We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly”
Review of Anankhira Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anankhira Villas
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Wow! What a place... Our own little slice of paradise and boy, were we sad to leave!

We were picked up from the pier (after a slightly tumultuous ferry over) by the wonderful Kit and driven up to the fabulous hillside setting- our little bit of heaven for the next 6 nights. They offered us a sumptuous breakfast and got us checked-in to the villa straight away, which we really appreciated.

Our jaws dropped when we beheld the magnificent views overlooking Sairee ( many a sunset and massage were enjoyed with this delightful backdrop, I assure you! ). The private pool was my personal highlight, but everything else was pretty great too- tv, aircon, beautiful bathrooms, DVDs, a mobile phone should you need anything, massages in your room, brilliant food- need I go on?!

Overall, we were so impressed with our experience at Anankhira- you're very close to nature, it's beautiful, it's luxurious and it's tastefully done at that! Thanks to the whole team and we look forward to coming back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Laelia
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elfin_flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We have recently purchased a lovely new truck which we use to transport guests to and from the pier and also to take guests to destinations around the island. This is a great addition to our service and we have had some lovely comments about this. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    51
    14
    9
    2
See reviews for
22
136
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Well i went there with a very open mind as i heard very opposite stories about Thailand and even less about Koh Tao, but i have to tell you it was teh best week i had in a very long time. The villa was perfect; clean, spacious and with the most comfortable bed i ever slept in.
The pool was fantastic and teh view was stunning. all of this could be enough for going back there time and time again but what made it an unforgettable week was Kit and her staff. From the welcome at the pier to the goodbye a week later, we were treated like superstar. The service was impeccable, from front of desk to the room service. and don't get me started on the food, i have to send my compliments once again to Kit's mum for her wonderful food. Please do try the fried red snapper, AMAZING; but actually every dish on the menu is superb. They really made us feel incredibly lucky to be there and as we have said to Kit when we left we will definitely be back. This resort is a pure gem. do yourself a favour, please go.

Once again Kit, please extend my best wishes to your mum and your staff. thank you so much for your outstanding hospitality and an amazing holiday.

Antonio, Andy and John.

Room Tip: p.s. word of advice, DO NOT RENT scooters from BANANA BIKES; they will rip you off anyway they can a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Antoniosensati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are very lucky to have such talented and attentive staff and we do really value their contribution to Anankhira so we love it when others love them to! We aim to please and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I couldn't fault it even if I wanted to! From pickup to drop off at the pier, anankhira made our stay on koh Tao SO wonderful. Stunning rooms, the most attentive service ever and wonderful food- never ate anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Auroradh4450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your glowing review. I'm so glad you like the food as this is one of our services that we have recently been concentrating on. We have a new small dining area near reception so guests can enjoy their meals there as well as in their villa if they prefer. Please do come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Undoubtedly, the best place I stayed in Thailand, if not Asia. We were got from the pier on time, greeted by the lovely Kit, and taken to this dreamy place... Entering our villas, we were just overwhelmed by the gorgeous views, made only better by the superb rooms and the private pool (oh that private pool!). We were given phones to call Kit if we needed anything at all, which we felt was a really nice touch and we made ample use thereof, that's for sure. The real highlight was the privacy- you felt you had everything you need at the tip of your fingers, but were totally secluded in tropical paradise. I was so sad to leave on the final day and I can't wait to go back- if anyone's thinking of booking, JUST DO IT! Gorgeous.... Oh! And the food's delicious!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and what a fantastic compliment to be the best place you stayed in Thailand. We do strive to maintain the highest standards at the resort and are continually monitoring our performance by our customer surveys which we ask each guest to complete. I do hope we will be able to offer you a warm welcome again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Anankhira was THE highlight of our holiday- after months traveling around SE Asia, the luxury was ever so welcome! We were promptly picked up from the pier, taken to the beautiful hill-top setting (the views- oh my!), warmly welcomed in by the lovely Kit and it was plane sailing from then on. Everything we wanted, we got it! Delicious home-cooked food, cable TV, loads of DVDs, friendly staff, every activity booked for you- not to mention the fantastic villas themselves, which were clean (not always the case in Thailand) and charming. The private pool made all the difference really and it's worth staying just for that. Basically- loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlotteL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
So glad you loved place, we love it too! Sounds like you had a fab time which is of course our main objective. Please do come back and says again seen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had 4 nights here in early September 2013 and would have been happy to stay longer (actually we tried to though it was fully booked).

Location is great, you can walk to Sariee down some stairs and down hill (either beach or road) in about 10mins (walk is of course uphill on the way back). Everything you could want is in Sairee, food, shopping (Koh Tao style), bars, dive shops and supermarket.

Though when you are at Anankhira you are away from it all, it's very quiet and peaceful.

Our room had an excellent set up. Living area, couch, TV, DVD undercover though open air. I watched a movie one night with the geeckos! Some people have mentioned in reviews that they didn't like this though we thought it was excellent, it was a place other than your room to relax and get out of the sun. We had friends in the two bedroom villa (Mokara) and as stated the pool is much bigger and deeper, kind of lke a backyard pool.

This leads to a plunge pool ,at it's deepest I could kneel and the water covered my shoulders, which was great to cool down. The pool was cleaned daily. There were a couple of very comfy deck chairs to rest up and enjoy the view.

The barfridge was COLD, the coldest I have experienced on the islands, it was well stocked and also plenty of room to also put supplies.

The bedroom was roomy with a large ensuite, a wardrobe with robes and slippers and excellent airconditioning and a net over the bed if you want open air. The mattress was firm as is the Thai style though very comfortable.

Kit and the team were always helpful though discreet. You are provided with a phone to call Kit when you need, I used it twice and always reached her. This is a small resort and you won't always get what you are after in 5 minutes though we never had any delays. Breakfast was simply though fresh with great plunger coffee :)

Would not hesitate to recomend and would be lucky to stay here again. We have stayed in other places in Koh Tao and Anankhira is very good value for what it is.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cattelya Villa, highly recomended. We had friends in the Mokara Villa which is higher t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and I'm sorry we couldn't extend your stay as we were fully booked! We strive to create a relaxed ambience with in obtrusive yet dedicated service and thank you for fully appreciating that. I hope you come back and see it again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Words cannot describe.... How I already miss it.... Everything about this place was just SO PERFECT. From the villas, to the service, to the wonderful private pools, through to the staff (thank you so much Kit and Jordan!), the excellent food, how close you are to nature, the beach, the nightlife, those magnificent views... I could go on- but I could not recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: We stayed in Cattelya, which was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayneChard, Owner at Anankhira Villas, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. We do make every effort to try and ensure that our guests have a great time and obviously we're doing something right! We are very proud of our staff and they work extremely hard so thank you for giving them a mention. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.5 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,215 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,437 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
328 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anankhira Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anankhira Villas

Property: Anankhira Villas
Address: 15/104 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand (Formerly Anankhira Boutique Resort)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in Balinese-inspired architecture, Anankhira Villa Resort is a short stroll from Sairee Beach. We are an intimate resort with four villas – one two bed and three one bed. Each villa has its own private plunge pool and a stunning sea view. All our bedrooms are ensuite and air-conditioned and also have a fan and a fridge. Every villa also has an outdoor sitting area with TV and lots of DVD’s. We have free Wi-FiThe resort is an 8-minute drive from Mae Haad Pier. We provide a free shuttle service to and from the pier. Free private parking is available on-site.We can provide Thai cuisine and Burmese specialties in your villa or in our bijou dining area. Our price includes all taxes and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Anankhira Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Anankhira Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Anankhira Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing