We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beatiful place with both luxury as great nature and views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beatiful place with both luxury as great nature and views”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Beatiful place with both luxury as great nature and views. True paradise has all you expect and want for authentic but luxury place. Do rent a motorcycle or quad to get to the town/beaches since it is secluded.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    202
    64
    26
    26
See reviews for
138
531
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Fantastic. What a great hotel. Especially the individual rooms 'deluxe pavillions' are super. The ideal hotel in an idyllic spot. For five days we felt ourselves in every way spoiled. Nice and very service oriented Flemish hotel manager, very good staff / bartenders at the pool bar, which made ​​great cocktails. And - often overlooked - very cordial and good maids. Free bootschuttle brings you any time of the day in one minute to lovely sandy beach. But hotel itself is very nice private beach and a gorgeous swimming pool with great views. This hotel was a bit more expensive than the average hotel in Thailand, but we were very happy to have this experience over and never want to miss. Own large, private balcony and a huge jacuzzy, all blissfully private. For your privacy, you had quite a climb down to the sea with a lot of steps, because these beautiful rooms are all at sea. But that way we did at least get something to move, so no problem. This hotel - tasteful, luxurious and unique - is really a must!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilde-Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamahkiri, Manager at Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Valuable guest,

Thank you for your feedback, I am glad to read that your stay was such an unforgettable one, I hope that we will see each other again in the future.

We will continue to improve our services, and the target is to satisfy all our guests.

Greetings from Koh Tao.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

At Koh Tao, you will find A LOT of dive shops which equals A LOT of divers. Popular for getting certified you will find huge dive shops like Ban's, Asia Divers, etc. But lots of divers doesn't equal a great dive experience. Jamahkiri is almost a practical personalized service with one small, quick boat. Ask for Derek, who is the dive master there to schedule a special site you want to go see for your trip at Koh Tao.

When you dive in a large group there will be a mix of experience in diving (limit your time under underwater due to air, panic, as the weakest diver basically controls the dive speed and ascent) and usually a lot of noise which you will learn if you aren't certified yet travels really well in water. So if you dive in a huge group then all the pretty aquatic life you wanted to see will avoid that group because of the noise and disturbance made by the group.

Diving is about peaceful mind and seeing new things and with Jamahkiri Diving then you can do that. My wife (Advanced) and I (Rescue) booked one day dive trip here since we really were seeing more divers than pretty fish. We booked on the moment and got picked up by the Jamahkiri Van and found out that there was a couple of divers getting certifications and going to dive points we have already been to. While properly we shouldn't have been able to cancel, Derek, let us reschedule to the next day since no one has booked the boat and we let him know we wanted to go to the popular "best dive site" @ Koh Tao Chumpon Pinnacle in the afternoon.

He immediately understood why we booked a dive with Jamahkiri Resort since all the certifications are happening a "fun" dive would be in safer shallow water with all the big dive shops and Chumpon Pinnacle is one of the deeper sites. He booked us for the next day at no extra charge.

A bit better planned we asked for a pick up from where we were staying at the time Ban's diving resort in the morning. The normal shuttle time was for 10:30 for a 12:30 dive, but we asked for a special pick up earlier so we can scuba the infamous "Shark's bay." The shop agreed with a quick phone call. So we spent a fabulous morning at the Jamahkiri pool, plus free scuba fins due to the dive scheduled later that day and an entrance point to the private beach "Shark's bay" Got to see three sharks and a few rare fish at the bay, truth be told that was probably the best underwater life we have seen up to that point.

I left my scuba gear at home (Apeks XTX 50) since they had the Apeks XTX200 which I have been dying to try. Only time you can try gear out is by borrowing or going to a dive shop that uses the gear you looking to buy. And for that reason alone the extra price was worth trying since all the divers get to use Apeks XTX200. Which now that I have tried with two different mouth pieces the soft smaller version and the long bite version because I literally ripped the small soft reg on the first dive. But no complaints and a new reg with a different mouth piece for the next dive.

And here is what makes the dive that much more better. We went to a second dive site "Green Rock" and found that there were a lot of boats there, Derek walked to the captain and we changed our descent point immediately, without even looking asking us. So we were away from the splashing of others.

Just to top off the experience, when we left Koh Tao, we realized we left our snorkels in the dive bags on the ferry leaving Koh Tao. Derek shipped them to Bangkok for us to pick up at the ferry office there. If that isn't worth the extra money for the service, then I am not sure what really there is.

My only complaint could be with the layout of the Jamahkiri Resort, there are a lot of stairs to get to one place or another so if we were sleeping their I doubt we would have the energy to go see the rest of the island. More a family resort with awesome views as I wouldn't want to have a couple of drinks at say Sairee Beach and scooter up that hill.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kidkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The resort is really amazing! Built on the coast of the beautiful island koh tao! the first time i was there was last year (2012) in mai. I felt straight away in love with this resort and the whole island! for me it's clear i go back there every year till the end of my life! very nice staff, perfect food (nice breakfast buffet) and very nice lunch card (poolside) and a excellent dinner card and great wines to drink with! the whole resort is like a paradise - great poolside, perfect seaview, very nice rooms etc!
Holiday pure!! JAMAHKIRI Love!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorenz232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nico v, Manager at Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you Dear Valuable guest to share your opinion about your stay.
Your feedback is appreciated and will be analysed for future improvements and to satisfy all our guests that they would expect from a 4* Resort, and to make your stay unforgettable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I was here for the fourth time and everything time it is wonderful. Nice staff and servants.Magnificent rooms with à splendid seaview and very clean.In the pool you dan try the snorkling and diving and afterwards you go downstairs to the sea on the terrein of the hotel and go snorkling.The hotel has all the equipement for snorkling.The food is also very good,European and Thai.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jneefjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our second time this July (2013) for 4 nights. There were 6 of us staying so 3 rooms which is good for the hotel! We stayed here again because our first experience 2 years ago was pleasant and enjoyable.
For those who have not been to Koh Tao it is one if the most basic but beautiful islands, accommodation is cheap however the Jama is one of the most expensive and claims to be the best! however accommodation is basic on Tao, so for the luxury travellers it is not great! We would call ourselves luxury travellers hence we stayed here, however let me tell you why this hotel is far from luxury!

Having travelled around all areas of thailand for several years i have stayed in a fair few thai hotels, however i felt this hotel was charging too much for what it actually offers. There were a few things very wrong.

Being a returning guest in Thailand can have major perks, hotels 'welcome you home' and give you room upgrades and extras plus big room discounts. They remember your names and thank you for returning to their hotels, they are happy you like their hotel. However this did not happen when we arrived at the Jama. They checked us in with no welcome back and a poor room rate for a returning guests. The manager never came over to say hello once during our stay (he had done on our previous first stay which was a nice touch) it's the personal touches that make your trip. You would think they have some kind of record that you have stayed before? 3 out of the 4 hotels we stayed in this holiday upgraded us because we were returning guests and have us so many perks, makes you want to go again. But Not at the Jama!

The staff do not speak the best English so there were a few misunderstandings. The lunch service around the pool was poor, it was so slow, the staff were stand-offish and uninterested. Food did not come as it said on the menu, salads had no dressing? And sandwiches came without chips as said. We never are dinner there as our previous stay 2 years ago we ate there and thought it was average food with a big price tag!

Shark bay is supposed to be a good snorkelling spot where the hotel is. It is okay however the coral is pretty dead now. But what was wrong is that the hotel charged for hire of fins and snorkels? It's enough money a night to let their guests borrow gear for free! Plus the staff down there were rude and sloppy.It seems they charge for everything such as lost room keys!

The rooms in the hotel block are pretty strange, red curtains and pink carpet?! Bathrooms also tiled in pink? It's just a bit outdated and not much for the money you pay.

The spa staff looked as if they had nothing to do so when my boyfriend and I went to the gym which is next to the spa, we found then lounging around in there doing nothing? We also saw staff around the pool and other public areas of the hotel doing nothing.

It is a beautiful spot but not value for money at all! Feel as if it is missing the special touches you get in Thailand and the staff do not know you and are not interested in you (including the manager!). Think you can get more for your money in other hotels on this island. We will not be making a third trip here!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chloeann22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamahkiri, Manager at Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Valuable Guests,

We are great full that you came back to visit us, and we will take your vindication during your mournful stay on a positive way to improve our services so that we could meet your expectations for our future guests.
Please accept my apologies for some of the inconveniences you encountered.

We are in the category of 4 stars hotel in Thailand, with the services that we offer on this small island with 24 hours electricity provided from our generators, or our desalination plant that provides us water without bacteria, those necessary elements have a global effect on rates, as you can read in many reviews, more guests are satisfied than disappointed about our services and supplies.

As returning guests we made you for the three rooms in our Hotel wing a very special discount, as agreed with me.
Our guests and return guests are increasing every year because of the popularity of our resort, I value your feedback and regret that I was not able to meet the expectations you had upon arrival to our property

We are currently undertaking English training with the newer members of the Team and I am confident they will be more confident in the coming months. That said, I will always be available if there is any communication problem, but at least you have to ask to speak with me personally, or with the supervisors.

After personally investigating your claims with our Chef, I learned that, during your time spent at our lunch, you did not complain to our restaurant supervisor who was on duty during that time, if so, we would have provided the chance to rectify the situation.

At the diving club we charge only 100 baht (2.63€) with quality masks and tuba and free safe jacket, same as 3 years ago, but the equipment has been changed of course since that time, and is well maintained.
Shark bay is known for his snorkel spot, to swim with the black tip reef shark (which is harmless).

It is strange that you are complaining about our rooms in the hotel wing, you came at Jamahkiri Resort & Spa 3 years ago as you mentioned, they didn’t change.
We are maintaining this resort and changing the rooms in the hotel wing with wooden floors, but due to the peak season, we could change only a few of them, for the next high season, all our Deluxe rooms will have wooden floors.
I am a little bit surprised that a return guest can complain about a room that he knew before.

The staff is always around to serve our guests, even if in fact sometimes they not handle completely the English language, but they will do their possible to find a solution or call me.
Many return guests are glad to see the staff from before, because they made a bound.
You think that they are lazy, but I know that during your stay we were fully booked and that everyone has a lot of work as I had.

I am sorry you did not find the Resort in line with your expectations in all areas as you found 3 years ago. It is always interesting to compare hotels, but unless there is a comparison on price paid, this can be quite misleading in Thailand.

I thank you again for your feedback, and we will change it in a constructive one, that all our team can learn about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The property is amazing. Wonderful and stunning views from every single spot. Awesome pool area. The architecture of the resort is awesome and very special and the rooms have fantastic views. Everything is well equiped and super clean. The view from the restaurant is splendid. We enjoyed the secluded setting of the place although it is a bit of a pain to get to town. You can either take one of the free shuttles with really odd operation hours or take a taxi for 500 bath per way which is really expensive for thailand.

The point which really annoyed us about the place was the service or better to say the lack of it. With exeption of the manager and the guys at the pool bar the staff is mainly unfriendly and ignorant. We have been travelling around thailand and other asian countries a lot but at this place we could not find this special feel, the smile and this warm and welcoming atmosphere we are used to at all. When passing the reception there was no greeting. The guy who ran the shuttle did not even say "Hello" a single time and the staff at the dive center seemed not at all interested in helping out. They were hanging out sitting on the floor behind the counter chatting, smoking (whatever that was) and playing with their cellphones. They sold people snorkeling gear (btw: at a resort in this price range rental gear and kajaks should be for free like in most hotels on koh tao and samui) allthough it was clear that because of low tide it was impossible to snorkle in the bay for another 4 hours. We saw many tourists having the same problem. They did not give you hints or tell you s.th about the tides and good spots to go they just watched you fail. The service at the restaurant was o.k but not overly friendly. I think a lot of the unfriendly feel here comes from lack of english skills. It is almost not possible to communicate with most of the staff. It also seems that the staff is bored or not really happy to be there. All in all it was a strange vibe and had a weird feel to it.

After so many good experiences in the past it was a bit of a let down since the resort is really nice. I probably would not visit again since I need the whole package to feel good. But perhaps the staff will work on it and improve.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonAlbert22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,464 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,223 reviews
3.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
226 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
229 reviews
1.5 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamahkiri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamahkiri Resort & Spa

Property: Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Address: 21/2 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#1 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jamahkiri Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, is a comfortable and sumptuous living resort located in Thian Og Bay on the south side of Koh Tao, a serenity area of the island, easily reachable by a panoramic 10 minutes drive from the harbour, offering a spectacular view over the gulf of Thailand. Once settled in, you will quickly discover that there are very little reasons to leave the resort, lush tropical garden, cooling pools, the Jamahkiri Spa, a fitness room, the marina and our private PADI diving club, recreational facilities, and fine cuisine, compliment the beauty of the resort's magnificent surroundings. Our place is the perfect combination for peace, serenity and nature lovers; add to that comfort, natural surrounding, and pristine services and its no wonder that since welcoming his first guest in 2002, Jamahkiri has established its distinctive reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Jamahkiri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamahkiri Hotel Koh Tao
Jamahkiri Spa And Resort
Jamahkiri Boutique Hotel
Jamahkiri Boutique Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing