We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, but bathroom needs renovation”
Review of Ko Tao Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ko Tao Resort
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice hotel, but bathroom needs renovation”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

One of the better places to stay in koh tao, very good placement, calm but not far from some nice restaurants and shops. We had a garden room, which was correctly equipped, however the bathroom is very basic. Breakfast is not cheap and consists out of some menu's to choose from.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    128
    103
    67
    48
See reviews for
84
186
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I bought 3 nights in a Deluxe beach zone room on Agoda website. I did have a lot of early trouble with the hotel answering any enquiry I made so took a punt. They picked up from Pier at no cost.
The check in staff were fine. The room was #310 close to the beach. The room itself would not be classed as "deluxe" may have been some years ago when the place was first built. But it was OK enough. I think it was US$57 a night which didn't include breakfast. They are not that big and close together. You are close to your neighbour sitting at the front porch. Can hear conversations and "share" the cigarette smoke. So can be a bit noisy in that respect especially with kids around. The pool was nice overlooking the bay. Beaut area to sit under coconut trees looking over ocean in loungers. Nice in the evening with a cool breeze.
Did not eat there so can't comment on the food / service. There are some nice restaurants down the road / beach. The one at Paradise Zone was good but the Ying Yang down past the 711 was excellent. So the hotel suited us fine. Maybe needing a bit of renovating / maintenance but really nothing major to complain about for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Buick54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife & I stayed at Ko Tao Resort for 4 nights. We booked the seaview deluxe room on the paradise zone (up to the hill). The room is big enough, the bath room is good but the main point is the sea view. The room have the great view over the sea. The pool is another great part of the paradise zone. Ko Tao resort have two parts one on the beach side and the other is the paradise zone up to the hill. They have a shuttle service from the beach side to the paradise zone, It is quite convenience. Also, if you rent the bike, the situation of the road is good and easy for us to drive up to the paradise zone (we rented a 125cc honda bike). My wife & me walked around the resort. Honstly, if you are looking for a budget room such as mountain view room (yes, they have) don't do this because it is not a good one. You will find that the beach front suite or the paradise zone seaview room (all kind of seaview room) is your only choice. Some staff are little bit cool when the first day we arrived but they will smile and talk to you after few day later. (I don't know why but some of the people in Ko Tao are same like this). For the dive center, they are cheap (only 800b for one dive if you stay in Ko Tao Resort) but if you are experience diver, find the dive shop and ask for the dive site which you want to go. We went to the other dive center on Sairee beach and happy for the dive site we visited. Chalook Bann is a quiet part of Ko Tao, there have a lot of dive school / resort but nothng for shopping. If you want to walk around, shopping and etc... Stay at Sairee beach is better.

Room Tip: Only choice the seaview room of the paradise zone or the beach front suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jong J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

This place does not do this apparently majestic island any justice. Although we didn't stick around to find out. The rooms granted are budget style accommodation but i didn't realize that budget included:

1. Inability to lock your door securely leaving a gap large enough to invite the Ko Tao mossies in all night.

2. An air conditioner that is at best the occasional burst of air giving you a false sense of hope that it will relief you from the stifilng heat outside.

3. Beds so hard you are sure to remember for a lifetime as they are so firm you feel as though you are sleeping on the floor.

4. Rude staff that have forgotten they are in an establishment that offers accommodation to the public. It felt like we had turned up unexpectedly and put them out.

5. Inability to flush the toilet. I am travelling with my best friend but we don't need to know one another that intimately. Expected to put our waste paper into a basket in the pint sized bathroom.

This is not for the faint hearted. I suspect Bear Grills would be the only one with the ability to survive here.



  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leahj73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights mainly for the diving. The resort itself is very nice, the pool has a great view over the sea. The dive centre is also very good, a little more pricey than other centres on the island, but they do deals on accommodation, so I would recommend contacting them to see if there are any offers at the moment before making a firm booking. The dive centre are very professional and friendly with great equipment and the groups aren't too big, so you get to see a lot of fish without too many other people.

We stayed in beach zone, but in the mountain view rooms. The climb up was very steep, so beware when booking if you think this may be a problem. The view from up here however is worth it for me; ok, you're not right next to the beach (which is a little painful from all of the shells) but you get a great view over the bay, and since you have your own fridge, is a perfect place to sit out on an evening and enjoy the view. I would choose the mountain rooms purely for this every time (plus they are cheaper!).

Some of the mountain view huts are by themselves, but others contain 2 rooms in the hut. The walls are quite thin, so while we were on our own for the majority of the nights, we could hear the quite loud people next door (possibly a bit of them being too loud and the walls being too thin). It might be nice to choose a room which has its own hut by itself (unless you are going in low season, when it might be worth risking it for having a room higher up the hill with a better view).

We didn't eat at the restaurant as it wasn't included and was very expensive. There are plenty of restaurants just a couple of minutes walk away, or there is a 7-11 nearby if you want to get something and leave it in the fridge.

Other people do have quite legitimate complaints, it didn't spoil our holiday, but we did find the following to be true: Staff at the resort could have done with being a little friendlier (and were a little rude); breakfast and meals are very expensive; the minibar is also very expensive (just go to the 7-11 or the supermarket further down the road); this is a hot country and you're living in a hut - if you leave food even vaguely open you will get ants, be careful and you should be ok (we made a mistake 1 day). This shouldn't spoil your holiday though, and I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The mountain view rooms have a fantastic view over the bay, but the hill is very steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiki2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Worst room of entire 3 week Thailand trip and it's not even that cheap. Swimming pool is nice and free pick up from pier but that's it. Room is tiny, ancient and there are mosquitos coming in from the cracks. No room safe and lock on door is pitiful. How hotels.com can list it as a 3.5 star os beyond me. Keep looking, there must be better than this in ko Tao for $45 a night!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed at Paradise zone, the room was lovely with a great view. The breakfast was quite disappointing and there are other places to eat. If we stayed again I would try the rooms next to the beach as they looked nice also.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKKME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone
2.0 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#32 of 49 in Koh Tao
320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#21 of 49 in Koh Tao
493 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ko Tao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ko Tao Resort

Property: Ko Tao Resort
Address: 19 / 1 Moo 3 Chalook Baan, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ko Tao Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Sawasdee, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ko Tao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ko Tao Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing