regarding my stay or onward journey.
Would stay here again in a heartbeat 10/10.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joss P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

This hostel although a little off the main strip was just what was needed after a nightboat from phi phi! 3 of us from the boat opted for the smaller 6 bed dorm which was without windows but total bliss! Really clean facilities! Everyone was really friendly and we only moved to be a little closer to the beach!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank wendywoo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Booked into the hostel for the duration of my dive course as it was recommended by my dive school and decided to stay for a few more days so ended up staying for 8 nights in total.

The dorm that I stayed in was very clean and probably had the best aircon of any of the places that I stayed in whilst in Thailand. One of the nice touches was that there was dim lighting on 24 hours a day in the dorms so that you did not have any trouble finding your way to bed if you came in late and you could always get a good nights sleep without someone coming in and turning on the light. As far as the facilities go, there is no common room, however, this is advertised so I will not take it into account in this review, there is a bar opposite with a free pool table where you get a 10% discount and the staff there don't make you feel pressured to keep on buying drinks. The facilities in the hostel such as showers, toilets, wash area etc. are all very good and as with the rest of the hostel always kept clean.

Staff were extremely helpful, the reception is based in Island Travel next door where you can also sort out boat tickets, moped hire, etc. Rolf, the co-owner was a bit of a legend and bought a few beers on my last night there. There were also masks and snorkels available to borrow free of charge which was a nice touch.

For me, location was perfect, far enough away from Sairee that it is quiet in the evening if you fancy an early night (nice when you are diving at 7am the next day), whilst only being 15 mins away if you fancy an evening that is a bit more lively.

All in all, I couldn't fault the place and if I find myself diving on Koh Tao again, I will be sure to book myself in for another stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great hostel whichever way you look at it, great base to do diving or other activities from too! Everyone from the hostel and island travel are amazing and so helpful. Cool location with a lot of nice places to eat close by and only few minutes walk down to saire beach. This place has got it right and I'd recommend anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannyhopwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Good location with no expensive taxis from the pier required and still a short walk to Sairee Beach after pre drinks. Good vibe/atmosphere. Only drawback which was noticed very quickly on arrival is the stench of the toilets, but very quickly learned this is just how it is on Ko Tao, and the smell doesn't extend beyond the bathrooms at all. Staff were very helpful, with the boys in the reception providing a solid wealth of knowledge on getting around thailand and visa's - and can organise you with train and bus tickets. Scooter hire on premises is well priced too. The hostel does semi-lack a common room but the landing out the front (which is astro-turfed) certainly forces people together and makes bonding quicker. Enjoyed the company of a good crowd while we were there. All in all a solid hostel which becomes homely very quickly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Really nice concept for a hostel- well designed with cute facts about the London Underground dotted around. Good air conditioning which was much appreciated ! Sheets we were given to put on the beds were nice and clean. Only issue I would say is the horrible smell in all the toilets! Showers were okay. Very good location, no need for a taxi as right by the pier. Definitely would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cimmmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.7 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,238 reviews
1.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
516 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Loft Hostel
Koh Tao Loft Hostel
#29 of 140 in Koh Tao
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Summer Guesthouse and Hostel
1.0 mi away
The Dearly Koh Tao Hostel
The Dearly Koh Tao Hostel
#3 of 140 in Koh Tao
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel '69 Koh Tao
Hostel '69 Koh Tao
#22 of 140 in Koh Tao
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Central Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Central Hostel

Property: Koh Tao Central Hostel
Address: 9/20 Moo 2 | Mae Haad, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Central Hostel is centrally located in Mae Haad just 50 meters from the beach and piers and 10 minutes’ walk from Sairee Beach. NO TAXI NEEDED FROM THE PIERS! We offer: -24 hour air-conditioning -Hot showers -Wi-Fi -Island discounts, (in bars/restaurants/shops/massage/tattoo/activities) -Western staff -Partition walls between each bed are designed for your privacy and comfort. -Each bed is equipped with a reading light and socket for charging phones/ laptops etc. -Secure lockable lockers are provided for personal belongings, with 24hour CCTV security. Note: there is no indoor common area. We have two balconies and an outside deck with cushions. Across the street there is the Reef bar with pool table, free board games, and travel library. And a 10% discount for hostel customers. 24 hour auto-switching/stabalizing power supply in the hostel is providing the most reliable power available on the island. Central Hostel reception and service inside Island Travel right next to the hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Koh Tao Central Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing