We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning surroundings, beautiful food & friendly staff = memorable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Stunning surroundings, beautiful food & friendly staff = memorable stay”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I had booked to stay here for 2 nights to celebrate my birthday somewhere special whilst on Koh Tao- we enjoyed our stay so much that we booked a further 2 nights! We were picked up by the hotel van from our hotel in Sairee and taken up the very steep road to the resort. Here we were greeted and shown to our room. We had a room with floor to ceiling windows overlooking Shark Bay with a big balcony, the views were amazing. The water was so clear and shallow below that we often saw sharks from our balcony! The rooms aren’t going to win any design awards and I think they’re going for a western feel with carpets etc. but they were certainly comfortable, spacious and very clean with Thai touches.

The pool is fabulous with views out over the sea and Shark Bay which is a beautiful and unspoilt white sand beach. Comfortable loungers and pool bar serving tasty snacks and fresh fruit cocktails, absoulute bliss.

You can also snorkel or sunbathe down on the rocks by the sea which is fun. You can borrow snorkel gear from the guy down there and he will also take you across to the beach at Shark Bay and pick you up whenever you want- your own private taxi boat! We would also pick up cheap water from the beach shack as the water in the hotel mini bar was a complete rip-off and you get through some bottles of water in Thailand in April!

My partner and I both had massages in the spa on my birthday which were lovely, the spa was quite expensive but you get what you pay for which is a bit of luxury. Definitly worth trying out.

The hotel has a 'business centre' which is a quiet and cool retreat next to the restaurant where you can go and borrow DVD's and use the computer, this came in handy when we had to book our return flights back to Bangkok.

Breakfast was served in the restaurant where you can sit next to the big open windows and look out over the bay. Breakfast was very good and included most things you can think of and everything was covered up from the annoying flies. I have to say food was one of the highlights of our stay here, the friendly French chef always came out to talk to guests after their meal to gain feedback. We ate the best Pad Thai of our trip as well as some beautifully cooked sea bass in banana leaves. The waiting staff in the restaurant were also very sweet.

All in all, we spent a very memorable few days here for my birthday and would definitely recommend staying here for at least a couple of nights as the room prices are reasonable for what you get- however bear in mind that mini-bar prices and drinks are very expensive. If you want to get away from it all and chill in beautiful surroundings, this hotel is perfect. As the hotel is quite isolated with no bars/nightlife in walking distance, we also stayed in Sairee for a few nights whilst on Koh Tao which suited us perfectly, if like us, you also like to be in the middle of the action.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lotty24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    201
    64
    26
    26
See reviews for
137
531
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Nice staff, wonderful amenities and facilities, great rooms (all rooms have a sea view although no beach bungalows), and wonderful surroundings.

Be warned that the resort is located on a hill that is unpaved and incredibly rocky. It makes it inconvenient when you want to go into town, but there plenty of places that rent out ATVs and scooters and pretty much all of the taxis there are trucks (400 baht to go to the pier and 500 baht to go to Sairee Village). The resort, however, makes it easy to just stay there instead. The prices are higher, but the attention to detail is worth it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IreW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

we stayed already twice at the jamahkiri and its still a great place to stay on koh tao. it s for me the only luxury hotel on the island. it s of course more expensive (also the restaurant) but compared to koh samui and other islands still a great price / value ratio.
the rooms are comfortable and have all a wonderful sea view.
i would not recommend it for a stay with children or if you are not in a good shape as there are many steps to climb
the restaurant has a nice selection of also different dishes than what i am used to on koh tao, e.g ostrich filet.
only disadvantage is the road to get to the hotel. unfortunately it is a dirt road with many rocks and holes, but it is manageable if you are an experienced scooter / motorbike driver. if you are not experienced DONT DRIVE THERE BY YOURSELF, it s too easy to fall
there s a shuttle from the hotel, but it runs only until 18.30 so if you wanna go out for dinner to sairee or mae haad (which is recommendable) the taxi costs 10 eur one way (400 THB)
i recommend not to stay longer than 4-5 nights and then change to another hotel on the island

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vero_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel twice a few years ago and have never stopped thinking about it! I will go back again one day! The hotel and staff are brilliant, the place is clean and the views are stunning, would highly recommend this to anyone! Koh Tao is a beautiful place to be, I would recommend hiring a quad or a motorbike if you can, the rest of the island is worth exploring, especially the Italian restaurant in town!

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs get a room by the pool, if you don't mind stairs get a room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barnicle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

I stayed at Jamakhiri for 4 days with my family. We had a fantastic time. People have gone over the fantastic views and the location, so I'm not going to spend much more time talking about that. It's beautiful, plain and simple. The main thing I will say is that the service is off the charts. William, the manager, does a great job getting to know his guests and taking care of them. He's always available to help out, and made us all feel as comfortable as can be. He wasn't alone though. The entire staff was so genuinely friendly and happy to help that it creates a great atmosphere to relax in. They always had a smile on their face and were happy to do anything that you could ask for.

The food was great and the fruit drinks/cocktails were always fresh. The pool and spa were great (get a Thai massage!), and we were able to go snorkeling in the ocean right by the hotel.

Yes, the 15 drive to the hotel is a bit bumpy, and yes, there are a lot of stairs to get around the hotel...but honestly, these are very trivial matters that come up when someone is trying to find a problem with something that doesn't have a problem. If you're looking for a place to have a gigantic party every night, this isn't the place for you...but if you're looking to truly relax, this is perfect.

Loved my stay there. Highly recommended. William and the rest of the staff are incredible. Make the Jamakhiri a spot on your next trip to Thailand!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Stayed in a family pavilion suite for 2 nights in December.
-Chose this expensive resort because I read that we can see reef sharks at the bay, however we saw none during our stay, so was a little disappointed.
-Plenty of steps to climb, my muscles were cramped after 2 days stay.
-Room lighting was too dim to do reading at night
- No much choice for eating elsewhere nearby - the Eagle's view restaurant next door was a disppointment. The first night, we tried to order fish, they said they had no fish. So we settle with some chicken fried rice and prawn tempura. On the 2nd night, they ran out of fish, prawn, squid, only left with chicken. We had no choice but to order our food from the hotel's restuarant which costs 3 times more.
Now for the positive points.
1) The landscaping was breathtaking, with plenty of huge boulders next o the water edge. Premises were very well maintained.
2) Staff helped to carry our heavy luggage up and down the steps.
3) Wiilam, the hotel manager help to arrange a free taxi ride out to Mae Haad Pier outside the normal shuttle hours.

Overall, the stay is pleasant but expensive.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sollentuna
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

The road to get there is bumpy but worth the ride. Hotel is on a hill side and looks almost unbelievable as it is built into the big rocks. Service is the best possible with hotel manager William in the lead. Pool is very nice, snorkeling with sharks right on the small beach, restaurant is very good and more upmarket than normal hotels. There is a free boat service to a nice beach. We loved it and so did our kids!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flindmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,462 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,223 reviews
3.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
226 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
229 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamahkiri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamahkiri Resort & Spa

Property: Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Address: 21/2 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#1 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jamahkiri Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, is a comfortable and sumptuous living resort located in Thian Og Bay on the south side of Koh Tao, a serenity area of the island, easily reachable by a panoramic 10 minutes drive from the harbour, offering a spectacular view over the gulf of Thailand. Once settled in, you will quickly discover that there are very little reasons to leave the resort, lush tropical garden, cooling pools, the Jamahkiri Spa, a fitness room, the marina and our private PADI diving club, recreational facilities, and fine cuisine, compliment the beauty of the resort's magnificent surroundings. Our place is the perfect combination for peace, serenity and nature lovers; add to that comfort, natural surrounding, and pristine services and its no wonder that since welcoming his first guest in 2002, Jamahkiri has established its distinctive reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Jamahkiri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamahkiri Hotel Koh Tao
Jamahkiri Spa And Resort
Jamahkiri Boutique Hotel
Jamahkiri Boutique Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing