We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night stay”
Review of Anankhira Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anankhira Villas
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“3 night stay”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

The villas are in a really beautiful location on Koh Toa and are sensitively built into the hillside incorporating the natural surroundings.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, Kit was especially helpful to us.

We hired a moped for two days which was needed as it was too far to walk anywhere and saved taking taxis all the time.

We ate in our room the first night and the food was very nice. The next day we went out for a full day and took the option of a packed lunch. Honestly, it wasn't really up to much and we didn't bother the next day as the are no shortage of food options at very cheap prices all over the island.

Our only complaint was not really anything the hotel could do anything about, which was being bitten to pieces by mosquitos! The bed did have a mossie net, which was needed!

Overall we enjoyed our stay and loved the island.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Neilroberts01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Your opinion is very important to us so thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very proud of the service we offer and glad that you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    51
    14
    9
    2
See reviews for
22
136
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Francestown, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

one of the best place of Ko Tao 6 WE HAVE STAYED 4 NIGHTS in family ... very very nice memories ... animation and beaches not far away .... good situation in the island good welcome good attention from the people there .... everything perfect exept some mosquitos in aug we will recommend and would like to go back

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aparna1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
I am so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff work very hard to ensure that all our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable holiday. Please do visit us again we would love to see you all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My boyfriend and I tried to book a 1 bed villa but were a little late. I was delighted to receive an offer of the 2 bed villa with bigger pool for the same price! Of course we snapped that up!
Excellent comms from Michelle before arrival and no probs with the pick up from the pier.
The lovely Kit met us with welcome drinks and showed us Mokara villa. It really is just like all the photo's. Fabulous outside livingroom, small infinity pool but big enough for a decent swim and the most lovely views of the sea. Our bedroom was simple but beautiful and spotless. Comfy bed and lots of windows to allow for the views to continue and a large bathroom with hot shower. We enjoying jumping in our pool every morning before breakfast and im missing that very much now!
The living room had 2 sofas and a table to lounge around. A mini bar, large LCD TV and DVD player and a fan if it got a bit sticky.
Kit speaks perfect English and we felt confident that if we had needed her at any time she would have helped us. The staff working there who i believe are mostly Kits family, were just so friendly and genuinely smiling. Everyone seemed so laid back but yet efficient at the same time. We totally overslept for breakfast once and they were happy to still provide us with whatever we wanted. Other resorts would have turned us away.
We felt looked after when we needed anything but aside from that we hardly saw anybody. You are just left to do your own thing and chill out in your tranquill villa.
There are many mosquitos as with any island, we just lit the coils provided and doused ourselves in repellent in the morning and evening and we emerged with only the odd bite.
To get in and out of the villa there are a set of steps. Think about 110 of them. We counted a few times but kept getting different answers.(our villa was the highest i think) We just took it easy and didnt find it too difficult even when a little drunk! There is a rocky and uneven road which only takes a few minutes to walk down and then we cut through the opposite resorts grounds to get to the beach. It really doesnt take longer than 10 minutes from villa to beach. Saying that, we are in our twenties and early thirties and quite fit. I imagine it may be more difficult for those who are not fit.
We had dinner and drinks from the villa restuarant a few times and from the mini bar and it was very reasonably priced for the kind of resort it is. The food was very tasty and there was lots of it.
There were only a few things to mention which were not perfect such as no replacement flannels after housekeeping had been and no shampoo or conditioner provided. But if thats all there is to moan about (which we were not really bothered about) then i think you are on to a winner! If re visiting Tao we will definitely want to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bebbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Thanks so much for your lovely review. All out staff work very hard at trying to make your stay one to remember. I'm glad your mentioned Michelle she's a little gem!

Please come back an visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I would recommend a stay here to anyone who wants to relax and have an upmarket experience at a pretty good price- The villa we had was fantastic , great views of Sairee Bay, the staff were great, in fact you didn't even know they were around, and the plunge pool made you not want to leave the villa.

We're definitely coming back because 4 nights is just not enough!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Thank you Julia for your review. We get a real buzz our from our guests having a great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

A great place to stay, if you want to be near amenities, yet in the peace of quiet of a tropical island.
Individual villas with their own pools, with fantastic sea and sunset views.
Villas have en-suite bedrooms and unique open air lounges with DVD player and LCD TVs. Staff were really helpful and also arranged a taxi pickup for us directly from our boat arrival, which made our transfer swift and easy.
A great place to stay, if you like to get away from it all, yet be only a 5 minute walk to the beach or 7 minutes to the town of Sairee.

Room Tip: Higher villas benefit from better sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SAMUIPEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Thank you very much for your lovely review of Anankhira.

Just to add that all our villas have sea views as they are all set into the mountain so enjoy a high aspect.

Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed at Anankhira Villas for 6 nights and would have no hesitation in staying there again, in fact we are next year... The staff are EXCELLENT and would go out of there way to help with anything at all. The rooms were spotless and what an amazing view, Kit you are the best!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kwamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Thanks for your review. We are very proud of our staff who offer an excellent service. Please come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We arrived at the pier to find our taxi "truck" waiting for us and we were taken straight to Anankhira. We were informed that the road had been very bad after the rains, but they had just had it flattened/repaired and it was fine. You go about 200m down a dirt track and then there is a short steep incline to the top of the villas, but the truck had no problem dealing with it.

We were then taken to our Villa, which was Villa Cattleya, open plan living space, indoor bedroom/bathroom and our own small plunge pool with amazing views over the Gulf of Thailand. This is not a resort with staff everywhere, there are staff there to clean the villas, provide you with your breakfast and any other meals you ask for - at a very reasonable price - offer help on booking trips, bikes etc.. but you are very much left to your own devices, given privacy and which is great if you want peach and quiet or are on a romantic break, it is a very peaceful place.

If you don't like bugs, then you should probably not visit Koh Tao or Thailand. Do make use of the mosquito repellent provided, as at sunset they do come out in the living area but after dark they seem to go.

We were only a short walk to Sairee beach - about 5/10 minutes walk from the restaurant and bars there for some nightlife. We were provided with both a torch - it is very dark on the short road back, but you can get a taxi back, we were happy to walk. The staff also kindly gave us our own mobile, that comes with the Villa, so we could contact them if we had any problems either off or on site. We were also able to give our family back home the number for any emergencies which was great.

Very much home from home, but in a beautiful tropical location, would definately go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank debraz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, 13 May 2011
So glad you enjoyed Anankhira. Thank you for all your positive comments. Glad you like the mobile phone. That's a new idea we just brought in! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.5 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,214 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,436 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
328 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,231 reviews
2.8 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 49 in Koh Tao
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anankhira Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anankhira Villas

Property: Anankhira Villas
Address: 15/104 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand (Formerly Anankhira Boutique Resort)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in Balinese-inspired architecture, Anankhira Villa Resort is a short stroll from Sairee Beach. We are an intimate resort with four villas – one two bed and three one bed. Each villa has its own private plunge pool and a stunning sea view. All our bedrooms are ensuite and air-conditioned and also have a fan and a fridge. Every villa also has an outdoor sitting area with TV and lots of DVD’s. We have free Wi-FiThe resort is an 8-minute drive from Mae Haad Pier. We provide a free shuttle service to and from the pier. Free private parking is available on-site.We can provide Thai cuisine and Burmese specialties in your villa or in our bijou dining area. Our price includes all taxes and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Anankhira Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Anankhira Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Anankhira Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing