We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly noisy in the new building. Beware before you spend your cash”
Review of Koh Tao Cabana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koh Tao Cabana
Ranked #18 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Reviewed 9 February 2014

After researching trip advisor I chose to stay here and booked the most expensive rooms in the new block at 2500 baht (£50) a night and I stayed 8 nights. So let's start with the positives:-
1) the resort is slap bang in the middle of sairee beach and location is brilliant.
2) the new rooms by the pool are done to a very high standard and are luxurious.
3) nice pool to lie round with about 16 sunbeds of which half are permanently in the shade

Drawbacks:-
1) the main complaint is that although these rooms are brand new and clearly they have spent a lot of money on them, they spent no money or planning with regard to soundproofing. There is absolutely NO soundproofing. You will here the people in the next rooms full conversation as though they were standing at the bottom of your bed. You will here them go to the loo, here the TV, hear them snore and hear them making love. FUN??? Not when you are trying to get to sleep at 4am. I used earplugs for the full 8 nights and was disturbed every night. In addition the resort has cockerels roaming about it and they start crowing about 6am. There is usually only a window of 2 hours where it is quiet. The windows of the room are also ill fitting and also there is no sound proofing to the occasional drunks wandering home at 3am.
2) these are probably the most expensive accommodation at sairee beach. I would on hindsight book a cheaper bungalow that is at least quieter nod save about 1,000 baht a night. You can also get accommodation although basic for as low as 500 baht in sairee so the luxury is not worth it died to the noise.

Basically a lovely resort but ruined due to the fact you feel as though you are staying in a dorm where you can't see the other people but you hear everything a though they were in the room with you. I'm very surprised this has not been reported before.

Finally I loved Koh Toa it's fantastic and sairee is lovely chilleD vibe but won't stay in these rooms again and won't waste so much money next time

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank magoobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

This hotel will never be luxury but its setting is amazing. The villas are set high which gives a great view and a sense of privacy yet only 10 min pleasant walk on the beach to all the restaurants, shops and bars. This was our 4th visit to this hotel simply because of its charm and location on this lovely island. We never went for the food or service because it was sadly lacking. There seemed to be nobody managing this resort.
This time it was as good as it gets. The staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful. The restaurant was good and for the first time staff would come to the beach area to ask guests what they would like. If you are looking for a Hotel in Koh Tao you wont be disappointed. We were so impressed we booked another 15 night stay this December.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but if your not too good at climbing steps request one nearer the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMEESBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We were two families and stayed at the Chum Poo villa for 6 nights. We had originally booked 3 nights but ended up returning there for the remaining part of our holiday because we liked it that much. The hotel is located at the end of Sairee Beach, nice and quiet corner with clear blue waters and palm trees and pretty much looks like a postcard and you can go snorkelling right off the beach (you can rent a mask, tube and fins at the guest center) They have very nice sunbeds but you might want to get there early to get a place.The restaurant located on the rocks overlooking the ocean offers one of the most beautiful views, breakfast was very nice and also other food was tasty and quite reasonably priced. Just a short walk down the beach are many restaurants and bars and the town with shops and more restaurants and bars is also about 10 minute walk. We had booked the Chum Poo villa, that is beautiful and very nice if you are travelling with a small group as it has a nice living room and huge terrace overlooking the beach and ocean, providing a nice common space for evenings. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. When we go back to Koh Tao, we will definitely stay at the Koh Tao Cabana again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

What an amazing place. Situated on the beaches of Koh Toa and therefore you have easy access to bars, restaurants and snorkelling. We stayed in a beautiful round villa with balcony, with stunning decor inside. I often found it difficult to communicate with the staff but who cares when you have a gorgeous view overlooking the ocean for breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RemeHarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Well what can I say.. This place was just wonderful - from the moment we arrived we received top quality treatment. Immediately after we arrived we where handed iced tea and cold towels to soothe our dry weary tonsils and sweaty faces. Then moving onto the room we where just blown away with how lovely the room and view was from our Bungalow. The free voucher for the spa was a really lovely addition to the room - which we both enjoyed greatly. The best things about this place where the location (right at the top of Sarin Beach) Close to most things you may need - bars, food and shopping. The Restaurant is really nice too, the food is great and the service was always with a smile. The showers in the room always had hot water and reasonable pressure. The pool - Was just beautiful... Nice and clean and even though the place is only a few steps to the beach the pool was definitely another high light.. All in all we both loved our stay here and will return.. Thank you to everyone at Cabana!

Room Tip: The Villas are the best - Particlarly the Honeymoon suites.. (they have their own pools and are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

There have read mixed reviews about this hotel but in our experience it was an absolute gem! The hotel has the best location on Koh Toa as you are on the main beach, but not right next door to the beach parties. The setting is magical, fairy lights bring the trees and pathways to life at night. The food and service is great and best of all the rooms are very well priced. The snorkeling along the coastline of the hotel was excellent. We will definitely go back to the Cabana and next time we will stay for longer than 1 week!

Room Tip: To get the best rooms/villas you need to book well in advance! This hotel has many regular visitors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1984Gabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We (a youngish(late 20's) couple) stayed at koh tao cabana for four nights in november and it was amazing, we had paid a bit extra to get the private pool called the honeymoon villa and it really was worth it. the huts were great, had everything you needed as mentioned in other reviews ie. bug spray/toiletries etc and the minibar was very well priced - pretty much the same as the shops! the outdoor bathroom was great, maybe not for everyone but you can see before you book the type of bathrooms they have. We absolutely loved the villa hut it had a fantastic view over the beach and we could relax in our private pool every day! We ate at the restaurant several times and the food and drinks were always good as was the service. The hotel reception were very hepful. We used the sunloungers, and the main swimming pool and the snorkelling equipment. This hotel is by far the nicest on koh tao and worth paying a bit extra for a bit of luxury. The hotel is at the end of the beach so pretty private too, but not far to walk to any other bars/restaurants etc. i would absolutely recommend koh tao cabana, and would also recommend koh tao generally although just a tip - the only way to get there is by a ferry which can be quite rocky if the sea is rough so maybe take some sea sickness tablets just incase.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LRose123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,274 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
273 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Cabana

Address: 16 Moo 1, Baan Haad Sai Ree, Koh Tao 48360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: £67 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Koh Tao Cabana 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Cabana is an intimate resort located on Thailand's most secluded island, It offer a brand new alternative for adventurous travelers seeking unprecedented comfort with traditional Thai charm and hospitality. Indulge your senses in one of the most exclusive locations on Sai Ree Beach, You can get back to nature in the peace and serenity of your own private villa, set amid beautifully tropical gardens where you'll feel like your second home! Life takes on a slower pace here with the promise of an untold adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Koh Tao Cabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Cabana Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing