We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded location with beautiful views and luxurious facilities but disappointing service for the expense of the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Jamahkiri for 4 nights from 3rd-7th March 2014. This was the 'chill out' part of our 2 week holiday in Thailand and the hotel did not disappoint for this- very secluded, beautiful location with sea views from every room and from the pool, it was also very quiet with few guests, always easy to get a sunbed by the pool or seat in the restaurant. We stayed in the hotel part of the resort and the room was very big and clean with good facilities. Food in the restaurants was also very good, although obviously more expensive than other restaurants in koh tao, and there wasn't such a wide variety at breakfast as we experienced at some other less expensive hotels during our stay in Thailand. The one complaint that we had about our stay is that for the money that we paid versus other hotels we stayed in we were disappointed in the service, the staff couldn't speak very good English were sometimes quite unhelpful and slow. Some examples, we experienced very slow service in The Grill restaurant, we were never seated or offered coffee at breakfast without having to seek someone out to order, and when our fire alarm was going off at 4am we got no answer when we called reception...only to find out the next day the staff member on duty didn't answer because he couldn't speak English. A bit worrying if there was a proper emergency! This latter point did not ruin our holiday because the hotel was so beautiful and we had a great time chilling by the pool, snorkelling and visiting nearby shark bay, but we probably would not chose to go back here if we visited koh tao again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barnsie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

I have written a previous review on this hotel. Not much have changed. Well some things maybe. The manager is new, the F&B manager is new, the road to the hotel has been paved (both good and bad), there are constructions going on at the lobby and the neighbouring hotel at the beach is expanding (unfortunately). However the service from the staff is really good and performed with a smile. The food in the restaurant is excellent even though somewhat pricy. The thing with the paved road and the expansion of the next door hotel is unfortunately domed to increase the number of visitors to the beach. The beach and the coral reef is the best assets of the two hotels and I hope they cooperate to do whatever they can to keep any negative ecounfriendly impact on the beach and the reef to a minimum. It should be in their own interest! Easy 10 min ride to town. Free shuttle in at 6.30pm and taxi back (400-600baht) if you want a change from the quiet evenings at the hotel. But the balcony view from the rooms is to die for and so relaxing. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are really good. Good internet, tv, cleaning etc. Havent tried other rooms but the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was the second time I've stayed in this hotel. It is still a great place! You feel truly privileged to be there since there are not so many guests. You never need to be afraid you will not get a sunbed or a window table in the restaurant.

The rooms are great and spacious, which also the bathrooms and balconies are. The food in the restaurant (including the breakfast) is also nice. The view from the restaurant is breath taking.

Since I was there in 2012 some things have happened in the surroundings, i.e. the previous bumpy road has now been re-worked (now motorcycles can use it...) and the nearby hotel Haad Tien has expanded. Sadly this has led to an increase of tourists at the Shark Bay beach. It is still very nice to be there and not over-crowded, but I doubt it will feel this secluded in a few years so take the chance and go there now!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swede1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed here for three days in the deluxe villa down at the sea. The villa (just a room with somehow an open bathroom and a big window to the small backyard filled with grasses) is beautiful, with a balcony and a big window front just a couple of meters above the sea. The bed is large and comfortable, the room is very clean and the bathroom is convenient. Staff was very nice and helpful (yes, often their English is not that good, but don't forget your in koh Tao and most of the staff is not even Thai but Burmese). The breakfast and dining area are boutique, so if you like top modern standards you will judge this to be rustique. Up to you. We found it awesome. Breakfast is good, although it seems it could be a bit more diverse. We had one dinner in the restaurant and we're really impressed by their food. Of course, you can have a much less expensive dinner at other places on the island. The pool area is nice, and very clean. We also tried the spa, Thai massage, facial massage and aloe Vera wrap. We found it okay, though not impressive for the price; one has to say that, however, the spa was very clean and the staff very friendly.

The hotel has some downsides, but they are all easy to find out before you go there, so don't blame the hotel if you hate climbing six floors to the breakfast area if you stay in the deluxe villa down at the sea, far apart from the hotels standard rooms. Moreover, the hotel is of course secluded so u cannot simply walk to the town for the evening. Finally, the hotel doesn't have a private beach, but they do offer you to get you to shark bay nearby, which is a 1 minute boat ride.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Overall, this is a first-class place. The location, view, service and overall quality are outstanding. You'll get a great night's sleep since there are none of the usual touristy noise sources nearby. The happy hour by the pool is wonderfully laid back, and the staff is extremely attentive. The breakfast is pretty good, particularly when you remember that Koh Tao is quite remote from supplies. The snorkeling right off of the hotel is pretty good also. The restaurants are nicely relaxing and food upstairs (or downstairs at the grill) is quite good. Clientele seemed more European than average, which I also find enjoyable.

My only quibble is pricing. If money is no object, great, but at when 3 nights lodging adds up to the equivalent of 1 month of average Thai salary (24,000 Baht), I begin to question the value of where I'm staying. To put that into perspective, imagine paying 4,000 US$ for for 3 nights in a room at a resort in the US....

I would certainly go back, but perhaps aim for off-peak and perhaps call in advance for negotiated pricing.

Visited in January with my girlfirend, sister & her husband, and a couple of friends. Overall sentiment in the group seemed similar to above.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gaijinpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My mum and sister visited me on Koh Tao, and we decided to book a spa day at Jamahkiri Resort. I had heard good things about the spa deal from one of my colleagues, so I thought why not check it out! We called the book in the morning, and they asked if we would like a taxi to pick us up from our accommodation. We had bikes ourselves, but if we could get a taxi included that would be great!
10 minutes past the pick-up time, the taxi still hadn't arrived. I called back but they had no recollection of our booking or the taxi we booked. They told us a taxi would be with us in 20 minutes. We waited another 30 minutes, and still no taxi. We called back again and they still had no clue what we were talking about. After a lot of back and forth calling we managed to get a taxi 1 hour after our initial booking time.
The whole spa experience was great - very peaceful, amazing views and good massages.
After the spa we asked for a taxi back. They promised it would be here in 15 minutes. 30 minutes later we went to the front desk and we told it would be another 15 minutes. Great. Once we were finally in the taxi (45 minutes after our massages), we had to wait 20 minutes in the taxi for another couple - And the couple were only being dropped off 100m down the road at a neighboring resort!

All in all, the whole spa experience was ruined by the taxi service. A day out that should have taken only 4 hours took 6 hours. If we had known, we would have used our own bikes for the trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My wife and I spent 3 fantastic nights there in January. Everything was wonderful. Our room (7) overlooked shark bay and the view from the spa was unbelievable. Staff were so friendly. They even lent me their personal phone charger as I had lost mine. Food was top quality. Swam each morning and each time saw the harmless black tip sharks, and 1 turtle! Also really enjoyed the spa treatments. Don't let the reviews of steep drive ways and paths put you off - all good exercise so that you can fit in your next meal! Spoil yourself and go, we are going back for sure!

Room Tip: room 7 was great - great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Croccreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,530 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,263 reviews
3.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
272 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
238 reviews
1.5 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 50 in Koh Tao
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamahkiri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamahkiri Resort & Spa

Address: 21/2 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#1 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £81 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jamahkiri Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, is a comfortable and sumptuous living resort located in Thian Og Bay on the south side of Koh Tao, a serenity area of the island, easily reachable by a panoramic 10 minutes drive from the harbour, offering a spectacular view over the gulf of Thailand. Once settled in, you will quickly discover that there are very little reasons to leave the resort, lush tropical garden, cooling pools, the Jamahkiri Spa, a fitness room, the marina and our private PADI diving club, recreational facilities, and fine cuisine, compliment the beauty of the resort's magnificent surroundings. Our place is the perfect combination for peace, serenity and nature lovers; add to that comfort, natural surrounding, and pristine services and its no wonder that since welcoming his first guest in 2002, Jamahkiri has established its distinctive reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jamahkiri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamahkiri Spa And Resort
Jamahkiri Hotel Koh Tao
Jamahkiri Boutique Hotel
Jamahkiri Boutique Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing