We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent diving experience - with Instructor Shannon!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crystal Dive Resort
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent diving experience - with Instructor Shannon!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Really really enjoyed my open water diving with Crystal. I had never done any diving before, and not the greatest swimmer.

Everything was very clear. Shannon was very intense to begin with (he is Ex US Military) but by the end the whole group got on very well with him. He has a certain teaching style, but it worked very well with me and the group. He wanted to ensure we were able to be safe without supervision.

The accommodation was basic, but very nice. not problem with cleanliness, and convenient for the early mornings!

A small tip, if you are in koh phangan before hand, you can pick up a discount leaflet from somewhere(somebody else in our group did this, but I did not, so cannot give much more information!)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt_doherty8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    104
    37
    31
    35
See reviews for
23
155
135
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

A friend and I completed our open water diving course last week at crystal dive resort. All I can say is we are addicted to diving. We had a brilliant instructor called Agathe, who was a great laugh, patient when needed and provided us with all the skills to be comfortable in the water and thoroughly enjoy the course. If it wasn't for ye fact we had to move on from the island we would definately of done our advanced open water qualification here. The rooms weren't great but what can you expect for the price you pay for the whole package. Overall the diving was amazing and our instructor was great.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose C. Paz, Argentina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Firstly and most importantly, I felt that the instructors for our course were impatient and rude, while Neal Sanders was better than Shannon, he was also condescending and impatient not to mention unhelpful at times, Shannon was far worse and became verbally aggressive with us even using disrespectful terms toward us, this was not acceptable.

We're paying customers not children and we don't deserve to be treated like burdens.

Secondly the bungalow was overpriced and dirty not to mention poorly lit and poorly furnished, the beds were hard and the bathroom a mess, I definitely don't recommend crystal,

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eccentric_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Im sorry but Ill have to disagree with the bad review about shannon, agreed he can be full on but his main concern was our saftey. His instuctions are clear and i believe he has a excellent teaching style; i was confident to get into open water after a couple days insruction with shannon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The other reviews on here seem to be reviewing the free accommodation over the actual classes. The accommodations are FINE, and FREE(!), and if you expect something exceptional, then upgrade to an AC room or stay somewhere else.

What's important are the classes and instruction, which are amazing! We had Dirk for our first day of instruction, and Sasha for the rest. Great individual attention - we were in a group of three people total. Excellent place to learn to dive, good for meeting people, and the sunsets from the bar are lovely. The water was clear, and we were lucky to see some great stuff on our dives.

Fantastic value, some of the cheapest we found for outstanding, individualized instruction. Thanks Sasha & Dirk! And thank you, Crystal!

I also recommend getting the professional video. Cool shots! Well done, Ash!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank American Bird z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Recently my girlfriend and I decided to get our PADI open water certification. After researching a few places, we decided on Crystal.

Some of the reviews on here made us a little leary but we went with it anyway.

As far as the complaints go, I can not understand where these people had issues, unless they expected the four seasons for free.

The instructors, Sasha and Dirk, were absolutely amazing. Very patient and fun to be around. I'm hoping to go back again some day.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmills83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I completed my padi open water and advanced courses with crystal dive and had a great time doing so. My dive insteuctor for these two corses was Jen. She was patient, attentive and also worked hard to.make sure that all within the group are comfortable and enjoying their time. The instruction I recieved from Jen I found made me a confident diver which is what got me addicted to diving... Which brings me on to my deep dive spec course. For this course I was instructed by shannon. Shannon seemed confident in our abilities in the group as advanced divers and treated.us as such this made a big difference as his confidence transferred onto us. Both Jenny and Shannon are very experienced divers and.it was an absolute pleasure to learn to dive from them. Crystal dive resort comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mankini100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.6 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
1.5 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.0 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Dive Resort

Property: Crystal Dive Resort
Address: Mae Haad Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal Dive offers PADI diving courses from beginner to advanced, Koh Tao diving for fun divers and the full range of PADI Specialty courses. We also offer our unique all-inclusive Scuba Diving Internships, the modern style of dive training courses all the way up to Professional Level, both PADI Divemaster and PADI Instructor. As one of the most established dive schools & resorts in Thailand, Crystal Dive has built a reputation of professionalism, first class customer service and 5 star PADI diving education. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crystal Dive Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing