We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
bangkok
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed 4 days in the hotel, rooms are spacious, the staff is very attentive, the place is a pleasure in every corner, the marina downstairs is the open door to the sea and the underwater scenery. This is an excellent place to go.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank restinpeace01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    199
    63
    25
    25
See reviews for
136
522
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I visited Jamahkiri for 4 nights with my husband, and overall, I would describe our stay as excellent. The property is just absolutely beautiful. Yes, the stairs are brutal, but very necessary for the amazing views from every step, top to bottom. The resort is perched on a cliff with the reception and restaurant at the top, the pool and shuttle bus near the middle, and all guest rooms down to the ocean. The management's attention to detail is evident all over the property. The staff was friendly, helpful and always smiling. The spa was absolutely wonderful.

Also, we felt the price for everything at the resort was so reasonable considering the beauty, high quality, cleanliness, and attentiveness shown to guests. We especially appreciated the free shuttle back and forth into town (10am, 1pm, and 6pm) and free transfer to and from the pier. The only minor thing I can say about Jamahkiri was that dinner at The Grill restaurant wasn't that great, but I blame my lack of enthusiasm on the overwhelming humidity that comes with dining outdoors in Thailand during the hottest time of the year.

I highly recommend Jamahkiri, especially if you're looking to relax on Koh Tao. The places to stay in town (Sairee Beach & Mae Head) seemed geared more towards young people backpacking and looking to party, or hardcore scuba divers. Jamahkiri is located about 15 minutes outside of the main area, thus close enough to visit and dine in town, but easy to escape back to the tranquil resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogersmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Me and my wife stayed here for our honeymoon. The hotel is absolutely fantastic. The grounds are always green and clean, the rooms are great and spacious (we stayed in one of the pavilions) and always clean. The amenities at the hotel was great and service from the point of pickup at the port was fault less, always an smile and always friendly. The bay is an great spot to go snorkeling and so easy with the equipment available at the hotel. The views from the pool area is breathtaking especially when sunset arises. The restaurant was great and food absolutely delicious, as well as the breakfast. I would not hesitate to stay here ever and would go back there in an heart beat. Thanks to all the staff that made our experience unforgettable.

Room Tip: Take the pavilion rooms, the view is GREAT from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globe-travel-SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights during our trip of Thailand. The place is nice, the staff are friendly and the rooms/reception/restaurant/pool are keep well.
We had room 11 (deluxe room). The views from the room/balcony well really nice, overlooking the sea and bay.
The room had a couple of issues though:
1) The bathroom had a hot tub style bath and no shower. There was a shower head attachment which we decided to use, so it meant me and my wife standing holding the head for each other every morning & evening.
2) The steps. The complex is built on a very steep hill side, so anyone with walking/fitness problems ensure your near the top. Though I would suggest simply looking elsewhere if this might be a problem. You simply can’t get anywhere in this complex without going up or down a large number of steps.
The facilities are good, there was a shuttle bus 3 times a day to the port…..which was then walking distance to sarie beech. The gym was small but had enough to get by.
Breakfast is lovely, the main pool was nice, the restaurant in the evening served really nice Thai food, defiantly worth trying.
The staff in the main were nice and helpful, though some were a little stand-offish.
All in all a nice stay, would I go back if I was to visit the island again…maybe, maybe not!

There were a few things that could of made the stay even nicer, the small details that could have set it apart.
I wish I could give a rating of 3.5, better that “average”, but not “very good”.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wussawarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Yes it's a bit off the beaten path and on a cliff but I only spent 1.5 days and a night here and I would gladly have stayed a lot more. This place is beautiful... and surprisingly affordable. I was there with a friend but it easily felt like we were on a honeymoon. The views are spectacular, accommodations are lovely and the food is great too!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 689RachelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

After a nightmare of losing my cash card, I was delighted to book in here last min, my second stay in 6 years, by the warm welcome, and truly 5* staff here. I stayed in Room 204. They did everything they could to make my stay fabulous, from check in to lunch and dinner, recommendations and help with taxis etc. I stayed here 4 nights alone, the food, drinks, service, environment, and the Spa was outstanding. Everyone makes you feel welcome, pampered and special, they really do go the extra mile. The food, lunch and dinner - superb, the rooms - spotless, pool and beach outstanding. All the staff are fantastic, special mention to the Manager and 'Kitty' ( hope I spelt it right ) a Trainee and Nice the reception manager. This hotel , suits couples, families and of course, like me, solo travellers, who truly want to be spoilt. Everything is very reasonably priced, so much so I had 3 facials, 2 massages an Aloe wrap and used the gym every day, in the spa, plus a snorkelling trip, lunch and dinner every day, plus drinks by the pool in 4 days and this only came to aprox £200.00. For me, coming from London, and having visited many super Hotels, Spas and Countries, this is truly paradise. I wish this hotel the best for a prosperous future. I am sad to leave. Please visit here. you will not disappointed In any way.

Room Tip: I stayed in the main hotel which all rooms have a fab view, I also stayed 6 yrs ago in a split level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1sticvinrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel definitely deserves the good reviews it gets. It's located on the rocky outcrops of shark bay. Each of the rooms are ocean facing and have an incredible view. There is amazing snorkeling right in front of the hotel. Go out between 4-6pm and you should see many black tip reef sharks and maybe even a giant turtle! Don't worry, the sharks are harmless and will not come near you. Please give the turtle plenty of space and DO NOT touch or hold onto him or he may drown (turtles need to come up to the surface to breath!) Also, please don't touch or step on the reef, no matter how "dead" it looks, as this will destroy it for future generations.
IMO it's much better to stay at this resort than on the actual beach itself because the views you get of the beach/bay are far better! There is a free shuttle boat service on demand to the beach if you want but hanging by the resort deck in front of the ocean is just as nice, if not nicer.
The staff are great and the food was good, although overpriced. You are quite isolated so there isn't much of a food choice unless you want to mission into town. This brings me to my small bit of criticism:
There is no other place to get drinking water except the hotel. And they charge 50THB for a small bottle of water. Firstly, this is extortion, but more importantly, for a hotel that claims to be environmentally conscious, surely forcing it's customers to consume so much plastic is contradictory to it's stated goals as well as being morally questionable. I suspect that they have a water purifier that they choose not to use so that they can squeeze every dollar out of their customers... A real pity.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LivingTheDream_KN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,439 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,218 reviews
3.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
221 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
224 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamahkiri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamahkiri Resort & Spa

Property: Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Address: 21/2 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#1 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jamahkiri Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, is a comfortable and sumptuous living resort located in Thian Og Bay on the south side of Koh Tao, a serenity area of the island, easily reachable by a panoramic 10 minutes drive from the harbour, offering a spectacular view over the gulf of Thailand. Once settled in, you will quickly discover that there are very little reasons to leave the resort, lush tropical garden, cooling pools, the Jamahkiri Spa, a fitness room, the marina and our private PADI diving club, recreational facilities, and fine cuisine, compliment the beauty of the resort's magnificent surroundings. Our place is the perfect combination for peace, serenity and nature lovers; add to that comfort, natural surrounding, and pristine services and its no wonder that since welcoming his first guest in 2002, Jamahkiri has established its distinctive reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jamahkiri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamahkiri Hotel Koh Tao
Jamahkiri Spa And Resort
Jamahkiri Boutique Hotel
Jamahkiri Boutique Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing