We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed location, great for a diving course”
Review of Ko Tao Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ko Tao Resort
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The resort is a little dated but I felt that generally care had been taken to maintain that parts of the units that matter so they still felt clean and comfortable. The location is great, right on the beach (we stayed in a Beachfront Room). We stayed in a deluxe room the first night (because the Beachfront Room was not available and were pleased with the upgrade because it gave us a bit more space and was a lot lighter. In the beachfront room there was a bit of a design flaw with the bathroom so that if you used the shower the entire bathroom floor, including around the toilet, becomes a puddle but this seemed to drain away quite quickly.
We visited the paradise zone one afternoon for a swim and a cocktail. The views from the pool up there are amazing but we were happy we'd chosen to be down by the beach.
We also did the 4-day dive course at the resort and felt very well looked after by the staff at the dive school and the combination of the resort and the dive school was very convenient. We also rented kayaks at the resort and used these to paddle around to snorkelling spots (the beach outside the resort is a bit murky).
Many of the staff at the resort seemed to be quite unhappy, particularly the staff at reception (with one notable exception) but the staff at the restaurant were very good on the whole.
WiFi was free but patchy.
Above all we were very happy with our choice to stay in Chalok Baan. There was enough to keep ourselves occupied but it was quiet enough to be able to relax. We enjoyed strolling along the beach in the evening to find a place to eat or get cocktails. We loved stopping at the pancake cart outside the 7-Eleven in the evenings too!
Taxi rides to the main beach took about 15mins and I think cost about 300baht. Long tail boats cost about the same.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

From the moment we arrived we felt like being such a pain for the staff at this rundown resort. No smile just a grim face telling you to hand over the passport etc. Our family room was medium clean, but everything in it were either broken, loose or infested with huge amounts of ants. I would never try to investigate the total amount of ants in the walls, because then it would be hard to sleep afterwards..

My father in law, who were traveling with us for a week, stayed in a bungalow. He woke up one night when a huge rat or something tried to dig its way into his bungalow. He discovered a big hole in the wall where the rat had tried to enter. The hole were filled with plastic bags. When he told the reception they called a guy whose solution were to put more plastic bags into the hole. The next night the rat were digging again. When he made another complaint to the reception they told him to relax because the rat would never get through all the plastic. They couldnt understand why he was so upset.

Everything from the stair, rooms and pool to the people working at this resort need a serious upgrade. I guess it was nice once, but now its just sad.

Never during our five days stay here we got a smile or friendly face from the staff.

A big exception for the nice people at the restaurant who really were friendly and helpful. Also the dive center can be recommended, great instructor and many great dives!

When it comes to accommodation, stay away from this place, there are allot nicer places on Koh Tao.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We have stayed there as it was recommended but finally... it was disappointing. We took mountain view bungalow as it was the only available - it was clean, with nice view and porch, but - very small, average bathrom just splitted by some wall. 500m before on the main road (opposite Bug Bubble diving center) are bungalows for 400-600B depending on season and although we didn't see it - for those who wish to spend all day on the beach, snorkeling and diving this would be much better choice.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are not worth its price. If you wish to stay - choose different one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasia_Slig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My partner and I stayed here for two nights in a private room. The rooms are very small (very difficult for two people to change and pack at the same time). The beach is beautiful and the pool is great. Taxis are expensive....100 baht per person to the main beach at night. Sadly the staff dissapointed me on this trip. Not helpful or friendly for our entire stay...on arrival we did not book the free shuttle (make sure you book it a day in advance) because the lady will not pick you up. On arrival we discovered we had been robbed (please be careful on the night bus...sleep holding your bags as I slept with it by my feet and still got robbed), there was no compassion from the lady or any staff for that matter...they just wanted our money and to get us to the room. A man then tried to sell us a diving course and once we said no he no longer wanted to talk to us. No smiles or help from any of the staff. On the last day we wanted to store our luggage and the lady simply said "I shut at 7"...so basically be back or you wont get your luggage. We then saw the shuttle leaving so we tried to jump on it. This particular one was just for the staff...however the man driving simply said 100 baht and then when we asked if this is the free one he simply shut his window pointed to the hotel and drove off. Very dissapointing all in all. Thanks for reading. get 

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

They have a sister hotel further up the hill, but we stayed down literally on the beach! You have use of the infinity pool by the beach, which we loved, as well as use of the sister hotel facilities (we did not visit this). There are shared and private dorms with shared bathroom facilities, myself and my partner had a private dorm room which was a bunk bed with lockers and fan. I had read some reviews of the dorms saying they were small and boy they are, you can just about get in the door and jump into bed...but didn't make any odds to me at all, they were cheap and clean and right on the most gorgeous beach in ko tao! Who wants to spend all their time in their room anyway? Used the shower facilities, again clean and no problem at all. Yes, the resort food/drink is slightly more expensive than if you take a small walk to the restaurants/bars a short walk away, but you pay for the convenience of not having to do so if you so wish. We ate here and had a couple of lovely meals, also ate out and found some lovely places within a short walk. All in all a pleasurable stay! I would come back here again, in fact I look forward to! I may treat myself and upgrade to a larger room, certainly if staying for a longer period of time.

Room Tip: if travelling on a budget the dorms are fine, but if more money to play with get a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank cupcakelady186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Enjoyed our stay at KoTao Resort. This resort has an upper resort, but we stayed down by the beach (no shuttle required). Our bungalow (duplex) by the beach was great with a nice porch but you can here your neighbors very well. The pool was beautiful, ocean beach was great. We did not eat at the restaurant as we walked down the street to eat at other areas. The front desk staff can improve on being friendlier, especially the small gal, she can use some charm schooling. Nice resort.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

As with many others- this place is mixed. Mum and I stayed in one of the rustic little huts for the first night. Paid 1800 baht and noticed ants crawling all over my bed within the first hour. The cleaners came and sprayed chemicals all over the room and eliminated them. We went out for the evening to avoid being gassed ourselves. Had an ok nights sleep but the huts are bail, dark, dingy, and the bathroom is just a sectioned off corner of the hut without a ceiling so very intimate when you are staying with your mother... The view from the buts is great, the beach and grounds are lovely and well maintained. Downsides - some of the hotel staff could really do with some truing in customer service. Especially those on reception which is the first face you see. Dear Hotelier - do yourself a favour, take note of some of the comments and get some friendly faces on reception please! On the first morning I woke up to find a cockroach on the bed side cabinet and we asked to move rooms. Living in a hut in the middle of nature, I'm not averse to dealing with the wildlife, but cockroaches are my limits. Thankfully an upgrade room was available (for which we paid extra of course- no offer of discount, in fact, not really an acknowledgement that ants and cockroaches might be an issue. Just those blank faces again from reception staff. We'd come to expect this sort of service by now so were not surprised. We moved into a deluxe room which was more solidly built, felt much cleaner, still the bathroom was in need of some TLC, but after the rustic hut we were grateful for anything else. The good points about this hotel are the pools and grounds. You can use the top pool as well as the lower beach side pool, both are amazing. The hotel offers a free lift to and from the top section of the hotel (although we only found this out by default and not because the friendly (!) helpful front of house staff had offered us this information). The downside is the accommodation itself. Our deluxe room was 1900 but a night and was clean and better size and quiet, however it the deluxe bungalows are all interconnected by a thin door. So if you have a family and rent two rooms- great, you can easily hear and see your family right next door. If however you wish to have privacy and do not wish to be disturbed by a random neighbour in the adjoining room through a thin door, this might be a problem. Thankfully, we had quiet neighbours. Lastly, the lovely cleaners came every day and did a good job of making a slightly tired accommodation as clean a poss. The area is quiet, about a 25 minute walk from the pier, and with enough little carves and eateries nearby to keep you happy for a few days.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vassa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,324 reviews
2.4 mi away
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#22 of 50 in Koh Tao
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chintakiri Resort
Chintakiri Resort
#12 of 50 in Koh Tao
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ko Tao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ko Tao Resort

Address: 19 / 1 Moo 3 Chalook Baan, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £35 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ko Tao Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Chalok Baan Kao south of ko tao We have our long and clean private beach with the white pretty sand and at low tide passable for sunbathing, but really there are far better spots elsewhere on Ko Tao for laying around in the sun –and the best location to see the sunset. We are PADI 5 star dive resort and we offers dive courses with PADI Diver Training. Everything from your first dive exp ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ko Tao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ko Tao Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing