We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and great diving!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Lelystad, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and great diving!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Great hotel and service. They pick you up from where you are on Koh Tao and take you to the hotel. A nice drink and fresh towel upon registration by a very nice man called Nice! The bungalow was stunning, nice furniture, great views from the balcony, sitting area and bedroom. Nice jacuzzi and large bathroom. Lovely smelling toiletries. Great varied breakfast, drinks menu at the pool. The only downside of this hotel is the evening restaurant, the menu if you are a vegetarian the only thing you can eat are the spring rolls. They can adapt a vegetable stir fry but otherwise no options really. They would be excellent if they would expand the vegetarian / vegan choices.
Steps are OK we think, just a little exercise which is good, but might be hard for young children and older people. A late check out was arranged by Mr. Nice, and the trip back to the pier also well organized and friendly staff everywhere! Overall an amazing stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in bungalow n.9, lovely views and nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Intothewild_AC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    199
    63
    25
    24
See reviews for
134
522
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This review is long overdue. My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in September 2013, and wished we had stayed longer. It was AMAZING! The staff was more than welcoming, and met our every need. We snorkeled right off the beach of the hotel, and ventured off to the "big" beach to have some cocktails. Shark Bay is home to black tip reef sharks, and we were so excited to see some! The food and cocktails were great, and reasonably priced. We plan on going back Sept of 2015.

PLEASE NOTE: There are A LOT of stairs at this hotel. We didn't mind and enjoyed the exercise.

Room Tip: An Ocean view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Like allot of the islands good hotels, this one is also located on the Mt. So there is allot of steps going up and down from the pool to the beach and reception... But the view is unforgettable , staff were nice and the food at the hotel was on of the best on the island . We stayed at the deluxe bungalow which has the panoramic view to shark bay. Amazing .

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Odelia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Beautiful hotel, great food, great service,amazing view....I can't say enough good things about this resort. The pool is beautiful, and the perfect temperature. It is a bit secluded, but easy to get taxis both to and from the resort at any time, or rent an ATV to get you up the hills. Lots of stairs throughout this cliffside resort, so it's great for keeping in shape with all the delicious thai food as well :)
We also did a 3-hr spa treatment which was one of the highlights; the spa is far back on the resort so it's very quiet and relaxing, and the facial was a really awesome experience. The sauna/salt bath was very refreshing.

I also started and finished my Open Water diving certification through Jamahkiri, and had Derek Hanna as my instructor. He was amazing and squashed any fears I had about the ocean and diving - he was fun, patient, very experienced and my entire group had a really great time diving with him and the rest of the Jamahkiri team. If you are thinking about any diving course while on Koh Tao, I really recommend using Jamahkiri!

Staying at Jamahkiri on Koh Tao was my favorite part of our 3.5-week trip to Thailand. Highly recommend this resort!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jannelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koh Tao, Thailand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have stayed in the new hotel once and in the bungalow No.6 ONCE. if you wanna stay closer to the swimming pool which is the best hill side pool on Koh Tao, then choose Bungalows.
Don't get me wrong, the hotel is great, new, awesome view, spacious clean rooms - but i prefer bungalow :)
Pool bar have great drinks and excellent service.
I would also recommend the spa, superb packages with sauna, aloe vera body wrap, facial and body massage - TOP CHOICE.

Room Tip: No.6 BUNGALOW is very close to the pool bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoWayUCanStopMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

A wonderful resort, clean, large rooms, all with balconies facing the ocean. Very well run, spotless gardens and pool area. There are two restaurants at the hotel, one barbeque restaurant and one thai/western food restaurant. Both with delicious food and great service. The breakfast buffet had great choices of both hot/cold food, western and thai. The resort has its own private beach area, but this area is mostly rock (only a small sand beach), but there is a nice sandy beach just minutes way with a small boat. The hotel gives a free shuttle to the beach. We did not use this service, as we stayed at the hotel property, they have sun beds just by the sea. The snorkeling just outside the hotel is good, and swimming is great with calm sea and warm waters. The hotel is situated approximately 10 minutes driving from the closest city, but the hotel offers a free shuttle service three times a day, the last one returning at 1830. If you want to have dinner in town, you need to take a taxi back (500 baht). We had all our meals at the resort, the food was delicious. we stayed for a week, and it was perfect, but quiet. The resort has its own spa and exercise room. But this is not the place to stay if you have problems walking, the resort is situated in a very hilly terrain and has a lot of stairs to walk from the hotel building to the restaurant and down to the sea. But you get free excersise! We stayed from 26.Dec 2012 to 02. Jan 2013, the only drawback was the price, quite expensive for Thailand. But worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gromness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for one night however it's the best experience. The hotel has its own pier we can go snorkeling directly from the hotel. We booked a normal room with decent sea view. My parents love it so much. The hotel is built on mountain and well maintained. Luxury hotel with decent price. Highly recommend. However the restaurant sucks! Too sour and only western food no Thai food. Location is very bad as it's on the mountain. Luckily it has its own pier.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Xinxin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,436 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,214 reviews
3.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
220 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,232 reviews
0.8 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 49 in Koh Tao
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamahkiri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamahkiri Resort & Spa

Property: Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Address: 21/2 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#1 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jamahkiri Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, is a comfortable and sumptuous living resort located in Thian Og Bay on the south side of Koh Tao, a serenity area of the island, easily reachable by a panoramic 10 minutes drive from the harbour, offering a spectacular view over the gulf of Thailand. Once settled in, you will quickly discover that there are very little reasons to leave the resort, lush tropical garden, cooling pools, the Jamahkiri Spa, a fitness room, the marina and our private PADI diving club, recreational facilities, and fine cuisine, compliment the beauty of the resort's magnificent surroundings. Our place is the perfect combination for peace, serenity and nature lovers; add to that comfort, natural surrounding, and pristine services and its no wonder that since welcoming his first guest in 2002, Jamahkiri has established its distinctive reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jamahkiri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamahkiri Hotel Koh Tao
Jamahkiri Spa And Resort
Jamahkiri Boutique Hotel
Jamahkiri Boutique Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing