We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I believe it was a waste of time & money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This place was a waste of time & money on my honeymoon, first, the road was torn down so we had to ride a roller coaster called a pickup car which gave me the worse motion sickness ever, & due to this construction problem we were stuck in the hotel for the whole time we were there.. Second, the hotel is constructed on a mountain with a very steep stairway & the extreme humidly & the nearly zero oxygen level made it very hard to get out side the A/C in the bedroom.. Third, the beach is very not clear or clean, & diving is very worthless if u ever went to a real diving or snorkeling spot, so don't recommend  planning any beach activities while ur staying there.. Four, you need to change money before you go there bec they will definitely try to rip you off, they gave us $3 less rate than everywhere else in Thailand & they said "this is the hotel policy, because we are located in the middle of no where, sorry".. BTW: no hospital on this island.
The spa isn't recommended at all, didn't like the service & the atmosphere, and there was lizards all over the spa..
 On the other side, the hospitality from everyone at the hotel was great, Mr. William is so much fun to be around, he always made us smile.. And the most amazing thing about this place was dinner, the mixed appetizer, the duck spring rolls, chicken satay, & all the main courses we ordered were perfectly cooked. If your not age 50 & up & u'll stay inside ur bedroom don't go :)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank DKin60years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamahkiri, Manager at Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear distinguished guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay, indeed we had some memorable moments together.
My apologies for the situation you seemed to have had during your stay that I did not realize. This is not what I expect our guests to have experienced, or the norm as you can read in other reviews.
I am bringing some answers on your four points.
The road is actually under construction, and will be finished in June 2012, this is the reason why we have to use a different access as you know. We provide 5 free shuttles to and from the main town every day.

Jamahkiri Resort is built on a steep hill, this is also why all our accommodations have such a great sea view, April and May are the warmest moths in the Gulf of Thailand (Promised, I did not touch the oxygen). And I do not recommend our place for guests with reduced mobility as mentioned on our website.

What I can say about our small beach is that is raked every morning, at the same time the towels are disposed on the sunbathing chairs.
Snorkeling and kayaking in the bay is so appreciated from our young and older guests, where the attraction is to swim with the black tip shark and so many other fish.
To see some corals, you have to go around the corner by kayak, or make a snorkel tour around the island with our Thai wooden junk to discover all the other bays and beautiful snorkel spots from Koh Tao. Global warming made that the temperature of the South China Sea went up in the 5 past years, killing the corals where depth is limited.
At the diving club we provide a free boat shuttle to the white sandy beach from Thian Og bay only 30 seconds away, very nice place to chill out while drinking a cocktail.

At the reception we arrange for our guests exchange services at the rate of the day from Siam Commercial bank (For you that day 30,58 less 2 Thai Baht 28,58) This was a communication problem, I verified what you concerned and the exchange was made correctly.

Say goodbye to tension and stress in our SPA.
The two open treatment rooms used for the facial massage and body wrap are inside a tropical garden, with the sounds of the flowing water, the birds and cicadas, it will bring you to a relaxed feeling, but affirmative, small gecko’s can come inside, they are completely harmless, they make part of a tropical island.
For a traditional Thai or oil massage we have an air conditioned treatment room.

I am glad that you enjoyed our food at the restaurant, thank you very much for the positive feedback about the kitchen, staff and me.
I hope that we can see you again for lunch or dinner if one day you come back to Koh Tao.
My apologies again for your situation, complete client satisfaction is my goal, by being always available and close to my guests.
You can always contact me at prmanager@jamahkiri.com

Most sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (937)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

444 - 450 of 937 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed here for three nights and it was one of the highlights of our trip. The location is unreal. We were collected at the pier and were expecting a bumpy ride to the hotel. It is a small dirt track but it's not that bad. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The pool and the surrounding area is great. Our room was overlooking the sea as are all the rooms. Its a real relaxing place and not the place to go if your looking for wild nights out or if you don't like climbing steps! We rented kayaks and snorkelling gear from the hotel. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent and we were really sad to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank padser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Although everyone seems to be very nice when you get there, things change after a bit.
As everyone highlights, the access to the hotel is awful!!! Even taxi drivers try to avoid the road to the hotel....

Be careful if you lose your snorkel (after paying 100 bath for the rental)! The director of the hotel (William) will call you from wherever he is to inform you that you have to pay for it an unrrealistic price).

We spent there 4 days, and 1 out of the 4 they did not make up our room!!! The Wifi did not work for one whole day!

However, the view from the hotel is amazing!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Geraldine110384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamahkiri, Manager at Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear Guest,

I am very disappointed that you were unhappy with your overall experience at our Resort.
I am bringing some answers.
The road is actually under construction, and will be finished in June 2012; this is the reason why we have to use a different access. We provide also 5 free shuttles to and from the main town every day.

Complete client satisfaction is my target by being always available and close to my guests. This is what I explain to all the customers, in case of any situation and or questions ask for William.
So you called me from our diving club to inform me that you had lost your tuba, but did not want to pay 100 Baht (3 $) for it, and with my accord you did not.
I am of course very sorry to read that the issue with the tuba has kind of spoiled the whole feeling about your stay, but together, we know that it was a Gordian knot because promptly solved.

Concerning your room, I take this matter very seriously and I will have a look into the details with house keeping report and team.

The WIFI is provided from the telephone company, the performance is not guaranteed on Koh Tao, and therefore free of charge at the resort. After thunder showers it happens that the service turns off for a while on the island.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and to stipulate the positive point about the amazing view.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at the Jamahkiri Spa & Resort Koh Tao during our honeymoon in March 2012. It was an experience to behold and will stay with us forever. I was extremely sad when we had to leave and will find any excuse to go back there soon. The staff and service were outstanding and they catered to our every whim with a huge smile. The restaurant served the most sumptious meals and the spa treatments were the best I have had in Thailand. Our villa was magnificent with wrap around sea views from our balcony (and even the bed). The bathroom boasted a huge jacuzzi also with a sea view. The villas are built into the rocks and the decor pieces are stunning. The Jamahkiri has its own boat that takes you around the island with superb dive and snorkelling spots. I have never had such amazing Tom Yum Goong or mango with sticky rice. I cannot recommend this place enough and really in all aspects it is heaven on earth. A honeymoon destination like no other.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend the villas but the hotel rooms are also spacious and luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed at Jamahkiri for 2 nights in the middle of our honeymoon. They made us feel special from the start! Upon arrival, we recieved complimentary cocktails and our bed was covered in flowers as a surpirse. The view from our room was breathtaking. The service was stellar - William, the GM, is very helpful. I highly recommened the snorkeling trip the hotel offers. The road getting to the hotel is a little rough but their complimentary shuttle service makes up for it. Well worth the bumpy trip!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed at the Jamahkiri for one week of our honeymoon, and were blown away. Firstly, even the regular rooms all look out on the most beautiful view of Thian Og Bay and have a balcony. The service was outstanding, this resort has the most friendly and helpful staff I have ever come across and the manager, William was always on hand to help and was great to chat to.

The restaurant food was always incredible, I don't think we had one bad or even average meal while we were there. That being said it is a bit expensive, but u get what you pay for.

We really loved the pool area and spent quite a lot of time, sipping cocktails and lying in the sun overlooking the bay. When you've had enough of the pool you can take a stroll down to their private beach or even catch a little boat across to the nearby bigger beach at Haad Tien (there is a really nice little restaurant on that beach as well). Ko Tao has some of the best snorkelling in the whole of Thailand and we highly recommend taking the snorkel trip around the island on offer from Jamahkiri. They take you to all the best spots, it was amazing! Thian Og Bay is also known as Shark Bay because it is a breeding ground for black tip reef sharks, but they are very tame and skittish and have never harmed anyone. We snorkeled out to the middle of the bay to see them on our last day, and it was quite an experience!

We had such a great time we plan on going back in the near future. This hotel has to be the best available on Ko Tao. It is a luxury hotel so is a bit more expensive but it is really worth it, a stunning place! (especially for a honeymoon)

Room Tip: All the rooms are good from what I could tell :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonoguN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I was referred to a friend who was there about 6 months before my visit. He told me to just visit Koh Tao and stay in Jamahkiri. That was an experience.
My partner and I stayed for 4 nights. We nearly wanted to extend our stay alas work beckons.
Everything about the resort is just perfect. It's not commercialized like the rest of the resorts that I've visited. Everyone working there is nice. You can really tell that they are serving you from the heart.
We will definitely visit Jamahkiri again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sitiarbaiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,576 reviews
3.1 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
355 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#3 of 50 in Koh Tao
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,302 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#12 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,301 reviews
1.5 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 50 in Koh Tao
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamahkiri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamahkiri Resort & Spa

Address: 21/2 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £91 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jamahkiri Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, is a comfortable and sumptuous living resort located in Thian Og Bay on the south side of Koh Tao, a serenity area of the island, easily reachable by a panoramic 10 minutes drive from the harbour, offering a spectacular view over the gulf of Thailand. Once settled in, you will quickly discover that there are very little reasons to leave the resort, lush tropical garden, cooling pools, the Jamahkiri Spa, a fitness room, the marina and our private PADI diving club, recreational facilities, and fine cuisine, compliment the beauty of the resort's magnificent surroundings. Our place is the perfect combination for peace, serenity and nature lovers; add to that comfort, natural surrounding, and pristine services and its no wonder that since welcoming his first guest in 2002, Jamahkiri has established its distinctive reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Jamahkiri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamahkiri Hotel Koh Tao
Jamahkiri Spa And Resort
Jamahkiri Boutique Hotel
Jamahkiri Boutique Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing