We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$179
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$68
US$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$39
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$114
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montalay Beach Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$38
US$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
In Touch Resort & Restaurant(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$27
US$26
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aminjirah Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$69
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (991)
Filter reviews
991 results
Traveller rating
626
230
78
30
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
626
230
78
30
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshark baydeluxe pavilionfrench chefeagle viewdiving clubnearby beachfree shuttlethai massageprivate beachpool barsmall price to paybumpy ridealoe veraloved this hotelmae haadour honeymoondive boat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
480 - 485 of 991 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Sadly we have never stayed in Jamahkiri (yet!), but we have visited the resort on two trips to Kao Tao. On both occasions, we made the off road trip on motorbike to the remote resort, which is beautifully perched on the top of a hill, over looking the sea. The pool is divine, the food is excellent (a mix of European and Thai) including a great wine selection and the service is fantastic. In total, we spend about four days lazing by the pool at Jamhkiri. It is a magical resort and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cconn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamahkiri, Manager at Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with the team.
And thank you so much for staying with us.
I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We spent a lovely couple of days here as part of our honeymoon, the place was generally quite quiet allowing us to completely relax. It is very hard to get to, the roads are extremely bumpy! Due to the quietness, it does perhaps lacks a bit of character and atmosphere. Although the staff are lovely they were not as attentive as could have been, especially during breakfast service - something you expect from the amount of money you pay. The setting is great though and worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia10985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I had booked to stay here for 2 nights to celebrate my birthday somewhere special whilst on Koh Tao- we enjoyed our stay so much that we booked a further 2 nights! We were picked up by the hotel van from our hotel in Sairee and taken up the very steep road to the resort. Here we were greeted and shown to our room. We had a room with floor to ceiling windows overlooking Shark Bay with a big balcony, the views were amazing. The water was so clear and shallow below that we often saw sharks from our balcony! The rooms aren’t going to win any design awards and I think they’re going for a western feel with carpets etc. but they were certainly comfortable, spacious and very clean with Thai touches.

The pool is fabulous with views out over the sea and Shark Bay which is a beautiful and unspoilt white sand beach. Comfortable loungers and pool bar serving tasty snacks and fresh fruit cocktails, absoulute bliss.

You can also snorkel or sunbathe down on the rocks by the sea which is fun. You can borrow snorkel gear from the guy down there and he will also take you across to the beach at Shark Bay and pick you up whenever you want- your own private taxi boat! We would also pick up cheap water from the beach shack as the water in the hotel mini bar was a complete rip-off and you get through some bottles of water in Thailand in April!

My partner and I both had massages in the spa on my birthday which were lovely, the spa was quite expensive but you get what you pay for which is a bit of luxury. Definitly worth trying out.

The hotel has a 'business centre' which is a quiet and cool retreat next to the restaurant where you can go and borrow DVD's and use the computer, this came in handy when we had to book our return flights back to Bangkok.

Breakfast was served in the restaurant where you can sit next to the big open windows and look out over the bay. Breakfast was very good and included most things you can think of and everything was covered up from the annoying flies. I have to say food was one of the highlights of our stay here, the friendly French chef always came out to talk to guests after their meal to gain feedback. We ate the best Pad Thai of our trip as well as some beautifully cooked sea bass in banana leaves. The waiting staff in the restaurant were also very sweet.

All in all, we spent a very memorable few days here for my birthday and would definitely recommend staying here for at least a couple of nights as the room prices are reasonable for what you get- however bear in mind that mini-bar prices and drinks are very expensive. If you want to get away from it all and chill in beautiful surroundings, this hotel is perfect. As the hotel is quite isolated with no bars/nightlife in walking distance, we also stayed in Sairee for a few nights whilst on Koh Tao which suited us perfectly, if like us, you also like to be in the middle of the action.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lotty24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Nice staff, wonderful amenities and facilities, great rooms (all rooms have a sea view although no beach bungalows), and wonderful surroundings.

Be warned that the resort is located on a hill that is unpaved and incredibly rocky. It makes it inconvenient when you want to go into town, but there plenty of places that rent out ATVs and scooters and pretty much all of the taxis there are trucks (400 baht to go to the pier and 500 baht to go to Sairee Village). The resort, however, makes it easy to just stay there instead. The prices are higher, but the attention to detail is worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IreW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

we stayed already twice at the jamahkiri and its still a great place to stay on koh tao. it s for me the only luxury hotel on the island. it s of course more expensive (also the restaurant) but compared to koh samui and other islands still a great price / value ratio.
the rooms are comfortable and have all a wonderful sea view.
i would not recommend it for a stay with children or if you are not in a good shape as there are many steps to climb
the restaurant has a nice selection of also different dishes than what i am used to on koh tao, e.g ostrich filet.
only disadvantage is the road to get to the hotel. unfortunately it is a dirt road with many rocks and holes, but it is manageable if you are an experienced scooter / motorbike driver. if you are not experienced DONT DRIVE THERE BY YOURSELF, it s too easy to fall
there s a shuttle from the hotel, but it runs only until 18.30 so if you wanna go out for dinner to sairee or mae haad (which is recommendable) the taxi costs 10 eur one way (400 THB)
i recommend not to stay longer than 4-5 nights and then change to another hotel on the island

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vero_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews