We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish, Friendly Staff, Perfect Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thalassa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thalassa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stylish, Friendly Staff, Perfect Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Thalassa is a little gem on an island continually growing with popularity.

Staff:
The French manager is chill and the Thai staff are all extremely helpful and friendly.

Cleanliness/Feel:
The upside to this hotel, which others can sometimes lack on islands, is how fresh, clean and stylish it felt - almost like an urban apartment.

Breakfast:
Healthy breaky is good and the French breaky is OK. Didn't try the English.

Location:
The location was absolutely perfect for us - 45 seconds from the beach and a 5 min walk from Island Muay Thai, where we were doing a little post Europe fitness and training. Located pretty much as central as you could get, in terms of Sairee Beach.

Value:
Excellent value for money.

Downside:
Wifi was slow while we were there.

Recommend:
Yes

Return:
Yes

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran_Oby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry L, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Kieran,

Thank you for your excellent review and for choosing to spend part of your holiday at Thalassa Hotel.Delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and appreciated some of our usual selling point like service, location,value and breakfast.Thank you so much for a wonderful feedback and recommendation here on...
We hope you will find more vacation time to visit us again!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    179
    43
    18
    3
See reviews for
30
253
42
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Travelling with two friends, we've stayed in a number of hotels around Southern Thailand. Only stayed one night, but room was clean, had good air con, and overall great value for money. Only gripe was they wanted us to pay cash on check out but had no change, what's that all about? Would highly recommend to anyone looking for somewhere chill to stay on Koh Tao

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry L, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Kat,

Thank you very much indeed for your stay at our hotel and your precious comments on "Great Location".Than you for recommend for our hotel also.
We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I have a house in Koh Tao (currently rented) so we were looking for a place to say. Well.... Look no further. THIS IS IT.
Guaranteed you will not be disappointed. Room about 4x4sq m ,small but well finished off. Has modern /private bathroom. Our small children shared the bed with us and we liked it so much that we already re booked again (it' was so popular we only could stay for one day).
Thierry the Manager is excellent and could not do enough to help us.
ADVICE IS BOOK EARLY.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elmopablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry L, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Elmopablo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.We really appreciate your comments which is very useful for us.We are very delighted that you felt happy and enjoy your stay at Thalassa Hotel.
Hope to see you again

Best Regards,
Thierry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasteras, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to stay! In the middle of everything. No pool, but who cares when the beach is just minutes away. I went to Shambala yoga and that's a really good place too, easy to walk to from the hotel. The breakfast is perfect and the bathroom is so fresh! The only thing you might would like is a shower curtain. But again, simple things like that doesen't matter when everything else is perfect.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Therese Å
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry L, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Therese Å,

We love the title of your review! ''Search no more! This is IT' .Many thanks for taking the time to review Thalassa Hotel. So pleased to read that you had a great stay with us A very pleasant review. Thank you very much. Hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Brilliant hotel with really nice modern rooms. Comfortable bed and excellent shower. Great value for money and good location. Would definitely recommend to others and would easily stay again. No pool however beach is on your doorstep and the water is as warm as a bath!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jstizzle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry L, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Jstizzle82,

Thank you for recommending Thalassa Hotel. I am glad we met your expectations and that you appreciate the value of the service we provide.

We hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Not the kind of place I am used to visit when going to the beach - this hotel has an "urban" touch and is quite sophisticated for koh Tao. BUT on the other side - everything about this place is fresh, dynamic, and amazingly clean. The staff - including the French manager - is great and very helpful. The street is busy at night but we had great, quiet nights in our three rooms overlooking the back of the hotel. Delicious breakfast. Recommended at 2 min walk from the beach.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Oeilaiguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry L, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Oeilaiguise,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience in this review and for the well wishes.All of us look forward to your return when you visit KOH TAO again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

This is a really clean and smart boutique hotel centrally located on Koh Tao. A minutes walk from the beach and in amongst restaurants and shops! Great wifi, modern bathroom, comfy bedroom and full satellite tv. Staff are lovely too. Can't recommend this place enough!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_Lydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry L, Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Mike_Lydia,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience in this review. We are all very delighted to read your feedback and appreciate your many compliments on the team’s service and property facilities.
Thank you again for recommending Thalassa Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.3 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.9 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalassa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalassa Hotel

Property: Thalassa Hotel
Address: 17/100 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thalassa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2013, the Thalassa Hotel guarantees guests a pleasant stay whether in Koh Tao for business or pleasure. The excitement of the city center is only meters away. No less exceptional is the hotel's easy access to the city's myriad attractions and landmarks, such as Sairee Beach clubs and the famous Koh Nang Yuan Island .The facilities and services provided by Thalassa Hotel ensure a pleasant stay for guests. The hotel offers access to a vast array of services and facilities, including a quick laundry service, Wifi, safety deposit boxes in room, Kusto Tapas Wine and Bistro, The Roof Top, 24hr reception and smoking areas All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Thalassa Hotel is a smart choice for travelers to Koh Tao (Suratthani), offering a relaxed and hassle-free stay every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thalassa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing