We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing, left after one night”
Review of Anankhira Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anankhira Villas
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Maybe our expectations were to high, but it was a dissapointing experience at anankhira. First our booked pick up of the hotel after a long trip was a no show. After we called the reception and a long wait a taxi picked us up and brought us to the wrong hotel. When we finally arrived at anankhira, the road up to the hill was a mess. But that's understandable after the flood. We were brought to our room, which actually had potential, but was a bit messy and unfortunately not very clean. Instead of the planned four nights, we left the next day. And we were happy to go. At the reception they wanted to charge us the taxi. After we complained, they were so friendly to take the costs.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eeveline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2011

I am sorry that you were disappointed by Anankhira. We have around 2,000 visitors each year and we so seldom have anything less than ecstatic guests. I have talked with the staff and tried to get to the bottom of the problem. Firstly I should make it clear that the day you arrived was Thia New Year - Songkran - this is a day when the traffic virtually comes to a halt as people throw and spray water over anyone and everyone.It's total chaos!! You would not have been able to miss these festivities and these were the reason why the first taxi was so late. It did finally arrive but by that time our staff had organised another taxi for you.

I feel it is a little unfair to mention the state of the road as you are well aware that recently there have been severe floods on Koh Tao and we were highly praised by our guests at that time for our fantastic service and for looking after them so well in very very difficult conditions. We wait in line, along with many others, for repairs to our road.

I see that you say you were unhappy with the room a simple conversation with our Manger at time could easily have resolved this. It is difficult to do this after the event.

Finally you mention about being charged for the taxi. The transfer from the pier to Anankhira is 300THB. . It is common practice to charge a transfer fee and indeed to even add a little extra to it. We do not add anything to this cost that is the actual price. All out guests are made aware of this charge at the time of booking and they can either pay the driver direct or have it added to their bill. You chose to do neither putting our staff in a very awkward position as effectively it was a debt that you refused to pay. In the event out Manger decided it was better just to let this go and I agree with her.

We are not a large hotel with a 24/7 reception. As we say on our website we are a boutique villa resort and I hope that the site gives people a flavour of how we operate. I am sorry if you were disappointed but I think it is a question of having realistic expectations based on the information on our site. I trust you enjoyed the rest of your stay on Koh Tao.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Anankhira Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights and they were the BEST 3 nights of our holiday!
Unfortunately the accommodation was so beautiful we didnt venture out into Koh Tao.
The accommodation is Stunning, beautifully decorated with every detail well thought out.
Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendly helpful and all round beauty, Kit. She had arranged a taxi to pic us up at the port and bring us straight there (id recommend this as its tucked away and up a bit of a dirt track)
Kit then showed us to our little villa, Lellia and instantly we knew this would be an amazing 3 nights. The living area is open with amazing views of the hills and sea. There is a mini bar, flat screen t.v, dvd player, tea and coffee facilities and comfy furniture including a hammock. Just next to the living area is your gorgeous cool very own private plunge pool and sunbeds. After the living area its up a few steps to your STUNNING bedroom with canopy over the bed. The bedroom is very spacious with walk in wardrobe and dressing table. As we walked into our room we were greeted with a beautiful aroma from the oil burner the staff had lit to fill the room. The room also has huge folding doors that open out so you can really take in the view (altho you need to keep them closed to keep the insects out and cool air in) The bathroom is off the bedroom and again spacious with a wetroom like shower.
The service in Anankhira it as stunning as the views, the staff are polite friendly and are thereto please you. They will prepare food form the delicious menu including burmese dishes, fill your mini bar or any other whim that may take your fancy (even the handy man downed his tools to take away our trays)
Kit who over sees your stay speaks fluent English and is the most helpfull person i met on the entire holiday! she arranged our ferry and transport for our journey back to Samui, I really can not speak highly enough of the good service here!!!!!!
Slightly cut off from the bars and resturants but you wont care! the food is delicious and very reasonably priced 100bts for beer and breezers and 200bt for meals that are delicious!
Anankhira was the most expensive accommodation of our holiday but by far worth it! I would recommend this place to any and everyone! already friends are booking their stay!
The only down points would be the aircon in the room is a bit pathetic but if you kept it on all day on 16 it was fine and also you are provided with a fan that works fine. The insects are the worst, but hey thats nature, you dont like em....... go butlins! Anankhira provides you with natrual citronella oil and mosquito coils to help the issue but a few bites are worth the stay.
STAY HERE FOR AN AMAZING STAY !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank drewvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2011

Thank you for your fantastic review. It is always lovely to get such feedback. We are very proud of our staff and our service. I am so pleased that you had such a wonderful time. Please do come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Koh Tao is a simple island. Was my favourite place we visited in Thailand for its unassuming character and lack of people pushing crap on to you. This is reflected in this accommodation.

It is a simple place. The rooms are very open (the bathroom and lounge room are missing at least one wall each and the bedroom has glass all down one wall). It has been built using very basic techniques. All of the places are of the way, however not entirely separate and people can get glimpses into your place, there is still enough privacy.

All three suites have their own secluded plunge pools. This is great for cooling down when you get home or are relaxing throughout the day.

Issues:
- The place is not the most accessible, with a very steep, muddy driveway. However, we got an ATV instead of a scooter and it was no issue.
- Our hot water didn't work. However, when it is 30 degrees (pretty much year round), that didn't really bother us. We wold have liked to complain, however the only English speaking people at the place had left to go to Koh Samui for a few days. Not the end of the world, though a warm shower would have been tops.
- It is not the cheapest place going around. Not expensive by Western standards, however not Thai cheap. Worth it though if this is what you are after.
- The air con really needed to be on 16 degrees, otherwise it barely worked. Worked great on 16 though.
- The TV reception was horrible, however this didn't bother us as we didn't have the time, nor inclination to watch TV when in such a great place.

Other people have mentioned in their reviews here that it is hard to get service, hard to get internet access, the place is dirty, etc. We didn't experience any of these issues.

We would go back again if we wanted to spend this much on a place here again. Though I think next time I will be there for a lot longer, so cheaper accommodation would probably be on the cards.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gawn_walkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2011

Thanks we are always very pleased when people enjoy our beautiful resort. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Anankhira has been undergoing extensive renovation as well as the construction of a 2 bedroom mini villa with pool. Unfortunately in Thailand sometimes things are not done as quickly nor the 'right' way first time out.
I love Anankhira. Stunning beauty, Views to die for. Gorgeous lodgings, and very helpful staff.
I'd say just give them a bit of time to get minor things sorted. As I live in Thailand perhaps it's easier for me to understand some of the "This is Thailand" concept and be a bit forgiving when I know the owners are on the right track and working with diligence to make Anankhira all that it can be.
Janet Madison
Koh Samui
Thailand

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samuijan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2010

Thanks for your review just to let everyone know that the renovations are now complete hurrah!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

This is a great place to stay. It's very clean and the staff are very friendly. On the first night my friend and I decided not eat at the villa because we thought it would be expensive so we went to a place on the beach which was nice but not cheap! The second night we were so tired that we decided to order from the villa kitchen. The food was absolutely great and fresh and very good value for money. Basically they'll cook anything you want, even fresh fish if you let them know in the morning. The villa was spacious and well equipped.I would definitely go back here.

I had read some reviews on Trip Advisor before I booked and was a bit confused that some people seem to be renting a not very nice house!! I don't knoe if there are two Anankira's but my advice would be to make sure when you book that you are booking a villa near sairree beach in a small complex.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HarryMouton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2011

HI Harry,
Thanks very much for your lovely comments. Please come back again soon.
Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

It is my pleasure to say that the other reviews on tripadvisor are completely correct (well most). Anankhira is a truly special place - a mix of modern comforts and eco nature charm. My partner and I just loved being close to nature while enjoying the private pool and the other mod cons. The small restaurant was just what was needed so we didn't need to leave the villa much during our stay. Staff was invincible but things got done.

Truly a fantastic retreat!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanTheMan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Thanks for your review. We have lots of Honeymoon couples who stay with us and they all comment on what a special and romantic place it is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

We travel a lot and have been at Koh Tao Anankhira. We liked it a lot. We can only recommend this special place to other people. You have to stay there to sense it.
Marianne, Denmark

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mariDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Thanks for your review which was two years ago and Anankhira is now even better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.5 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,250 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
235 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anankhira Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anankhira Villas

Address: 15/104 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand (Formerly Anankhira Boutique Resort)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £63 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in Balinese-inspired architecture, Anankhira Villa Resort is a short stroll from Sairee Beach. We are an intimate resort with four villas – one two bed and three one bed. Each villa has its own private plunge pool and a stunning sea view. All our bedrooms are ensuite and air-conditioned and also have a fan and a fridge. Every villa also has an outdoor sitting area with TV and lots of DVD’s. We have free Wi-FiThe resort is an 8-minute drive from Mae Haad Pier. We provide a free shuttle service to and from the pier. Free private parking is available on-site.We can provide Thai cuisine and Burmese specialties in your villa or in our bijou dining area. Our price includes all taxes and breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Anankhira Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Anankhira Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing