We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Faye0302
Boroughbridge, United Kingdom

Great Location on Sairee Beach

Review of Thalassa Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Aug 2022
Thalassa Hotel is brilliantly situated on Sairee Beach. Very short walk to the beach. Near the bars and nightlife. Very comfy beds and spotless room. Would highly recommend. The cost for one night was £27 Sterling, absolute bargain. Will definitely be returning. We arrived early for our room and the staff rearranged their workload so we could check-in earlier.
Date of stay: July 2022
Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the hotel as you may be disturbed by the local nightlife
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Araya Visunee, Owner at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 24 Dec 2022
Dear Faye,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are so happy to know that you had a wonderful time with us and enjoyed everything about our hotel. Thank you for staying at Thalassa Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards.
Hotel Management
Thalassa Hotel Koh Tao
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£104
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £104
2.4 miles from Thalassa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View
Tripadvisor
£93
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
2.4 miles from Thalassa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£114
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.4 miles from Thalassa Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Pool & beach
Tripadvisor
£39
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
1.6 miles from Thalassa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cape Shark
Tripadvisor
£161
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel Site
2.5 miles from Thalassa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £52
  • Algotels
0.4 miles from Thalassa Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £64
  • Expedia.com
    £88
0.6 miles from Thalassa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £90
  • eDreams
0.4 miles from Thalassa Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
    £62
  • Trip.com
1.6 miles from Thalassa Hotel
Beachfront
Restaurant
The Pool at the Koh Tao Beach Club
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £63
  • eDreams
0.8 miles from Thalassa Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Koh Tao
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveller rating
283
222
59
23
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
283
222
59
23
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location sairee beach comfortable bed short walk to the beach hot shower noise island pier cleaners nightlife
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 595 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2022

Stayed here for two months and it was wonderful.
Fantastic location 3 minute walk to Sairee Beach, and multiple delicious restaurants. Multiple bars adjacent and across the street. There is some noise from music and bikes if you're sleeping facing the busier street, but if you're used to sleeping with some noise it's not bad, and the window shades hide any light.
The staff were all super friendly, happy to talk, and helpful with suggestions about things to do and general navigation around the island. Also they were very helpful with any problems with the room (which were few, but promptly dealt with).
The room was clean (and cleaned daily--which was great for someone who was tracking sand in from the beach!), had AC(which would cool quickly once the keycard was put in place), comfortable bed, and a had a wonderful pressurized hot shower.
All and all, great simple accommodation that convinced me to stay there my entire trip to the island.

Date of stay: March 2022
Thank BlametheBard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Araya Visunee, Owner at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2022

Dear BlametheBard,

Thank you for your review, we're glad to hear that you like the location of our hotel, and we will work hard to develop our product and service. Please come again.

Best Regards,
Hotel Managerment
Thalassa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2020 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights during to learn to scuba dive on the island. The location was great as it was 5 minute walk to the beach, however it could be noisy for pub crawls twice a week (not great for early morning dives) and on reflection we would have preferred more space than a bedroom. It was great for the many brilliant restaurants and bars, and a shop at the end of the street. The breakfasts (and burgers) were AMAZING, a good range and lovely staff going above and beyond working long hours. They dropped us back to the pier when we were leaving the island which was a nice touch.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank LauraC3419
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 February 2020 via mobile

Perfect location for bars, restaurants, beach access and tours!

Best hotel breakfast I’ve had in Asia. Choice of full English, healthy or continental with tea or coffee.

The room was reasonably sized with a huge comfortable bed. TV with English channels was a bonus. Hotel is modern and clean.

Date of stay: February 2020
1  Thank RJohno_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wibeke D, Guest Relations Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2020

Dear Ryan!
Thank you very much for your review and kind words. We agree about the breakfast from Baia Burgers, it's delicious!
We are glad you had a good stay with us, best regards, the Thalassa team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2020 via mobile

We stayed at Thalassa for 5 nights and it was great!

Very clean rooms, great location, friendly staff and tasty breakfast!!

Would definitely stay again if ever on Koh Tao! The free pick up from the pier was a nice gesture.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank cautiouscath
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wibeke D, Guest Relations Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2020

Dear Cath!
Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to let us and future guests know.
Best regards, the Thalassa team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

I stayed at Thalassa in January whilst travelling with a friend. We spent 7 nights there and can't complain! The rooms were a good size, modern and very clean.
The hotel is located only about a 5min walk from the beach and surrounded by bars/restaurants.
If I return to Koh tao then I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to others!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank beccit2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wibeke D, Guest Relations Manager at Thalassa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2020

Dear Becci!
Thank you for your review and feedback, it means a lot to us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hopefully see you again sometime in the future!
Best regards, the Thalassa team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews