We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst experience ever!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Dive Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crystal Dive Resort
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I heard a lot good things about this place, so I decided to do my Padi open water course here.
I had the worst of accommodation, old, stinky, the bathroom overflown with dirty water...

The worst though was the diver instructor Shannon, he kept yelling and being extremely impatient. We where only 4 people (other courses all where 8). First of all this guy could not explain anything twice without getting annoyed. Second he kept screaming at me in the swimming pool, "do it again!", "kick your feet!!!" Not taking in to consideration that I was exhausted, shivering cold, and screaming at me doesn't help at all! And in the end I just heard him saying "Jesus Christ" and being really annoyed. I got so fed up with this guy that I left the course! How am I supposed to trust a guy out in the open ocean with your head under water if doesn't take you serous in the first place... ? After al I am the paying customer, a human being not a machine. This guy should stop teaching at least teaching the beginners, since he is so fed up if they cant follow his military pace and need to ask a question or two.
Also I was extremely cold in the swimming pool which he didn't care about at all. Didn't we just learn you have to get out of the water when you are shivering....
I really don't know what all the fuss is about Crystal Diving being this good.... All the instructor Shannon cared about, was when he was off so he could go and see his friends and it seemed he was really feed up with teaching.
Also the equipment is so old! Even the instructors are swearing, it doesn't make you fell more secure, after all diving is not a walk in the park, things can go seriously wrong, and most important, if you have a traumatic experience under water your dream of learning to dive might be ruined forever...
I was extremely disappointed with this place, and I am very happy I left, even though I lost the money. I went to an other small diving school, where they took all my concerns extremely serious, there was time to learn, to ask questions, to take your time, they gave me 2 wetsuits and all in all I got my Padi Open Water certificate and kept on diving. I wished I had never gone to Ko Tao, (or at least gone to a small place in the north/sout east, there are some small schools there that are really good)
There are also great diving schools on Ko Phangan, Ko Lipe and so on. Don't know what all the fuss in Ko Tao is about except it is cheap, but who wants to gamble with there life over money, its not that much you save.
So if you are a beginner, never been diving before, maybe need to learn new stuff at your own pace and not in a military camp, go to a small diving school, forget Crystal, its not worth it!
Also the classes are really big, you watch the videos for hours and hours and you don't get the Padi book! How are you supposed to learn when you don't even get the book. I really seems like a big diving factory, crystal cares about giving as many certifications as possible, and they have long lost the personal aspect in their approach. I hope no one has to go through what I went through this instructor ruined a lot of my holiday, and speaking with others, I know I am not the only one, just a lot of people cant be bothered to write about it on tripadvisor.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank trisha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    102
    36
    29
    35
See reviews for
23
150
132
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
170 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We did not stay at the hotel we were only at the dive centre.
A nice dive centre, right at the beach. The staff was entertaining and very helpfull and friendly.
2 boat trips per day (7.00 and 12.00) for a 2 tank dive trip.
As most tourists come here to get there certification, there were a lot of students around. We are fun divers and were always serviced in small groups (max 5 persons per Dive Master) which was very nice.
It is often crowded at the dive sites, which was less pleasant.
The equipment was not in good shape: as a divers you are always responsible for your own safety, so make sure you test your equipment properly.
It all depends on what you are used to: for us the boats were dirty and the equipment not in good conditions (compared to what you will expierence in the Carribean).
Staff is very helpfull and pleasant to be around. We had a very nice time diving with Crystal for about 10 days.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KristaTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is a dive hotel, just go for it, if you are planning to do other stuff rather than diving I wouldn't recommend you this place. I couldnt have more fun doing my course here, everybody was super cool and chill out. Instructors were great and dives were always fun. Looking forward to do my Advance next time I visit Thailand. My room was actually really good and was included in the price of my course. The bar is fun, both instructors and students meet and share a beer or two, great to meet new people and exchange experiences. Restaurant is O.K. There's heaps of other restaurants around. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Afsierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

If you want a fun and engaging certification in SCUBA I strongly suggest you go to Crystal.

I just completed my PADI open water and had a fantastic experience. My instructor was Nuno and he was brilliant.

The rooms are spartan, but all you really use them for is sleeping. Alternatively you can upgrade your room for a daily fee. Don't expect luxury!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Wrightoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I had a great experience doing my advanced open water and had a dedicated instructor, but some of the DMs I had on fun dives and the office staff during my stay in particular are clearly only there to dive conveniently and hang out with friends; they don't have much aptitude for dealing with people or teaching.

The free/discounted accommodation for divers is reasonable - I would never stay here if I wasn't diving every day, but as a place to crash and shower after diving it's fine. The wifi is horrendous, but it seems like it's that way everywhere on the island.

The restaurant has good food and decent prices for Koh Tao. The cheapest curries, etc. that I saw after browsing a lot of menus.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zobyt07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

The staff who works here is amazing, They have very friendly instructors who really know what they are doing. I felt safe all the time and the equipment they used was very good. I recommend you suggest your dive master to take you to drop you off on the way back in front of the resort. There is a dive you can do from the boat and you swim all the way to the dive shop.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Took my wreck specialty course through them, course was good, as was the instructor. However, the resort itself...not so much...were told accommodation was free during the course, later to change to a not so pleasant experience sharing a room with another couple. We didn't stay, room was dirty, etc.

I would have been happy if we were told no rooms are available, perhaps a small discount in lou of would suffice, or pay some extra to upgrade a room??

Understanding the place was extremely busy, but some honesty upfront would go a long way...

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dennis a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.6 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
1.5 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.0 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Dive Resort

Property: Crystal Dive Resort
Address: Mae Haad Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal Dive offers PADI diving courses from beginner to advanced, Koh Tao diving for fun divers and the full range of PADI Specialty courses. We also offer our unique all-inclusive Scuba Diving Internships, the modern style of dive training courses all the way up to Professional Level, both PADI Divemaster and PADI Instructor. As one of the most established dive schools & resorts in Thailand, Crystal Dive has built a reputation of professionalism, first class customer service and 5 star PADI diving education. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crystal Dive Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing