We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort, great location”
Review of Ko Tao Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ko Tao Resort
Ranked #33 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This resort is in a great location for walking to restaurants and shops. It is larger than I had anticipated and unfortunately you cannot really swim right out in front of the resort but it is still located in front of a really nice beach. We never ate at the restaurant but heard it was really good. Before I booked I read some reviews that the staff was rude and not helpful. I found this to be the opposite, Aoy and Peter totally took care of us and were super helpful. Our room was the Beach apartment, it was pleasant but the bathroom was small, the shower was sufficient for us. The air conditioner worked well. If you are looking for a good location with helpful staff you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chrissy0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

One of the better places to stay in koh tao, very good placement, calm but not far from some nice restaurants and shops. We had a garden room, which was correctly equipped, however the bathroom is very basic. Breakfast is not cheap and consists out of some menu's to choose from.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I bought 3 nights in a Deluxe beach zone room on Agoda website. I did have a lot of early trouble with the hotel answering any enquiry I made so took a punt. They picked up from Pier at no cost.
The check in staff were fine. The room was #310 close to the beach. The room itself would not be classed as "deluxe" may have been some years ago when the place was first built. But it was OK enough. I think it was US$57 a night which didn't include breakfast. They are not that big and close together. You are close to your neighbour sitting at the front porch. Can hear conversations and "share" the cigarette smoke. So can be a bit noisy in that respect especially with kids around. The pool was nice overlooking the bay. Beaut area to sit under coconut trees looking over ocean in loungers. Nice in the evening with a cool breeze.
Did not eat there so can't comment on the food / service. There are some nice restaurants down the road / beach. The one at Paradise Zone was good but the Ying Yang down past the 711 was excellent. So the hotel suited us fine. Maybe needing a bit of renovating / maintenance but really nothing major to complain about for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Buick54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife & I stayed at Ko Tao Resort for 4 nights. We booked the seaview deluxe room on the paradise zone (up to the hill). The room is big enough, the bath room is good but the main point is the sea view. The room have the great view over the sea. The pool is another great part of the paradise zone. Ko Tao resort have two parts one on the beach side and the other is the paradise zone up to the hill. They have a shuttle service from the beach side to the paradise zone, It is quite convenience. Also, if you rent the bike, the situation of the road is good and easy for us to drive up to the paradise zone (we rented a 125cc honda bike). My wife & me walked around the resort. Honstly, if you are looking for a budget room such as mountain view room (yes, they have) don't do this because it is not a good one. You will find that the beach front suite or the paradise zone seaview room (all kind of seaview room) is your only choice. Some staff are little bit cool when the first day we arrived but they will smile and talk to you after few day later. (I don't know why but some of the people in Ko Tao are same like this). For the dive center, they are cheap (only 800b for one dive if you stay in Ko Tao Resort) but if you are experience diver, find the dive shop and ask for the dive site which you want to go. We went to the other dive center on Sairee beach and happy for the dive site we visited. Chalook Bann is a quiet part of Ko Tao, there have a lot of dive school / resort but nothng for shopping. If you want to walk around, shopping and etc... Stay at Sairee beach is better.

Room Tip: Only choice the seaview room of the paradise zone or the beach front suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jong J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

This place does not do this apparently majestic island any justice. Although we didn't stick around to find out. The rooms granted are budget style accommodation but i didn't realize that budget included:

1. Inability to lock your door securely leaving a gap large enough to invite the Ko Tao mossies in all night.

2. An air conditioner that is at best the occasional burst of air giving you a false sense of hope that it will relief you from the stifilng heat outside.

3. Beds so hard you are sure to remember for a lifetime as they are so firm you feel as though you are sleeping on the floor.

4. Rude staff that have forgotten they are in an establishment that offers accommodation to the public. It felt like we had turned up unexpectedly and put them out.

5. Inability to flush the toilet. I am travelling with my best friend but we don't need to know one another that intimately. Expected to put our waste paper into a basket in the pint sized bathroom.

This is not for the faint hearted. I suspect Bear Grills would be the only one with the ability to survive here.



  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leahj73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights mainly for the diving. The resort itself is very nice, the pool has a great view over the sea. The dive centre is also very good, a little more pricey than other centres on the island, but they do deals on accommodation, so I would recommend contacting them to see if there are any offers at the moment before making a firm booking. The dive centre are very professional and friendly with great equipment and the groups aren't too big, so you get to see a lot of fish without too many other people.

We stayed in beach zone, but in the mountain view rooms. The climb up was very steep, so beware when booking if you think this may be a problem. The view from up here however is worth it for me; ok, you're not right next to the beach (which is a little painful from all of the shells) but you get a great view over the bay, and since you have your own fridge, is a perfect place to sit out on an evening and enjoy the view. I would choose the mountain rooms purely for this every time (plus they are cheaper!).

Some of the mountain view huts are by themselves, but others contain 2 rooms in the hut. The walls are quite thin, so while we were on our own for the majority of the nights, we could hear the quite loud people next door (possibly a bit of them being too loud and the walls being too thin). It might be nice to choose a room which has its own hut by itself (unless you are going in low season, when it might be worth risking it for having a room higher up the hill with a better view).

We didn't eat at the restaurant as it wasn't included and was very expensive. There are plenty of restaurants just a couple of minutes walk away, or there is a 7-11 nearby if you want to get something and leave it in the fridge.

Other people do have quite legitimate complaints, it didn't spoil our holiday, but we did find the following to be true: Staff at the resort could have done with being a little friendlier (and were a little rude); breakfast and meals are very expensive; the minibar is also very expensive (just go to the 7-11 or the supermarket further down the road); this is a hot country and you're living in a hut - if you leave food even vaguely open you will get ants, be careful and you should be ok (we made a mistake 1 day). This shouldn't spoil your holiday though, and I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The mountain view rooms have a fantastic view over the bay, but the hill is very steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kiki2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Worst room of entire 3 week Thailand trip and it's not even that cheap. Swimming pool is nice and free pick up from pier but that's it. Room is tiny, ancient and there are mosquitos coming in from the cracks. No room safe and lock on door is pitiful. How hotels.com can list it as a 3.5 star os beyond me. Keep looking, there must be better than this in ko Tao for $45 a night!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.9 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone
0.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,284 reviews
2.4 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
541 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#23 of 50 in Koh Tao
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ko Tao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ko Tao Resort

Address: 19 / 1 Moo 3 Chalook Baan, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £34 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ko Tao Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Chalok Baan Kao south of ko tao We have our long and clean private beach with the white pretty sand and at low tide passable for sunbathing, but really there are far better spots elsewhere on Ko Tao for laying around in the sun –and the best location to see the sunset. We are PADI 5 star dive resort and we offers dive courses with PADI Diver Training. Everything from your first dive exp ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Ko Tao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ko Tao Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing