We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family resort right on the beach”
Review of Ko Tao Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ko Tao Resort
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great family resort right on the beach”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with the resort. We had a lovely, spacious room with a large balcony right on the beach. The 2 swimming pools were never very busy and the beach was just a couple of steps away. The staff were amazing and the service was great. As with the pools, the two restaurants offered something different. The top of the resort had a welcome breeze and a superb view of the bays and was very calm and quiet and the restaurant on the beach had a bit more energy. Easy walking distance to shops and restaurants and a short taxi ride to the main town and harbour. Thoroughly recommend the resort and loved the island and if you are traveling with a family it's a great part of the island to be.

Room Tip: We had one of the "luxury rooms" on the beach. If you can choose, choose the top one as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    128
    103
    67
    48
See reviews for
84
186
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our 6 nights at this resort. I don't understand all the bad reviews its had the only thing that could do with a little improvement is the rooms but they were comfy clean but basic. The resort itself is beautiful, nice pool overlooking the sea, lots of sun beds by the beach.

Can hire a kayak around the bay. Fantastic dive school in the resort. We did our advanced open water, very chilled out course. We hired a long tail boat from the beach for 2,500 baht and he took us around the island stopping at some great snorkelling points.

We didn't eat at the resort but there's some nice places to eat along the beach I recommend big budda for its BBQ on an evening. The view up at paradise zone is worth a trip, you can ask reception for the free shuttle up as it is a trek.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellenad_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Koh Tao Resort is more than an usual resort. In fact its a combination of hotel services with the typical resort-flair.

We had a concrete garden bungalow, which was pretty big, with comfy beds and well equipped (even though we never needed the TV). The fridge worked silently, and the AC was mounted at a good spot where it didn't freeze our heads in the night.

The whole resort is very well taken care of, the personnel is very friendly. It offers a very nice pool and an even better beach (perhaps one of the best beaches on Koh Tao), with lots of possibilities: Swimming (perhaps better wear swimming shoes), snorkeling, kayaking or just taking a walk at the beach or having a drink or a snack in one of the many beach restaurants.

There's free wifi and four internet terminals, the use of the terminals costs just 20 baht.

Every day the room service is taking care for the cleaness, the laundry costs 50 baht per kilo. For trips to the pier in Mae Haed there's a free shuttle service available. The restaurant ist quite good, but there are better alternatives around.

All in all Koh Tao Resort Beach Zone is the perfect mixture of resort-flair with hotel-advantages. For us it was quite the best resort on Koh Tao, not only because of the location, but the whole package it offered us.

Room Tip: As always, concrete bungalows are better than wodden flats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jebbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We booked the Paradise zone which is located up a very steep hill. There are transfers up and down this hill all day which believe me is very welcome until this stops at 10pm when you have to walk. I am a gym goer but in the Thai heat, have to admit was dripping wet by the time I got to the top. We hired a moped the next day for the duration of our stay and even this with 2 people on struggled a little and caused a few doubts if we were going to get to the top.
The other zone is the beach zone and is self explanotory really, on the beach. The beach is very nice and in a fairly quiet bay which has some small bars along it which are cool to chill out at.
The infinity pool up at the paradise zone is great, the views over the below bay and beach area especially at sunset are not to be missed.
The room was clean and had everything that you require for a base on holiday but the water only ever seemed warm enough for one shower which can be frustrating. We had issues changing the safe code so 2 staff members came to our room to assist, both girls were giggling and talking thai and just changed the code to 0000 without explaining how to actually do it yourself. They used a managers key to reset the code, Needless to say we did not use the safe as they knew the code and still couldn't get it to reset.
We stayed in November which is monsoon season for Ko Tao, although the hotel was quiet, the staff did not seem happy to help or even say hello when you entered reception. Maybe these were skeleton staff until the busier season, I do not know.
It was a good base for exploring the island but I am glad that we were not confined to the resort for longer periods of time.

Room Tip: Paradise zone is on top of an extremely steep hill only serviced by the hotel teransfer until 10pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

For my review I'm submitting a letter that i sent to the manager over a week ago ! And i have sent it rwice without even an acknowledgement ! Just a warning for everyone !

Dear manager ,

I am very upset about our terrible treatment at your hotel by one of your staff .
Unfortunately my girlfriend had food poisining and was sick in the small bed , we were very sorry about this and told reception , i offered to pay for the laundry bill , nothing more was said by your reception about this incident till 3 days later when we checked out !

The receptionist who cant speak english very well, shouted at me that i have to pay exrtra for cleaning so i paid 120 bht ! He was horrible and very aggressive, but i paid and then we waited by the pool for 2 hours till 1pm for the taxi to the pier for our boat to ko phi phi .

When we came back to reception for Our bags the receptionist started yelling at us again, saying that we had to pay for the bed sheets ! I couldnt understand what he meant,as two hours earlier when we checked out ,he had charged us 120bht for cleaning He was very aggresive and said we now couldnt have our taxi to the pier till we paid !

This was very horribe so we got our bags and walked out of the hotel and tried to find a taxi while walking down the road. The receptionist then came up to us on his motorbike nearly knocking over my girlfriend yelling he was going to get the police ! I said that we had paidfor cleaning and i told him to go away. He went off to get the poiice i think ! Because of him we missed our ferry to ko phi phi. 2500 bht and we had to stay another night in ko tao 2000 bht !

My girlfriend was in tears and i was shaken and very angry at all the extra expenses thatthis cost me!

He should not be working at your hotel and i hope you will be able to compensate me for my out of pocket expenses , this is no way to treat your guests , and before i review your hotel on tripadvisor and agoda i will wait for reply .

This was a very horrible experience for both of us , and nothing like this has ever happened like this before , it is an appalling way to treat your guests ,

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank Boeing737man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I do not know why everybody is complaining about this resort. I find it hard to believe that it has gone so downhill in the past year. We had an amazing stay. We stayed in Bungalow 420 and we loved the walk up through the jungle and our stay in a very simple accommodations. We feel like anything fancier would not have had as much character - we loved feeling like "Hey, we're in Thailand, this is awesome"! Who cares about the TV's... you're in thailand. Our beds were made every day, and the room swept - and towels laid outside to air out and dry. Breakfast was amazing - and I loved just sitting near the beach, drinking coffee every morning. Both infinity pools are absolutely gorgeous, and relaxing.

Room Tip: Bungalow 420 was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jkdemonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Hotel has two zones. Paradaise zone and the beach zone. The paradise zone is on top of a hill (with a nice view). Across the street from beach zone. Beware of the steep hill to get to paradise zone. During the day you are most likely to get a ride in the hotel pick up truck up the hill. If you dont you better be in good shape to climb that hill. The beach zone of the hotel is right on the water, beautiful location with restaurants and markets near by (walking distance).
The condition of the hotel is just a little less than ok. I was not impress with cleaness or condition of the hotel room. I would not stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Unless you are in good physical condition on you don’t mind going up a steep hill (about 50 meters l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JM_OC_California_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone
2.0 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#33 of 49 in Koh Tao
319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#20 of 49 in Koh Tao
492 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ko Tao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ko Tao Resort

Property: Ko Tao Resort
Address: 19 / 1 Moo 3 Chalook Baan, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ko Tao Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Sawasdee, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ko Tao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ko Tao Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing