We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here, serious changes needed”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pier 24 Boutique Guesthouse
Ranked #53 of 79 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed with 6 mates having just come down from bangkok. Now at first we thought the smallish rooms and clean bathroom would be ok untill, our first night was our hottest and most uncomfortable night stay having been travvelling for 4 months on two continents. Then the foulest smell came from the shower, it was rancid. We had also discovered the wifi was unworkable. There is also no one at the desk, because its round the corner, which consequently meant if you are unfortunate to arrive past 19:30 as one poor girl did you cant check in, and you will have to sleep on the bean bags over night. Do Not Stay Here

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bencthatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, General Manager at Pier 24 Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear bencthatcher,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your comments about Pier 24. We always appreciate honest reviews even if they are negative. This allows us to improve our service and find out what our guests really think.
Our rooms are small and it can be very warm in them during the summer.
The water supplied to us from a private supplier as there is no municipal water on KT and is sometimes a bit smelly, so we do try to keep on top of it by adding very small amounts of chlorine and using other measures to remove and odors from it. Living in Koh Tao has its problem:-)
Our advertised hours are from 9am to 6pm and we do have an emergency contact number on the window outside. The guest you mention, arrived one day early and hence we were not expecting her. I personally checked her in the next day.
I do not wish to make excuses for all of the points in your review, but do wish to point out the reasons behind them.
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

For a budget hostel, this was quite a nice place, however it was unbearably hot… probably one of the hottest places I've ever stayed! Dorm rooms were nice, however the washrooms were a bit stinky. Nice bean bag/sitting area in the common room. Good location close to the pier. With the option of AC this would have been a great guesthouse!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marm99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

The rooms are nice (everything from IKEA), the dorms are only for 6 persons and every room has its own bathroom, although the hot water did not work. There is no area in the guest house where you can hang out and meet people.
Also it is more far away from sairee beach where all the clubs and bars are than they say on their website, you would rather walk 20 min than 10!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank kkaattii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, General Manager at Pier 24 Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear kkaattii,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Since you stayed with us, we have added a chill out area upstairs with bean bags, lockers for keeping your valuables safe and have fixed the hot water system so that it works. Sorry that you didnt enjoy your stay with us, but hope that you will give us another chance if you come back again. We can offer you special rates for returning guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lauraplapla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: อย่าเลือกเตียงชั้นบน ในห้องพัดลม
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
Thank Travelbug0083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.3 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
923 reviews
1.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,560 reviews
0.5 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 50 in Koh Tao
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
352 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,284 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier 24 Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 24 Boutique Guesthouse

Address: 6/24 Moo 2 Maehaad Road, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range: £13 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pier 24 Boutique Guesthouse 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pier 24 Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing