We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Thalassa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thalassa Hotel
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

+: Rooms! Great design, clean, comfortable bed, tv.
Breakfast - good quality and great service by the lady (do not remember her name)
-: when making up the room no soap or shampoo was added; no glass in the room (even plastic would do)
The Thai guy at reception could have smiled at least sometimes and say hello when he sees his guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuchmach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry L, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Kuchmach,

Thank you for your feedback.We really sorry for inconvenience.
We hope to welcome you back again soon for a more successful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    200
    47
    21
    3
See reviews for
38
271
48
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Great staff, great location and best of all the rooms were western standards. Cleanest hotel ive seen on this side of the island. I would suggest communicating with the manager prior to coming and reserve a spot because this place fills up fast.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vishalmohan0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry L, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Dear Vishalmohan0,

Thank you for rating us so highly! We cannot wait to delight you with another great experience on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

hotel was bit difficult to find because it is relatively new, and the telephone number of the reception could not be found. The hotel is tastefully decorated, with spacious and modern rooms. Service is basic; no one to carry bags, no telephone lines. Can get a bit noisy at night because of the restaurants and bars in nearby street. All in all, good value for money as a base to explore the island and its nightlife.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duren, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at thalassa for 10 nights. It is clean and calm- although they will open the roof top bar at some point, which might cause some noise. We stayed to the bk of the building which i recommend. The breakfast was good, but after 7 days the lack of choice - between english or french breakfast - made us go somewhere else for food. Also the fan in the bathroom is on 24/7 and you cannot switch off - we have asked. Shower is great but there is no shower curtain- hence the whole bath is wet. Also be aware that this hotel is situated in the main going out area. If you wanna be in a less busy spot go up further south. The French guy who runs the hotel is super friendly and helpful. He also gave us one night for free because we have stayed for so long.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank m b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry L, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear m b,

We're very thankful for your words and that you took the time to share your feedback.all of us look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This hotel is amazing we only stayed 1 night but we will be returning. The rooms are large, clean and have everything you need. Staff were very helpful and someone is on reception 24/7.
When we stayed they had not started doing breakfast yet but I'm sure its great.
This is the best hotel in Sairee for the price. We stayed in the seashells in a bungalow the night before which was dirty and more expensive than this place.

Room Tip: Ask to view a room first you wont be disapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry L, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Dear Lucinda B,

Thank you for your lovely review!. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.We love having you as our guest and look forward to be of service again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagnes-sur-Mer, France
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This Hotel is amazing, clean rooms, no mosquitoes inside rooms and quiet place. Air conditioned and wide rooms + confortable beds. The Guy at the reception is helpful. Nice decoration inside and outside. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christophe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry L, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Dear christophe G,

Thank you for rating us so highly!Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay at Thalassa Hotel with us all.
All of us at Thalassa Hotel look forward to your return in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

A brand-new concrete type hotel near the main 7-eleven on Sairee Beach. We checked in at 5 am and were helped by the friendly receptionist who escorted us right to our room on the second floor. Beware people with luggage - there are no elevators (ko tao is backpacker friendly). There were security cameras, electronic keys, hot shower & AC - all the amenities of a full service hotel I'm typically comfortable with. As with most asian hotels - the room key must be in the wall to power the room so when you leave the room & come back it gets VERY hot. They have free wifi and free breakfast offered at the little cafe next door. We booked thru Agoda and paid about $30 USD a night, we ended up extending our stay - I would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 310Lion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry L, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Dear 310Lion,

Thank you very much for your very positive review.I am thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Thalassa in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.6 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,233 reviews
2.4 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalassa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalassa Hotel

Property: Thalassa Hotel
Address: 17/100 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thalassa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2013, the Thalassa Hotel guarantees guests a pleasant stay whether in Koh Tao for business or pleasure. The excitement of the city center is only meters away. No less exceptional is the hotel's easy access to the city's myriad attractions and landmarks, such as Sairee Beach clubs and the famous Koh Nang Yuan Island .The facilities and services provided by Thalassa Hotel ensure a pleasant stay for guests. The hotel offers access to a vast array of services and facilities, including a quick laundry service, Wifi, safety deposit boxes in room, Kusto Tapas Wine and Bistro, The Roof Top, 24hr reception and smoking areas All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Thalassa Hotel is a smart choice for travelers to Koh Tao (Suratthani), offering a relaxed and hassle-free stay every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ctrip TA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thalassa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing