We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, amazing location for relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel definitely deserves the good reviews it gets. It's located on the rocky outcrops of shark bay. Each of the rooms are ocean facing and have an incredible view. There is amazing snorkeling right in front of the hotel. Go out between 4-6pm and you should see many black tip reef sharks and maybe even a giant turtle! Don't worry, the sharks are harmless and will not come near you. Please give the turtle plenty of space and DO NOT touch or hold onto him or he may drown (turtles need to come up to the surface to breath!) Also, please don't touch or step on the reef, no matter how "dead" it looks, as this will destroy it for future generations.
IMO it's much better to stay at this resort than on the actual beach itself because the views you get of the beach/bay are far better! There is a free shuttle boat service on demand to the beach if you want but hanging by the resort deck in front of the ocean is just as nice, if not nicer.
The staff are great and the food was good, although overpriced. You are quite isolated so there isn't much of a food choice unless you want to mission into town. This brings me to my small bit of criticism:
There is no other place to get drinking water except the hotel. And they charge 50THB for a small bottle of water. Firstly, this is extortion, but more importantly, for a hotel that claims to be environmentally conscious, surely forcing it's customers to consume so much plastic is contradictory to it's stated goals as well as being morally questionable. I suspect that they have a water purifier that they choose not to use so that they can squeeze every dollar out of their customers... A real pity.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank LivingTheDream_KN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
There are newer reviews for Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 907 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stopped here for 4 days. Hotel is a great relaxing place to stay in Ko Tao, its a bit far from everything so we rented an ATV and it more than does the deal.

Pool area is great, and good rest after some walking around in the island. Unfortunately, hotel lacks a real beach. Not best place to stay if you just want to stroll from room to beach and back.
Spa is expensive vs. what the island has to offer, but you could expect this for hotel spa.

Room with view on the sea was amazing. Room is spotless but lacks enough plugs for ipod/ipad/pc...Breakfast is good if not great, service although very friendlt was a little confused. They forgot to put in my order once. Strongly recommend to hit the town for thai food as the restaurant has only a limited choice of all the great things thai food has to offer. "Nice' the guy at the reception was warm and always very helpful. Helped us extend our stay without hastle.

be ready to be active in the hotel, rooms are quite a stair "hike" away from the pool and reception as the hotel sits on the side of a cliff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DadySchep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

It took me ages to get to writing this review.

Writing it means the stay is over. Coming here and confirming it means that I have to see other people vehemently agreeing with me, see their pictures, read their beautiful stories. It's awful. It's the worst.

There's only one cure; don't go.

Don't arrive after a crazy up-and-down-hill van ride and enter the lobby, completely oblivious to the stunning stay that awaits you. Don't sit comfortably and check in with a cold drink while petting the three-legged cat (fourth leg is on vacation in Koh Samui). Don't enjoy happy hour poolside, or a room, ANY ROOM, all with stunning, stunning views of the sea. Don't eat at either of the restaurants - particularly not the grill, listening to the water crashing below, with lights set up to show the way if you choose to head down the (yes, very, very many, and a bit unevenly spaced, so please be careful) steps to stroll down by the water.

Sunrise is your thing? Ok. You're going to hate the way the sun crests over the giant rock at the hotel pool. You know what else is awful? Sunset at the pool during happy hour with drinks and snacks. Late nights sitting by the pool with a cigar purchased from right inside.

Seriously. Every day, just walk down and rent your snorkel gear. Hop right in the water, *right there*, and hang out with the black tip reef sharks. Be careful not to ruin the coral - the water is pretty shallow right here.

Both restaurants are fantastic. Breakfast is great; enjoy the adorable omelette bar and fresh fruit.

I cannot say enough good things about Jamahkiri. It's the reason *every* other beach resort we visited in Thailand didn't score above a four. We're ruined, we're sad we didn't spend our entire trip there - we only spent 4 nights. We could have safely doubled it.

Thank you for everything; we WILL be back.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, get a one-bedroom; they're great, and provide a bit of separation/privacy.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phreddiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed at this resort 5 nights, with my wife and my 3-year old baby. Overall we are very satisfied. A general comment on the number of stairs: it's written anywhere, on every single rieview, that the place require some "fitness" attitude, so if you pick it anyway, don't complain, as we did(not) for that.

What I really appreciated:

- the attention to details in the structure. One may like the jungle-style or not, but building such a structure with that level of care to details (from golded-elefant-outdoor-lamps to carved-wood-like walls to savannah-like roofs etc) is no easy task. Very remarkable.
- ambience: ideal for romance or just family retreat (the pool at night is absolutely stunning)
- staff: all in all friendly and helpful (yes, command of English is poor, but that goes for most of Thailand, and sometimes England too....)
- location: sharkbay may not be mango bay or koh nanguyan, but still very good a place for snorkeling

What I was fine with:

- food, all in all good in quality and slightly overpriced
- noisy airconditioning in the room, but bearable (with some patience)

What I did not like (and if improved, which is easy to do, would make the place almost perfect):

- very lousy internet connection (more routers! that's it. If it works fine at the reception, it means that the national provider did it's job. if it's really bad elsewhere, the management should do something for it)
- grill restaurant at the marina closed for lunch (we would have had lunch there every single day, otherwise)
- more choise and selection at breakfast (always the sames stuff, including the fruits, no pinepple, bananas, etc)
- runs to and from town, too few, the last coming back at 6.30pm....

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eugenio s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My girlfriend and i spent 4 nights in Jamakihiri and those were one of our best days in life. Words can't describe experience that we had, stuff, food, views, rooms, bungalows, everything was perfect. We were truly and positively shocked by everything in Jakamkhiri.

It is located next to Haad Tien beach, one of the nicest beach on Koh Tao and near Haad Tien resort which we planned to book but we made a great decision by choosing Jamakhiri, Haad Tien looks and seems quite boring and without soul.

I work as a tourism consultant so i know what good resort and good service is.

I am using this opportunity to say thanks to Jamakhiri crew and see you next year for sure...

Damjan and Ivna.

Room Tip: There is no need to book bungalow, cause rooms are amazing and have a great ocenview. Also, if you c...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damjan1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The experience starts at the ferry where the hotel staff takes you promptly to their van. Once we got to the hotel, I was amazed by the superb views. The rooms (we were in the 400 level) are very spacious with hardwood floors and medium size balcony that offers great views. A/C and other systems in the room worked very well. The pool area is great, not overcrowded and very clean. Never an issue to get a chair. Actually this hotel offers several locations on the property (some more private than others) where one can relax. This is probably the reason why you never feel you are in a large resort. I also used the services of the dive shop and was impressed with their professionalism. I had to do a recertification/refresher and I learned stuff that was never covered in the basic course or other refreshers that I took. As for food, breakfast was ok, Lunches by the pool were good and diner was also good and not overly expensive considering you're at the hotel. We went to town twice in the evenings and expect to pay 600 B for the return taxi.

Note that there is no beach per say at the hotel. They shuttle you by boat (300 meters) to the beach. But from the hotel deck you can access the water. The snorkeling is great right in front of the hotel.

So overall, excellent place and would definitely go back. The last part of our trip was in Samui and it wasn't quite the same.

In conclusion, I would agree with other reviews that if you have mobility issues, do not go to that hotel. There is a price to get such beautiful vistas.....lots of steps going from the room to pool, restaurant or down by the water. You learn to plan and not to forget anything in the room.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 400 level are haflway between sea level and the pool/restaurants. Great views for...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YGMCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Jamahkiri for 4 nights from 3rd-7th March 2014. This was the 'chill out' part of our 2 week holiday in Thailand and the hotel did not disappoint for this- very secluded, beautiful location with sea views from every room and from the pool, it was also very quiet with few guests, always easy to get a sunbed by the pool or seat in the restaurant. We stayed in the hotel part of the resort and the room was very big and clean with good facilities. Food in the restaurants was also very good, although obviously more expensive than other restaurants in koh tao, and there wasn't such a wide variety at breakfast as we experienced at some other less expensive hotels during our stay in Thailand. The one complaint that we had about our stay is that for the money that we paid versus other hotels we stayed in we were disappointed in the service, the staff couldn't speak very good English were sometimes quite unhelpful and slow. Some examples, we experienced very slow service in The Grill restaurant, we were never seated or offered coffee at breakfast without having to seek someone out to order, and when our fire alarm was going off at 4am we got no answer when we called reception...only to find out the next day the staff member on duty didn't answer because he couldn't speak English. A bit worrying if there was a proper emergency! This latter point did not ruin our holiday because the hotel was so beautiful and we had a great time chilling by the pool, snorkelling and visiting nearby shark bay, but we probably would not chose to go back here if we visited koh tao again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barnsie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,512 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,250 reviews
3.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
251 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
235 reviews
0.8 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 49 in Koh Tao
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamahkiri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamahkiri Resort & Spa

Address: 21/2 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#1 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £83 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jamahkiri Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, is a comfortable and sumptuous living resort located in Thian Og Bay on the south side of Koh Tao, a serenity area of the island, easily reachable by a panoramic 10 minutes drive from the harbour, offering a spectacular view over the gulf of Thailand. Once settled in, you will quickly discover that there are very little reasons to leave the resort, lush tropical garden, cooling pools, the Jamahkiri Spa, a fitness room, the marina and our private PADI diving club, recreational facilities, and fine cuisine, compliment the beauty of the resort's magnificent surroundings. Our place is the perfect combination for peace, serenity and nature lovers; add to that comfort, natural surrounding, and pristine services and its no wonder that since welcoming his first guest in 2002, Jamahkiri has established its distinctive reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jamahkiri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamahkiri Hotel Koh Tao
Jamahkiri Spa And Resort
Jamahkiri Boutique Hotel
Jamahkiri Boutique Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing