We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is a beautiful hotel to stay at. Some of the negative comments about steep steps etc are true but unjustified. Its on the beach in a quiet, lovely part of the island and the views, rooms and amenities are worth the steps... also, think of it as a workout without having to actually workout.

The staff are really friendly and I found them very helpful with all my requests. Yes, some of them do not have great English (some almost none) BUT they are still better than most other places and they are more than happy to try work through what you want and there was a western manager there when I stayed who was able to step in when needed. The room I stayed in was brilliant. The bed was the softest one I slept on in Thailand which was a lovely change. The showers, water pressure etc were all top notch. The food was savage, especially the breakfast.

this place is lovely to stay for a couple or people wanting peace and quiet. If you want lively, go somewhere else. Also, the roads to get to it are steep, especially the last part. Do NOT rent a bike unless you are confident on them as the road is not for beginners. However, it isnt as bad as some negative customers have said. There are quads for rent if you do want to get around and they are safer and more comfortable if you do want to drive yourself and not rely on the shuttle (be mobile yourself and dont rely on their transport is my advice as you will be limited with where and what time you can move around if you do)...but thats not a complaint, its just a fact.

Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregOSullivan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (952)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 952 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

We stay two nights and was great. The food.amazing..we.did snorkelling on the shark.bay and we see sharks . Cost 100 bath 4 hours in the hotel. Is 2 km or more from the center of the coty but was a shuttle free fr the hotel . The design of the hotel is stuning but you need to be in the good shape cause they are a.lor of stairs !! But is good to excersice . ..

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoria k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed in one of the deluxe pavillons which have a huge window front to the sea and an awesome view over the bay, the beach and the sea. You can lay down in your kingsize bed and just enjoy this amazing perspective while the air condition is cooling your room.
The service was very good and the employees have always been very helpful and polite.
The breakfast also was excellent for Thailand, you've a great choice of Thai and western food.
Jamhakiri offers several facilities like a gym, spa, snorkeling and diving, free boat transfer to the beach and also free taxi transportation several times a day to the center Mae Had. The pool is great and the view from the sunchairs over the sea is so amazing
The private beach is quite small but as already mentioned you will be transported to the awesome shark bay beach for free in a minute.

We can recommend this resort without restrictions.
Just be aware that the resort is build at the hillside and you've to take lots of stairs when going to the beach, restaurant etc.

Many thanks to all the employees who did a perfect job to make this stay unforgettable.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Johnbender2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Booked in to this hotel for a few nights while on Koh Tao, the rooms and location is stunning. Only problems are if you don't like climbing about 7 flights of stairs very time you want to exit the hotel it may not be for you. And if you want to do your own thing, hiring a moped or atv may be a good choice. They do run a shuttle bus to and from Mae Haad but only certain times. As access to the hotel is by some paved some dirt road. Each room has a balcony that looks over shark bay that has excellent snorkelling there you may even see some of the black tip sharks. The view from the balcony you can see all the way down to Koh Samui.

Breakfast is very nice, good coffee and a great selection of fruit, pastries etc the usual self service type buffet. The view also from the dining room is a great view to have your coffee in the morning.

Wifi access is great and fast there.

Would recommend this hotel for anyone trying to get away from the hustle and bustle of the main areas, and for anyone wanting a relaxing holiday & romantic location.

Room Tip: All rooms are great here try for one on the third floor as its one less flight of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CNLIALROKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed here April 2013,beautiful resort overlooking Shark Bay and Island,first class facilities ,great restaurant with stunning views over the bay,breakfast included in the package with something for everyone,Dinner menu was fantastic and the Red Snapper was as good as I've tasted anywhere,friendly staff who can't do enough for you and smile all day(pretty much a constant in Thailand,very chilled place if you wan't to get away from it all,but only a cab ride away from the madness of Sairee,uncrowded pool with beautiful views, onsite dive school with their own boat(max 8),slightly more than the local dive schools but worth every penny,first class and friendly dive master's who we dived with all over the Gulf of Thailand.
Not one to revisit places that much but if and when I return to Koh Tao would be back here for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Beatiful place with both luxury as great nature and views. True paradise has all you expect and want for authentic but luxury place. Do rent a motorcycle or quad to get to the town/beaches since it is secluded.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Fantastic. What a great hotel. Especially the individual rooms 'deluxe pavillions' are super. The ideal hotel in an idyllic spot. For five days we felt ourselves in every way spoiled. Nice and very service oriented Flemish hotel manager, very good staff / bartenders at the pool bar, which made ​​great cocktails. And - often overlooked - very cordial and good maids. Free bootschuttle brings you any time of the day in one minute to lovely sandy beach. But hotel itself is very nice private beach and a gorgeous swimming pool with great views. This hotel was a bit more expensive than the average hotel in Thailand, but we were very happy to have this experience over and never want to miss. Own large, private balcony and a huge jacuzzy, all blissfully private. For your privacy, you had quite a climb down to the sea with a lot of steps, because these beautiful rooms are all at sea. But that way we did at least get something to move, so no problem. This hotel - tasteful, luxurious and unique - is really a must!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilde-Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamahkiri, Manager at Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Valuable guest,

Thank you for your feedback, I am glad to read that your stay was such an unforgettable one, I hope that we will see each other again in the future.

We will continue to improve our services, and the target is to satisfy all our guests.

Greetings from Koh Tao.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,600 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
328 reviews
3.1 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,312 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,323 reviews
1.5 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 50 in Koh Tao
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamahkiri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamahkiri Resort & Spa

Address: 21/2 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#1 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £92 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jamahkiri Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, is a comfortable and sumptuous living resort located in Thian Og Bay on the south side of Koh Tao, a serenity area of the island, easily reachable by a panoramic 10 minutes drive from the harbour, offering a spectacular view over the gulf of Thailand. Once settled in, you will quickly discover that there are very little reasons to leave the resort, lush tropical garden, cooling pools, the Jamahkiri Spa, a fitness room, the marina and our private PADI diving club, recreational facilities, and fine cuisine, compliment the beauty of the resort's magnificent surroundings. Our place is the perfect combination for peace, serenity and nature lovers; add to that comfort, natural surrounding, and pristine services and its no wonder that since welcoming his first guest in 2002, Jamahkiri has established its distinctive reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jamahkiri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamahkiri Spa And Resort
Jamahkiri Hotel Koh Tao
Jamahkiri Boutique Hotel
Jamahkiri Boutique Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing