We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Jamahkiri Resort is expensive but it is an elegant resort. The cabanas are built on the side of the mountain and lookout on to the crystal clear waters of Koh Tao. In some of the cabanas away from the central office and pool the internet doesn't work; this is too bad given the high daily price of the resort. The rooms are quiet and comfortable but I wish the hotel would speak to the maids about sitting around the cabanas and chit-chatting away in high voices and disturbing those who wish too sleep later than 7:00 AM. Great diversified breakfast. If steep step climbing bothers you than do not stay at this resort. The restaurant on-site serves delicious Thai food but it's a little on the expensive side. The resort does have an excellent scuba diving center that is highly professional.

Room Tip: Although it's costly to take taxis into town do try to get to the following restaurants; Whiteni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robertogalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 298 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

It was a bit late review actually. Because my friend and I had stayed there for 4 nights during Oct.of 2012, almost 2 years ago, but we are planing to go back in the beginning of this Sept.
It was amazing experience for our last staying there. Excellent breakfast and very friendly staffs, splendid sunrise view when waking up on the our comfortable bed. And Oct. was not peak season in Thailand, only us relax on the hotel private beach at almost time, very enjoyable. If you like, naked swimming is possible, lol

Room Tip: if you mind the stairs, it is better select lower-floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceanpearl1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Jamahkiri Resort at the end of July 2014 for 4 nights. It was our first time to Koh Tao but definitely won't be our last. You come to this resort for the view! We were in room 12 and the bedroom looked out onto the turquoise water, you could even hear the water lapping up against the rocks. The breakfast area and pool also had the most beautiful views you could ever ask for!
The resort staff were extremely helpful and friendly and were at the ferry terminal to pick us up as promised. The resort is located near Shark Bay on top of a steep hill looking over the ocean. We ended up hiring a motorbike, firstly because my partner loves them but also to offer the convenience of getting into town when we wanted to. I must say when we first went up the hill in the hotel van I was concerned about hiring a bike and going up and down but it was more than fine. It was a perfect location as it felt like no one else was around but was only a short 10 minute trip into the main pier or about 15-20minutes to the busy Sairee Beach. When I say busy it is nothing like Koh Samui, to us it felt like we were there in low season.
There are many reviews about the stairs and I can say that there are stairs but nothing to write home about. We actually loved the fact that it gave us a little morning exercise before having breakfast. We are young and fit so yes it was easy for us, if you were elderly or unfit then I can see how this would concern you.
We hired snorkelling gear and a kayak from the resort dive shop and paddled around to the little beach and Haad Tien Resort. Great little beach bar and new restaurant that has just opened there (you can also walk to this resort in around 5 minutes down the main resort hill). The dive shop within the resort is quality. My partner and I did an introductory dive in the pool and then went onto the private Jamahkiri boat with only another 3 hotel guests. You pay a little more than in town but you have the boat to yourself which is moored just near the resort and their equipment is top notch. I would highly recommend them! We had an amazing instructor named Sarah from the states, she has been diving for over 10 years and knew her stuff.
We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant as we went into town for our dinners. Breakfast every morning was more than enough, it's definitely wasn't your normal all you can eat massive buffet that you get in big resorts but it had fruit, muesli, pastries, egg station and a couple of other hot items.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this resort and already have to many of our friends and family!

Room Tip: Room 12 was one of the bottom villas, If you are concerned about stairs ask for one near the pool or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurenSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Nice and romantic room with a great view over the ocean. Staff was helpful and the food was above average =) We had a four hour massage pack that was out of this world! You need to try this if you visit. The hot-stone part was the highpoint.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mads W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Isolated, idyllic setting with architecture to suit. The hotel has been constructed upwards from the beach and built into the rugged hillside. Our room was very well appointed and enjoyed an uninterrupted view over the sea. The beach was three flights of stairs below and the pool and restaurant well over a hundred steps above. The hotel's situation is fantastic but only suitable for fit, able-bodied clients!

May is apparently off-season so the beach view bar was closed. However the service and choice of food at the pool bar and in the restaurant was good.

The hotel provides complimentary transport to the harbour and taxi trucks are available for revellers who return late.

Snorkelling from the hotel beach is excellent and we swam within 5m of a shoal of reef sharks - thankfully pescetarian!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank David-Craiova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in 3 story family villa with the most beautiful view. The water is clear and turquoise
The swimmingpool area is like a oases in a desert. The cocktail are divine and happy hours is from 5h-9h.
The staff is very friendly and helpfull. My son broke his foot on our trip and they went out of their way to help us.
We missed the boat going to another island and the receptionist quickly organized another boat.
The manager, a friendly elderly man is on top of everything and in control and very friendly.
Our rooms view was the best I have seen.
The room service has big portions and tasty.
Best of all is the snorkeling right in front of our hotel. All the boats came here to snorkel, all you have to do is to take yhe steps and get into the ocean.
The steps to go up and down for breakfast and cocktails was good excersice and good for the heartrate.
Not for elderly unfit people.
I will gladly come back to this paradise.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Neitzfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The grounds are terrific. The stairs are really not that bad - the payoff of having a great view is worth it. The front desk service was very good. Our safe and AC issues were each sorted out within 30 minutes of reporting them.

The pool bar staff (Swe Swe, Mueng (sp?)) were excellent, as was the dive club folks, including the boat crew and Derek the PADI instructor.

If you don't like diving, the snorkeling from the bay is really excellent.

The service fell short in the restaurant. Maybe my expectations were two high after being at a couple other awesome hotels on other nearby islands, but the staff seemed more interesting in chatting amongst themselves than in doing their job, And 50 bhat for water seems ridiculous. If we can't drink from the faucet, it seems wild to be expected to drop that amount of coin for a necessity of life. Also, one night my wife had mentioned that it was my 30th bday, so they staff brought me a slice of cake, which was nice. I was less than impressed to find out that it was the most expensive dessert on the menu and i had to pay for it.

The breakfast selection and service are both poor.

Wi-fi isn't available in the pavilion rooms, which is pretty silly. With a bit of know-how, you will notice that nearby hotels have made some poor IT choices and you shouldn't have a problem bumming from their wireless network.

At any rate, the hotel is sharp, the view is great. The pool bar folks are good, but the restaurant folks are lacking all day long. If you stay here, I'd suggest trying the Eagle view restaurant. It's an interesting experience and the price is closer to what you'd expect.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amishstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,601 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
330 reviews
3.1 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,314 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,324 reviews
0.8 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamahkiri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamahkiri Resort & Spa

Address: 21/2 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £89 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jamahkiri Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, is a comfortable and sumptuous living resort located in Thian Og Bay on the south side of Koh Tao, a serenity area of the island, easily reachable by a panoramic 10 minutes drive from the harbour, offering a spectacular view over the gulf of Thailand. Once settled in, you will quickly discover that there are very little reasons to leave the resort, lush tropical garden, cooling pools, the Jamahkiri Spa, a fitness room, the marina and our private PADI diving club, recreational facilities, and fine cuisine, compliment the beauty of the resort's magnificent surroundings. Our place is the perfect combination for peace, serenity and nature lovers; add to that comfort, natural surrounding, and pristine services and its no wonder that since welcoming his first guest in 2002, Jamahkiri has established its distinctive reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jamahkiri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamahkiri Spa And Resort
Jamahkiri Hotel Koh Tao
Jamahkiri Boutique Hotel
Jamahkiri Boutique Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing