We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Koh Tao Cabana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Koh Tao Cabana
Ranked #11 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Barcelona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We booked 4 nights here in January but stayed 5.Had we known what it would be like we would have stayed longer!We stayed in Room 16 which was fab, overlooking the beach/sea.We were collected from the pier by the 2 staff who were really nice and helpful, assisting us with our luggage to our room.Checkin was very easy, Gym, was really nice, especially since I had been mailing her about booking room 16-18 in the weeks before. The room was really nice, from the website pics i was abit worried as they don't do it justice. The outdoor bathroom was nice but dont leave it too late to have a shower as the hot water might be gone-after 8.30pm! The first night was nice, had something to eat in the resturant which was ok! I had the breakfast the following morning which was big! Really nice though and the waitresses were lovely. Again beautifully situtated resturant with views of the whole beach.We did have lunch here also but they got muddled with the order! There are loads of nice place to eat all around Sairee beach that we were spoilt for choice!
Sunbathing area was really nice in front of the beach.There was no pool but to be honest there was no need for one with water so clear right in front of the hotel.The spa is really beautiful also.
On leaving the hotel, again the guys were super helpful with our luggage, carrying both the bags(20kg each) to reception, where the checkout was easy and they had a taxi waiting to take us to the pier again, again carrying our luggage to the ticket office. The guys in reception booked our ferry ticket and told us that if we pay 50thb each extra they (seatran)will have a taxi in samui for us. This was brilliant, i thought it was a scam, but no, there was a taxi there and we didnt have to pay any extra!
I really recommed Koh Tao Cabana to everyone.We will stay here when we return to Koh Tao!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaterfordSamesame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    212
    97
    52
    37
See reviews for
102
419
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chelsea London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

We arrived in Koh Tao and were booked somewhere else, we were delighted to come across this hotel by accident. Myself and my three friends were looked after very well. The rooms are private thatched cabannas with outside bathroom, some of which have private pools . All of the cabanna's are set into the hillside over looking a stunning bay with beautiful sunsets and sunrises. This bustling bay in some parts is lined with dive centres, restaurants and bars. This hotel is tucked away at the quietest end. I would fully recommend this to anyone. the spa massage was one of the best massages ever and we enjoyed every minute of our stay there. The sunny and shady private beachfront bathing area with its huge day beds is wonderful. The snorkelling round the nearby huge rocks hugging the coast is lovely. I accidentally left my watch and had already left for Bankgok, one of the many delightful staff Gim came especially to bangkok to deliver it to me and i was overwhelmed - Thank you Gim. On a personal note which looking back makes me smile - If you are offered a small drink from one of the local bars - please avoid unless you too wish to feel like Bridgette Jones on her trip to Thailand.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlottedarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2010

This resort had the promise of being a little luxury on the backpack/diving haven of Koh Tao... I can only give it a mixed review - it was the most luxurious of the places I saw... but had lots of pros and cons:

PROs:
Great private beach, with sun loungers and attentive staff
Private, spacious bungalows
Friendly reception staff
Good location on Sairee beach
Picturesque bar/restaurant (although I didn't eat there)
Free wifi + free 15 min spa treatment

Cons:
Outside bathroom - mosquitos / geckos / spiders everywhere
Cold shower
Our room faced into the bay... which acts as a sound basin for the many beach bars... was kept awake for two nights until 6am when the Lotus Bar closed.... LOUD LOUD LOUD... (this was the reason we eventually moved to a diff resort - but had we had a room sheltered away from the bay, maybe it would have been quieter)

OVerall, we had to leave, as we had no sleep... and I am terrified of creepy crawlies, so the outdoor bathroom was not a success. However my partner loved it... so if you're looking for something a bit more rustic... then def give this place a go. But if you are looking for something peaceful and comfortable... maybe try something else - we found a perfectly acceptable bungalow at Bow Thong for a much more reasonable price

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GinaMac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here 10 nights and loved it. Best resort on Ko Tao! If you are going to Thailand don’t miss out on staying in Ko Tao. It’s a hidden treasure and in a few years it will be so overdeveloped. Come now! The sunsets, casual restaurants on the beach, perfectly clear water, fish swimming everywhere! Some bungalows at the resort have 180 degree views of the ocean.

Pros:
Outdoor rainshower looking up to the sky!
Most amazing views from your bungalow looking out to the ocean! Wow!
Walked from our bungalow to an amazing snorkel/dive spot
At the end of the beach, away from all the resorts and restaurants
Willing to negotiate the room price.
Free shuttle service to/from ferry.
Hammock on the deck.
Washed our clothes, smelled great!
Free water each day.
Comfortable lounge chairs overlooking ocean. (pool attendant doesn’t lay out your towels for you, does he have anything better to do?)
Provided sarongs in room to wear during stay.
Rooms are adorably decorated, very rustic bungalows but perfect for staying on an island in the middle of ???.
Swim in Shark Bay. Best experience ever. We swam with 4 sharks in less then 30 minutes.

Cons:
1. Unfortunately, we checked out early due to the bar down the beach that plays music until 2:am every night. You can hear the music pounding in your bungalow. Everyone on the beach suffers from 1 bar that plays loud BOOM BOOM music.
My boyfriend got REALLY bad food poisoning from there restaurant (don’t eat the cashew chicken). He was sick for 2 days!
When we went to check out they wouldn’t take responsibility for there restaurant giving him food poisoning and would not comp the meal.
Breakfast was not good and staff has a terrible attitude.
Not the best beach side drinking service.
They don’t have a pool yet, construction is going on now to build one.
We didn’t understand why the hotels in Thailand push two twins together to make it a king size bed. Beds are firm, but still comfortable.
Water wasn’t super hot coming out of shower but manageable.
No internet access from room 23 and on.
Night guard was standing in front of bungalow at night watching my boyfriend and I having sex.
No gym.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fogcitytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2009

This was our second trip to Koh Tao, so we chose this location based on location only. We wanted to be on Sairee Beach as most of the great restaurants are located here. It is very convenient to walk from the hotel to the Sairee Village.

The rooms are ok, but I believe a bit dated. They could use with some refurbishing i.e. new towels, furnishing, bedding, etc. They are however spacious and are perfect for a family with 2 kids as there is a raised area for the kids to sleep on mattress on the floor.

The beach area was nice and the lounge chairs/beds were great as they had nice cushions and pillows to prop you up. There isn't enough staff working the area though and this was quite a busy time for them. They also didn't have restaurant staff checking on people to see if they wanted food or drink. You had to walk to the restaurant to order. They would make a ton more money if they actually come to the guests.

The website states that they have free wi-fi, but it is extremely interminent and they tell you this on arrival.

The other thing that concerned me is that Koh Tao is quite an eco-friendly island, but this hotel was not. The change the bedding and towels daily not matter if you ask them not to do this.

The restaurant had a great view of the sea. The breakfast was not good and we ended up walking to town on most days for a decent breakfast. We did have lunch there on two different occassions and they did have decent food for lunch time.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berlydallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bretagne
Level Contributor
73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2009

Very good hotel at the end of Sairee Beach.
Restaurant is splendid (specially at night).
We rented a beach front bungalow just near the beach with great bedroom and insde/outside bathroom.
Breakfast is good,service kindly and beach towel and sunbed provided.
A lot of restaurant on beach and town is not too far (10mn by foot) but enough to avoid noise

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillou29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff,UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

We stayed in the honeymoon suite, no.17, we had our own pool on the decking with stunning views, peace and quiet and lots of romance. Koh Tao is amazing in general, the scuba is fantastic and food amazing. I can see this place has many mixed reviews, we had no problem at all with bugs, but if people do - what do they expect if they choose somewhere with an alfresco shower in Thailand?!! The service was nice, not the best we had in Thailand but the pool, sunset views, sea etc more than make up for it!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HannahandRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,217 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,438 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
224 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Cabana

Property: Koh Tao Cabana
Address: 16 Moo 1, Baan Haad Sai Ree | Koh Tao, Koh Phaghan, Koh Tao 48360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Koh Tao Cabana 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Cabana is an intimate resort located on Thailand's most secluded island, It offer a brand new alternative for adventurous travelers seeking unprecedented comfort with traditional Thai charm and hospitality. Indulge your senses in one of the most exclusive locations on Sai Ree Beach, You can get back to nature in the peace and serenity of your own private villa, set amid beautifully tropical gardens where you'll feel like your second home! Life takes on a slower pace here with the promise of an untold adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Koh Tao Cabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Cabana Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing