We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed thoughts but mostly positive”
Review of Ko Tao Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ko Tao Resort
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Mixed thoughts but mostly positive”
Reviewed 23 April 2007

We stumbled across the hotel having survived the heat to reach the island. The only room free was a non-ac bungalow with a sea view...the only problem was that the bungalow was basically up a hill, a very very steep hill. yes there were steps but for the unfit like me I did slightly struggle (altough the man who ran up it with my suitcase on his head didn't!). We paid £25 a night during high season, and I felt this was a little high for a basic bungalow with no ac. The view though was...absolutely breathtaking, there's no words to describe it!!!!!!!!! The bungalow was cleaned daily and the mini- bar restocked, there was also cable tv and free flipflops(!!). The pool was GREAT very clean and lovely and cool. Even though there weren't many chairs it never got too crowded.

My main reservations:
1) It was soooooooooooo hot without no ac at night, we hardly slept and this was the main reason we moved out.
2) Either there were mice in the room which pooed everywhere including in my suitcase (ok we were in the middle of the jungle on a mountain!!!!) or when the birds pooed on the roof, it came through the ceiling?! Not sure which but we kept a night on at night to look out for mice/ bird poo.

All in all perfect for "flashy" backpackers. There was a huge range of accomodation at the resort and i've no idea what the rest was like although ours was most rustic.

  • Liked — views, pool, food, helpful and friendly staff
  • Disliked — the poo in the room
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Leia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    128
    103
    67
    48
See reviews for
84
186
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
the Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2006

From the four resorts in which we stayed during our month in Thailand this was defenitely not the best. We originally reserved 2 cottages with seaview, but there's no sea to view, so we decided to get a family room with seaview with a big balcony and a jacussi. We had to pay an extra 7000 bath for 5 days. At first sight every thing looked nice, but then the jacussi didn't work. After 3 days they fixed it, but no hot water! Half the time electricity ran out, so aircondition was not working.
The breakfast was very simple, but the tablecloth were full of stains, attracting a lot of flies. The waiters were friendly.
The pool was small and the water very trouble. You couldn't see your own feet in the water, so we didn't use the pool. Only 15 chairs around the pool always fully occupied
General impression : ok but not that great. Wouldn't go back there anymore.

  • Liked — the seaview
  • Disliked — low service and maintainance
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank inberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

scotland
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2006

Myself and my partner stayed hear for 5 nights during a 3 week stay in Thailand in November 2005. On our 2nd week we visited Koh Tao.
We were going to stay at the Taa Toh Lagoon resort next door, but it didn't have any ac. We had been travelling all day on ferries etc and the heat got to us. So we decided to blow a hole in our budget and get a proper hotel with ac. We walked down the road a bit and the tranquil oasis of a lush green garden adorned with little lanterns twinkled in the growing darkness. We were pleased to discover at reception that it was just £16 per night for a double room en-suite, probably cheaper online!
The whole hotel is gorgeously landscaped and layed out with a waterfall staircase that is lit up at night as well the dining area being open plan leading onto little terraces overlokking the infinity pool and breathtaking seaview.
We were there in November and it was relativly quiet, very easy to get adjacent loungers at the pool at any time of day. The pool bar will stay open as late as you want even though there was only 2 of us playing pool one evening the friendly barman Dow, kept mixing us cocktails untill 2am.
There is a seafood BarBQ every evening and I have to reccommend the whole barbecued Baracuda.
The wine is decent and chilled properly, but comes with a price tag of around £14 a bottle.
We did our padi open water courses with the dive centre next door that works in conjunction with hotel.
The diving was amazing, really top dive sites with loads of shoals of colourful fish and we had the instructor all to ourselves except for one day we joined by to other certified divers who pretty much did their own thing. The instructor really knew his stuff and the dive sites.
Back to the hotel I should really mention our attentive witer Doh, unlike the barman Dow who had perfect English, Doh was more smiles than actually understanding you. But pointing to the menu worked fine. These 2 charming members of staff really made our stay extra speacial.
The rooms were cleaned every day, they even made room in the mini bar/fridge for shop bought bottled water by removing the expensive minibar water that sure they're supposed to be trying to sell!
Only one tiny down point the smell from the drains in the bathroom could be pretty strong. Solved by keeping the bathroom door shut.
All in I would definetly recommend this hotel to everyone except for those looking for the full moon party techno spew fest with obligatory dreadlocks.

Helpful?
9 Thank Jenny&Budge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2006

My husband and I spent 5 days at this resort last July. We booked a Deluxe room through the hotel's own website. When we arrived in Ko Tao they had arranged for a transfer for us from the pier to the hotel. On arrival we proceeded to reception and gave our printout which we had received after booking on the site.
The girl at reception began speaking in Thai to what looked like the manager at the back of the room. They were speaking for quite some time as we waited in front of them. Eventually they issued us with a key and we were shown to where our room was. We were shown to a beach front bunglow which was 2 levels of accommodation below what we had paid for.
I explained that this was not the room we had ordered and proceeded back up to reception. On our form it had listed that the Deluxe room was booked and paid for. The manager then told me that the company that does booking part of their website had not informed them that we were coming and hence they had no deluxe rooms left. I asked him how this was possible since they had sent someone to the pier with our names on a sheet to pick us up. He then claimed he couldn't understand me. It was clear that they had sold our room for that night and they said there was nothing they could do for that night and we had to take a lower standard room and we could move the next night. He said he would refund us the money when we checked out (which he refused to do when we went to checkout).
We moved to the deluxe room the next night, deluxe is certainly an overstatement! The one reason I would give this hotel 2 stars is that the rest of the staff were excellent and the dive school attached to this resort was also really good. However the photos on the website greatly exaggerate the reality of this hotel, in particular the pool area. The pool is a lot smaller in reality and was extremely cloudy, you couldn't see even halfway to the bottom. I fully understand that Ko Tao is a primitive enough island and wouldn't expect the same standard of accommodation as you would find elsewhere, however I think honouring a booking and basic cleaning (i.e. of the pool) is a small enough expectation for any hotel.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank ladybuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone
2.0 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#32 of 49 in Koh Tao
319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#21 of 49 in Koh Tao
492 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ko Tao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ko Tao Resort

Property: Ko Tao Resort
Address: 19 / 1 Moo 3 Chalook Baan, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ko Tao Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Sawasdee and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ko Tao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ko Tao Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing