We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but quite expensive”
Review of Ko Tao Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ko Tao Resort
Ranked #32 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place but quite expensive”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights. Was decent enough but you paid enough for it! Friendly staff, clean rooms, nice furnishing good location, quiet and even had a kettle (we'd hoped for one for ages!) great infinity pool with lots of sun loungers and very short walk from your room to a gorgeous tranquil part of chalok beach! The cleaned lady also knocked at 12 noon everyday to ask with a smile if we'd like our room cleaned! And if not gave us more comp water and toilet paper. Nice touch! I loved the location so that's why we stayed! But definitely worth a shot if you don't mind paying that little extra! Chalok bay is amazing!!! :)

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank robinsonjennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    127
    103
    67
    48
See reviews for
83
186
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at this resort though the first time was up the hill in the Paradise Zone and this time was down the hill on the beach.
I am going to review again as they are like two different resorts.
The room was clean when we arrived, on the older side though it is not a new hotel so you should expect this. We stayed for two nights and our room was only cleaned for one of the nights. It was late when we realised and were leaving the next day so didn't worry about it.
There were two beds in the room, both doubles so would have been great for two singles though as a couple it was a bit squishy as we have a king at home so ended up having our own beds.
The room had a great wrap around deck, quite private,with a 4 seater dining table, 2 chairs and a tableand also a raised area with some cushions. It is on the walkway between the pool and the restaurant so there is some foot traffic. Over the path there is a fence then some deck chairs and then the beach. The resort was not too busy when we were there so not too many people.
The restaurent is like a big caffeteria, we ate there one night as we sought some western food. The food was not great,my buger was average and the fries were cold, I asked for them to be hot and were repaced then the burger was cold.
The pool was lovely,right on the beach with plenty of deckchairs.
Koh Tao resort is on Chalok Bay which is on the south side of the island. There is plenty to eat in walking distance and access to shops for esentials. It was nice to stay on this part of the island as it is quite different to the Sariee area. If you want to head to Sairee you will need transportation, we had bikes and felt very safe riding around.

Room Tip: Beach side bungalow (#301) whilst not directly on the beach can see the sea, are private and only se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We were blown away by the infinity pool and sea views! We came to relax for a few days after a couple of months travelling and it was perfect for this.
The staff in the restaurant however were unobservant and it took forever to be given a menu or the bill. When we did receive the bill it was dumped on the table by a waiter who hurried on without so much as a thank you, and the total was wrong (as is standard in Thailand). Other than the Tom Yum Kung soup the food was average..disappointing for such a nice resort.
We had trouble connecting to the Wifi from our room so reception authorised free use of the computers. One night we needed to use the computers and there was only a member of night security staff on duty. We explained that we were allowed to use the internet for free but he demanded payment and was extremely rude. He later asked for our room number to ensure that the hotel could charge us on checking out!
The hotel is a fair distance from Sairee Village and we were surprised that no shuttle bus was provided. The hotel did offer discounted taxi rates but it cost us 400 Baht for the return journey..about the same price we'd pay for a taxi back home! Still, it was nice to be in a more secluded area and the beach was beautiful. Some of the best sunsets we've seen.
We personally didn't have a problem with room cleanliness. There were a few mosquitos but that's unavoidable.
We found it difficult to book ourselves any massage treatments. Reception sent us to the massage area where we had to interrupt a couples treatment to book a time. When we returned at 6.00pm we discovered our slot had been given to another couple!
We would definitely return to this hotel just for the pool. Shame the staff let it down!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelaTart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Amazing infinity pool overlooking the beach! Free taxi at certain times down to the pier. Able to leave Airconditioning on without your key so it's nice and cool when you come back. Short walk to restaurants and shops!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Save yourself the time and the money .
I got to a hotel that on the Internet said it had a privet beach well it does but u can't walk to it u need a hotel taxi to come and take u down to the koh tao beach resort 3 start which is the same chain of hotels -so forget about the privet beach !! The hotel is locatated on a massive hill which makes it impossible to get out of it except with a taxi which makes your trip much more expensive and u always really on transportation it's also far from the main beaches to get there is a bout 400bh each way from the hotel .
The stuff in the hotel does not speaks a word in English so good luck asking anything!!! God forbid if u have any problem , eventually I ask for the hotel manager because I was so politely frustrated that no one spoke English and they told me that he his in bankok and one can can help me because no one can understand English!!!!
The restaurant food was not good and over priced the only nice things a bout this hotel was a clean room and amazing view from the pool which is super small but trust me it's not worth it!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

I Stayed in this hotel for one night only to do snorkeling in KO tao and it was nice.
The hotel look very good from the outside but the rooms are dirty and full of mosquito's.
The hotel is 15 minutes driving from the sairee beach, and it is a little bit bomber

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shalom_melamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Ko Tao resort is located in a nice bay, distant from a bustling and hustling Sairee beach, which is in the centre of the island. If you need some peace and quiet , you'll definitely find it here, in Ko Tao resort. There's an easy access to the centre of the island by a taxi from the hotel. If you like walking, don't hesitate to explore the nearest view points. I stayed in the lower part of the resort, next to the Ocean and nice beach bars. The upper Paradise Zone is more spectacular with an excellent swimming pool overlooking the surrounding bays and the beaches but more expensive.
The bungalows are well kept and clean. The only drawback was the bathroom and the bedroom divided by a thin wooden board sharing the same ceiling which meant using the same light for both . If one person wanted to use the bathroom at night or in the morning, the main lamp woke up the other person in the bedroom. Ridiculous but tolerable.
The location is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AgataP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#31 of 49 in Koh Tao
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#21 of 49 in Koh Tao
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chintakiri Resort
Chintakiri Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ko Tao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ko Tao Resort

Property: Ko Tao Resort
Address: 19 / 1 Moo 3 Chalook Baan, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ko Tao Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Sawasdee, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ko Tao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ko Tao Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing