We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem, outdoor shower, romantic bungalow, FOOD IS BAD, Noise Issues”
Review of Koh Tao Cabana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koh Tao Cabana
Ranked #11 of 138 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hidden gem, outdoor shower, romantic bungalow, FOOD IS BAD, Noise Issues”
Reviewed 14 January 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here 10 nights and loved it. Best resort on Ko Tao! If you are going to Thailand don’t miss out on staying in Ko Tao. It’s a hidden treasure and in a few years it will be so overdeveloped. Come now! The sunsets, casual restaurants on the beach, perfectly clear water, fish swimming everywhere! Some bungalows at the resort have 180 degree views of the ocean.

Pros:
Outdoor rainshower looking up to the sky!
Most amazing views from your bungalow looking out to the ocean! Wow!
Walked from our bungalow to an amazing snorkel/dive spot
At the end of the beach, away from all the resorts and restaurants
Willing to negotiate the room price.
Free shuttle service to/from ferry.
Hammock on the deck.
Washed our clothes, smelled great!
Free water each day.
Comfortable lounge chairs overlooking ocean. (pool attendant doesn’t lay out your towels for you, does he have anything better to do?)
Provided sarongs in room to wear during stay.
Rooms are adorably decorated, very rustic bungalows but perfect for staying on an island in the middle of ???.
Swim in Shark Bay. Best experience ever. We swam with 4 sharks in less then 30 minutes.

Cons:
1. Unfortunately, we checked out early due to the bar down the beach that plays music until 2:am every night. You can hear the music pounding in your bungalow. Everyone on the beach suffers from 1 bar that plays loud BOOM BOOM music.
My boyfriend got REALLY bad food poisoning from there restaurant (don’t eat the cashew chicken). He was sick for 2 days!
When we went to check out they wouldn’t take responsibility for there restaurant giving him food poisoning and would not comp the meal.
Breakfast was not good and staff has a terrible attitude.
Not the best beach side drinking service.
They don’t have a pool yet, construction is going on now to build one.
We didn’t understand why the hotels in Thailand push two twins together to make it a king size bed. Beds are firm, but still comfortable.
Water wasn’t super hot coming out of shower but manageable.
No internet access from room 23 and on.
Night guard was standing in front of bungalow at night watching my boyfriend and I having sex.
No gym.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fogcitytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    212
    95
    52
    37
See reviews for
100
417
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2009

This was our second trip to Koh Tao, so we chose this location based on location only. We wanted to be on Sairee Beach as most of the great restaurants are located here. It is very convenient to walk from the hotel to the Sairee Village.

The rooms are ok, but I believe a bit dated. They could use with some refurbishing i.e. new towels, furnishing, bedding, etc. They are however spacious and are perfect for a family with 2 kids as there is a raised area for the kids to sleep on mattress on the floor.

The beach area was nice and the lounge chairs/beds were great as they had nice cushions and pillows to prop you up. There isn't enough staff working the area though and this was quite a busy time for them. They also didn't have restaurant staff checking on people to see if they wanted food or drink. You had to walk to the restaurant to order. They would make a ton more money if they actually come to the guests.

The website states that they have free wi-fi, but it is extremely interminent and they tell you this on arrival.

The other thing that concerned me is that Koh Tao is quite an eco-friendly island, but this hotel was not. The change the bedding and towels daily not matter if you ask them not to do this.

The restaurant had a great view of the sea. The breakfast was not good and we ended up walking to town on most days for a decent breakfast. We did have lunch there on two different occassions and they did have decent food for lunch time.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berlydallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bretagne
Level Contributor
73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2009

Very good hotel at the end of Sairee Beach.
Restaurant is splendid (specially at night).
We rented a beach front bungalow just near the beach with great bedroom and insde/outside bathroom.
Breakfast is good,service kindly and beach towel and sunbed provided.
A lot of restaurant on beach and town is not too far (10mn by foot) but enough to avoid noise

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillou29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff,UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

We stayed in the honeymoon suite, no.17, we had our own pool on the decking with stunning views, peace and quiet and lots of romance. Koh Tao is amazing in general, the scuba is fantastic and food amazing. I can see this place has many mixed reviews, we had no problem at all with bugs, but if people do - what do they expect if they choose somewhere with an alfresco shower in Thailand?!! The service was nice, not the best we had in Thailand but the pool, sunset views, sea etc more than make up for it!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HannahandRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2009

We stayed here 2 years ago in a treehouse hut. We liked it but found it too much of a trek up hill. But we decided to come back as overall we still liked it. And we were very pleased. They have a new reception area which really is stunning and makes you feel really welcome. We stayed in a beachfront whitesand villa and absolutely loved it - the decor is so unique and quality of fittings superb. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Excellent value for money.

For our last night we upgraded to a honeymoon villa with private pool - the pool and terrace area is stunning with an amazing view of the bay. Room not as spacious as previous bungalow but still very nice. But there is a huge difference in price - I guess you pay for the private pool!

I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarynDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

We spent 4 nights here during our honeymoon. It's a nice hotel, but not as nice as I had expected. The location is very quiet and remote on Sairee beach, but on the other hand the whole Sairee beach is pretty quiet so the location could've been more central. You should rent a motorbike so the location is not such an issue, we did it after two days. The price level is not very low, we paid 85 €/night for our bungalow.

The sunbeds on the beach were lovely and there was a man selling sliced pinapple and mango as well as freshly grilled corn crops, nice.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herbina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
123 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We have stayed at koh Tao Cabana several times, and keep coming back. It is by far one of the best places to stay on this wonderful island. But the ownership has changed, and so has the prices. the restaurant is not as good as it used to be eighter. Make sure to shop around before booking!

Koh Tao is not a family resort. It is a place for travellers that likes to do more then lay on the beach. And it is so, so romantic.

The resort/rooms: Go for one of the wooden cabanas with an ocean view. The others are not worth the money. Hut number 18 is the best. And you can get a good price by calling the resort directly. This has the best view on the island. It gets a bit noisy from the beach at night, but it has never bothered us.

The cabana is so beautiful, you can sit on the veranda for hours. And you have your own litle boulder beach just a two minutes walk down from the cabana. Skip the beach by reseption - stay on the rocks. A lot better, and great for snorkeling. A lot of life on the reefs just outside your door.

The bed is Thailand style - hard, but nice and big. The room is OK sized, with a small fridge, tv and dvd-player. There is a small sink in the room, so you dont have to go out to the open bathroom just to brush your teeth.

The bathroom is open - as in no roof. But it is great - big and fun.

Food/shopping: Skip the restaurant at the cabana. Koh Tao Cabanas location is great, just at the end of Sairee beach. Walk along the beach, and you will find Sairee vilage. Here you find all the restaurants and shopping you will need. I prefer the restaurants at the beach - best value for money. And great, fresh food.

What to do: Do some web surfing before you go. There are a lot of fun stuff to do, and great places to see. I reccomend travelling around the island by longtail. There are loads of small beaches around the island - easy to find a private spot.

This is a mecca for divers. Both Koh Tao and the reserve on the nabouring island are wonderful places to og snorkeling or driving.

If you don't like driving - there are other stuff to do - like: water skiing, wake boarding, kayaking, banana boat rides, sailing lesjons, trekking, mountain biking or free climbing. There is island style bowling, petanque and mini golf.

Remember where you are:
I see that some people here are complaining about the open bathrooms, the lack of hot water, insects and the lack of pivacy. Well, read the web page, and it's all there.

Yes, there is an outdoor bathroom. And if you are afraid of spiders and gekkos, this is not the place to be. But the "huge spiders" are not dangerous, and they hardly move. The gekkos eat mosquitos, and are our friends. And who needs a very hot hot hot shower on Koh Tao?! You must be mad to want one, with the lovely sea being seconds away from you. And it is so warm, that a nice coldish shower every now and then is more then welcome.

"The AC swiches of when you leave the room." You will find this at most mid-range hotels in Thailand, and on almost every hotel on the islands. This is a remote island - not New York. The electrisity is very expensive, and hard on the enviroment. It was only just a few years ago made alowed to keep it on 24hrs.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pia75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
1.7 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Cabana

Property: Koh Tao Cabana
Address: 16 Moo 1, Baan Haad Sai Ree | Koh Tao, Koh Phaghan, Koh Tao 48360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 138 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Koh Tao Cabana 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Cabana is an intimate resort located on Thailand's most secluded island, It offer a brand new alternative for adventurous travelers seeking unprecedented comfort with traditional Thai charm and hospitality. Indulge your senses in one of the most exclusive locations on Sai Ree Beach, You can get back to nature in the peace and serenity of your own private villa, set amid beautifully tropical gardens where you'll feel like your second home! Life takes on a slower pace here with the promise of an untold adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Tao Cabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Cabana Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing