We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views, worth getting a bungalow sweet!!!!”
Review of Ko Tao Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ko Tao Resort
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, worth getting a bungalow sweet!!!!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Loved the location of this hotel the view was breathtaking . We went with a group of friends , stayed in a suit it was comfortable. The staff was not very helpful but overall I would 100% stay there again . It's within walking distance from some good street food but a solid cab ride from the bars where everyone goes out .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marissa1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    126
    103
    66
    48
See reviews for
83
184
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Positive; They had upgraded our room, so we got a lot of space.

Negative; We payed for wifi but didnt get that.
The staff does not know how to smile.
And arent willing to help us in any way, so we are just not feeling welcome.

Its a good thing we only booked one night.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Prince George
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

The dive resort part is run well, competent instructors and dive masters. They have up to date equipment all well maintained. However the dorm leaves a lot to be desired. They are small, hot with poor ventilation. My wife actually chose to sleep outside on our last night just to get fresh air. The receptionist has no customer service skills, as soon as she found out we were not diving for a second day with them she immediately said check out is 11 and no later. The prices for the diving are reasonable but the cost of the dorm is high. Restaurant costs a bit more than further down the beach but you can walk for good food cheaper and the restaurant serving staff is great. We rented snorkelling equipment from here for the day for 100 baht and found out later you can get it as cheap as 40 elsewhere, not a big cost difference but it is an example of you need to ask around for better prices.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ccisme3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here one night and move to our dive centre (Big Blue) right away. There's nothing special about the Resort and it's quite expensive to travel to the other (better) part of the island. Room was quite small and full of mosquitos. Overall, it's not worth it to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Pro- nice pool
Lovely views

Cons - over priced
Very basic rooms
Terrible customer service

The entire time is stayed I felt as though I was putting the staff out. Very rude. So surprised as ko Tao is a lovely place. I moved to another resort in the end which was lovely and the same price.


Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaxy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The resort is a little dated but I felt that generally care had been taken to maintain that parts of the units that matter so they still felt clean and comfortable. The location is great, right on the beach (we stayed in a Beachfront Room). We stayed in a deluxe room the first night (because the Beachfront Room was not available and were pleased with the upgrade because it gave us a bit more space and was a lot lighter. In the beachfront room there was a bit of a design flaw with the bathroom so that if you used the shower the entire bathroom floor, including around the toilet, becomes a puddle but this seemed to drain away quite quickly.
We visited the paradise zone one afternoon for a swim and a cocktail. The views from the pool up there are amazing but we were happy we'd chosen to be down by the beach.
We also did the 4-day dive course at the resort and felt very well looked after by the staff at the dive school and the combination of the resort and the dive school was very convenient. We also rented kayaks at the resort and used these to paddle around to snorkelling spots (the beach outside the resort is a bit murky).
Many of the staff at the resort seemed to be quite unhappy, particularly the staff at reception (with one notable exception) but the staff at the restaurant were very good on the whole.
WiFi was free but patchy.
Above all we were very happy with our choice to stay in Chalok Baan. There was enough to keep ourselves occupied but it was quiet enough to be able to relax. We enjoyed strolling along the beach in the evening to find a place to eat or get cocktails. We loved stopping at the pancake cart outside the 7-Eleven in the evenings too!
Taxi rides to the main beach took about 15mins and I think cost about 300baht. Long tail boats cost about the same.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

From the moment we arrived we felt like being such a pain for the staff at this rundown resort. No smile just a grim face telling you to hand over the passport etc. Our family room was medium clean, but everything in it were either broken, loose or infested with huge amounts of ants. I would never try to investigate the total amount of ants in the walls, because then it would be hard to sleep afterwards..

My father in law, who were traveling with us for a week, stayed in a bungalow. He woke up one night when a huge rat or something tried to dig its way into his bungalow. He discovered a big hole in the wall where the rat had tried to enter. The hole were filled with plastic bags. When he told the reception they called a guy whose solution were to put more plastic bags into the hole. The next night the rat were digging again. When he made another complaint to the reception they told him to relax because the rat would never get through all the plastic. They couldnt understand why he was so upset.

Everything from the stair, rooms and pool to the people working at this resort need a serious upgrade. I guess it was nice once, but now its just sad.

Never during our five days stay here we got a smile or friendly face from the staff.

A big exception for the nice people at the restaurant who really were friendly and helpful. Also the dive center can be recommended, great instructor and many great dives!

When it comes to accommodation, stay away from this place, there are allot nicer places on Koh Tao.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#33 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
3.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
1.2 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#25 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ko Tao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ko Tao Resort

Property: Ko Tao Resort
Address: 19 / 1 Moo 3 Chalook Baan, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ko Tao Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Sawasdee, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ko Tao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ko Tao Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing