We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sairee Beach Done Right”
Review of Thalassa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thalassa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

A brand-new concrete type hotel near the main 7-eleven on Sairee Beach. We checked in at 5 am and were helped by the friendly receptionist who escorted us right to our room on the second floor. Beware people with luggage - there are no elevators (ko tao is backpacker friendly). There were security cameras, electronic keys, hot shower & AC - all the amenities of a full service hotel I'm typically comfortable with. As with most asian hotels - the room key must be in the wall to power the room so when you leave the room & come back it gets VERY hot. They have free wifi and free breakfast offered at the little cafe next door. We booked thru Agoda and paid about $30 USD a night, we ended up extending our stay - I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 310Lion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry L, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

Dear 310Lion,

Thank you very much for your very positive review.I am thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Thalassa in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

305 - 311 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

I had stayed at Sairee beach before so I was unsure what to expect from the Thalassa hotel. The beach is filled with guesthouses that are mainly frequented by backpackers on tight budgets. This hotel exceeded all of my expectations. Check-in was easy and are room was clean with a very comfortable bed, flat screen TV, and AC. I traveled to Thailand with my girlfriend who has very particular tastes in hotel accommodations. She was also very surprised and delighted by the cleanliness of the hotel and helpful staff. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Koh Tao.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry L, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Dear Jeremy N,

Thank you for sharing with us the wonderful time you had at Thalassa.We cannot wait to welcome you back soon!
Best Reagards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The hotel is very clean and a great value. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The manager Thierry helped me find a scooter and drove me to the place to pick it up... He was extremely great. Also laundry service is convenient and nice hot showers!! Overall this hotel is wonderful and is going to do great in the future... Best of luck Jodi and Oliver

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodilynn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry L, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Dear Jodi,

Thank you for taking time to write this review and awarding positive feedback.All of us at Thalassa Hotel look forward to your return in the very near future.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

We booked ourselves in here because we were in a crap hole of a hostel and we wanted a hot shower and a comfy bed. That's exactly what we got very happy with the room a 2 minute walk to the beach and bars and restaurants.
The only down side is on one morning of our 4 night stay it took an hour to get my breakfast and some other people had been waiting even longer. But once it did arrive it was very tasty :-)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandinew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry L, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Dear Sandinew,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back again soon for a more successful stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank liselotte j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sayuri705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry L, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank To N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.6 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#17 of 50 in Koh Tao
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
304 reviews
1.9 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalassa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalassa Hotel

Address: 17/100 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £31 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thalassa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2013, the Thalassa Hotel guarantees guests a pleasant stay whether in Koh Tao for business or pleasure. The excitement of the city center is only meters away. No less exceptional is the hotel's easy access to the city's myriad attractions and landmarks, such as Sairee Beach clubs and the famous Koh Nang Yuan Island .The facilities and services provided by Thalassa Hotel ensure a pleasant stay for guests. The hotel offers access to a vast array of services and facilities, including a quick laundry service, Wifi, safety deposit boxes in room, Kusto Tapas Wine and Bistro, The Roof Top, 24hr reception and smoking areas All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Thalassa Hotel is a smart choice for travelers to Koh Tao (Suratthani), offering a relaxed and hassle-free stay every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thalassa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing