We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid - not worth the price they are charging”
Review of Koh Tao Cabana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koh Tao Cabana
Ranked #13 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Avoid - not worth the price they are charging”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I was looking forward to staying here for 3 nights, having been to Ko Tao before and loving the island and the beautiful beaches and also it being my birthday whilst we were here. However Koh Tao Cabana proved to be just one disappointment after another. I could go on for ever about the issues we faced, but to summarize the main ones:

No water in our room one morning - so no shower, cleaning of teeth etc
Breakfast orders wrong - on all 3 mornings!
Bad breakfasts - the food is dreadful. I mean DREADFUL. One of the worst breakfasts I've ever had and for the price per night they are charging extremely disappointing.
Rude staff - at reception and especially at the restaurant. Breakfast staff seem to completely resent your presence.
No wifi in room - you have to go the restaurant. Yes, the dreadful restaurant to use wifi. And then on 2 mornings out of 3 it wasn't working. For the price, wifi should cover the whole resort.
Stupid furniture in rooms - they have gone for the castaway look. I've seen this work elsewhere very successfully but here it's done badly. E.g. a bedside table made out of pieces of rope so you can put nothing on it. All in all, very silly, unfunctional furniture which just gets annoying.
Aircon control broken - unable to turn on/off unit, change temperature etc- told reception but control was never fixed in the three days we were there.
Dark room/bad lighting - the room was really dark. Even in the middle of the day you could barely see a thing. The lights are some of the dimmest I've seen. At night my fiance wore a headtorch to read. It was that dim.
Lack of shade at sunloungers - prepare to sizzle as there are no shades
No staff present to set up loungers - so my fiance ended up carrying over the loungers, cushions and towels etc. The staff were obviously off on some long extended break....
Unappealing pool - dreadful pool - looks like pond water. Didn't even contemplate going in and from the fact not a single other gust was at the pool for the hour I spent there I think everyone felt the same.
Mozzie spray in room never filled up - nice to provide this but it was nearly empty when we arrived and they never filled it up.
Unhelpful with advance request - my fiance tried to arrange something for my birthday - they were extremely unhelpful and pretty rude in their emails
Phone call twice at 9.30pm - the night before we checked out they called us at 9.30pm to remind us we were checking out - unnecessary call and they shouldn't be calling at that time, but sums up their idea of service. 2 minutes later they rang again - to ask what hotel we were going to - why they needed to know this, who knows.
Scabby towels - towels in room are the same as the towels at the beach - old, thinning and stained.

So all in all I would recommend avoiding this place at all costs. The beach is lovely but there's not need to stay here to enjoy the beach. For what they proved Ko Tao Cabana is very over priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidTraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    216
    99
    56
    39
See reviews for
108
424
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Do not stay here, just visit the beach. The rooms are ok, but look harder and you can do much better for the money.
There is no heart and soul just a green, filthy pool, dreadful restaurant which we could only stomach once and inflated prices. The beach is nice, though. Go somewhere else, eat somewhere else.....don't waste your money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Location beach front. The only positive to our stay here.
The cabanas I would suggest have not been cleaned since they were built. Dusty, dirty floors/surfaces, tiles needing replacement in bathroom & shower areas. Lighting & shades again, stained, & need replacing.
Do not attempt this hotel if you can't cope with stairs, steps & hills.
Tropical location, so bring plenty of mosquito spray & mosquito coils.

Restaurant, again had not had a thorough cleaning... Ever... Each table sticky, dirty. Along with the seat cushions, distinct sewage smell when sitting in the sala.
Plagued with mosquito's & flies.
Restaurant Entry water feature was a haven for the mosquito's.

Breakfast service and I use that term loosely was hit & miss. Poor selection on fresh fruits, fruit juices (?) food cold & poorly prepared.

Spa. Clean, pleasant staff & nice treatments. However, could only take 2 guests at a time.

Would suggest to owners; Clean up the cabanas, repair electrical system, including A/C . Replace lost tiles from bathrooms. Repair & maintain all steps up to the cabanas. Have a regular pest control check.
Do the same in the restaurant. Remove the stagnant water from the water feature, clean it, and use salt water instead.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKKGirl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This place is the best location of Sairee beach, and many of the locals I met diving said it was one of the best hotels on the island. Pickup and check in were a breeze and exactly as we would have liked. It was the first time that we have been served warm popcorn as we arrived at a hotel, it went down a treat. We booked for 4 days and found the place so nice that we extended by another 4 days. The first room that we had was not available for the second 4 days so they moved us to another room that was smaller but had a fantastic view of the beach. As then hotel is situated on a hill there are a number of steps to reach your rooms, but the view is defiantly worth the exercise.
Breakfast was OK but nothing great, and we only ate one main meal at the restaurant as we tried out all the places along the beach. The beach in front of the hotel is cleaned each morning and the snorkelling straight in front of the hotel was very good. We managed to see many tropical fish during an easy half hour swim. We walked to many different pubs and restaurants from the beach and with such a choice to choose from we never repeated one restaurant. We found that the staff were friendly and pleasant whenever we needed them. The pool is nice, although with the lovely beach this was not used very much by us or the other guests. We took a longboat to the Japanese Gardens and the snorkelling there was fantastic and really worth the effort. Sairee beach can get very noisy, but we found the hotel to be far enough away that it did not bother us. The complimentary spa treatment was good and the spa is really nice although a bit more expensive that on the beach. Generally we had a lovely time there and would not hesitate in going back again.

Room Tip: Lots of steps but a lovely place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Overall, was not impressed with this hotel, although the beach is amazingly beautiful.

First, they told us they'd pick us up at the ferry port when we arrived, and we looked everywhere and they were nowhere to be seen.

I specifically booked this hotel because we wanted to be on the beach with ocean views, and paid extra for the White Sand Ocean Villa, which had views of palm trees and other villas, but absolutely no view of the ocean.

Room was older - felt like we were stuck in the 60's or 70's - very quirky and rustic. Would not consider it luxurious. The shower is outside, which isn't necessarily a good thing either because of all the bugs and mosquitos.

The waterfall pool was gross too - see my photo. There was no waterfall, and the water was green - no one was in it obviously, but there was a pool hut with towels and someone working there. Don't know why anyone would go there - it didn't look swimmable.

So, if all you care about it a pretty beach, this place has it, but the rooms are nothing special and don't pay more for an "ocean view" because you likely won't have one.

Room Tip: White Sand Ocean villa does NOT have ocean views, like it says.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGrl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed at cabana for 1 week .
Relaxing on a tropical island in the cabana was fantastic.
Staff and service friendly and first class.
If we return to koh tao this is where we will head for.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnflymurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Checked in after booking on agoda. Got a great deal and it was worth every penny. Staff were great and room was perfect! Nice decor and the outside shower was something else. With a hammock out the front with awesome views of the beach- life couldn't have been better. The pool was really nice and even had a cascading waterfall. 5 minute walk to the centre and beach bars, which for me was ideal as you could actually sleep. Book it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SammyHotFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,236 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
336 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Cabana

Property: Koh Tao Cabana
Address: 16 Moo 1, Baan Haad Sai Ree | Koh Tao, Koh Phaghan, Koh Tao 48360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Koh Tao Cabana 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Cabana is an intimate resort located on Thailand's most secluded island, It offer a brand new alternative for adventurous travelers seeking unprecedented comfort with traditional Thai charm and hospitality. Indulge your senses in one of the most exclusive locations on Sai Ree Beach, You can get back to nature in the peace and serenity of your own private villa, set amid beautifully tropical gardens where you'll feel like your second home! Life takes on a slower pace here with the promise of an untold adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Tao Cabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Cabana Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing