We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haadtien Beach Resort(Koh Tao)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ko Tao Resort(Koh Tao)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
JP Resort(Koh Tao)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,012)
Filter reviews
1,012 results
Traveller rating
642
233
79
31
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
642
233
79
31
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshark baydeluxe pavilionfrench chefeagle viewdiving clubnearby beachfree shuttlethai massageprivate beachpool barsmall price to paybumpy ridealoe veraloved this hotelmae haadour honeymoondive boat
Filter
Updating list...
597 - 602 of 1,012 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2009

The location of the hotel is realy a problem !
The acces is a dirt track (witch at least make you feel a massage )The acce to the bungalow is a steep stair who will exhaus you.
I thaught when i saw the web site of the jamhkiri resort that i will get what i se on the photo but instead of a bungalow i got a room in a ugly 5 storage building witch is not showed on the website.So i felt ripped off.
The restaurant wasn't great and overpriced/
.the spa wasn't profssional.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
37  Thank steveFinlande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Stayed in one of the new hotel rooms for 3 nights. First impressions were good, room was large, clean and great views. Spa and pool area were nice. However that's about all the good points, had dinner there our first night and just couldn't eat it, chicken smelt and looked dodgy. We ended up only eating fries for dinner on our other two nights there. Staff are pleasant but nearly too attentive, couldn't relax because there were always a few pairs of eyes watching us. The location is the real downside, I've never been so scared in my life going up and down the resort,there is no road whatsoever, because of this we only left the resort once during our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ainsoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

First of all let me state that we truly enjoyed our stay at the Jamakhiri. The staff was excellent (and many), very friendly and willing to help with everything.
The original hotel is also very beautifull with the small huts built into the cliffs, but we were given rooms in the new wing which are a classic hotel section. So even though the view is beautifull - it's much like being on a cruise ship - it is still a hotel and not exactly what you dream of when going to Koh Tao.
Otherwise it just worked. The hotel is placed almost out of reach, but the hotel operates a free shuttle every our to the main city that you can use. If you a party goer it might be a problem that the latest shuttle is at 20.30 but we are travelling with kids so no problem there.
From the hotel you can also walk the very steep trail to the beach and enjoy a day there - don't waste your time on the hotels own 5x5 meter beach - it's simply to small.
A disadvantage is also the very expensive food at the hotel it self - it is approx. 500% over city prices but even though it's better than Pranees shack by the harbour and you don't use plastic plates it's not 500% better :-) This has been pointed out by others and we agree.
One thing we will recommend is to use the hotels half day long boat for snorkeling. It's 2800 baht including snacks (dont expect lunch) and equipment and you get to snorkel where you want to and not in a group of 50+ other tourists as we saw in some of the bays. Just remember to bring money to enter Koh Panyang (Spelling might be wrong here). We weren't told so we couldn't enter :-(
But the snorkeling was great - Koh Tao probably have some years left untill we tourists have ruined the last coral.
A really great time, but the fact that it was an ordinary hotel building makes the 5. star unreachable.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

This beautiful hotel merits a mixed review, as one can expect luxury and beauty combined with some major inconveniences.

On one hand, the view is amazing from almost any angle of the hotel and the accommodations are top notch. When you look out from your balcony on the bay, you will be glad you made the trek. The service is quick and friendly, although communication can be difficult with the staff, most of whom only speak thai. The food is pretty good, too, although expensive, as might be expected at an isolated resort.

On the other hand, the hotel has some serious flaws. It forces visitors to climb up hundreds of stairs to get from their rooms to the restaurant and other facilities. The stairs are unevenly spaced, steep, and lack handrails. It is also very remote. Visitors should be aware that they are in for a ride on the back of a pickup truck along rugged terrain before arriving at the resort. After a ride on the sweaty ferry, this might not be everyone's idea of luxury. Plus, the resort has a bug problem at its restaurant, which means that you will be enjoying the view while swatting at flies. This might sound petty, but it seriously compromises the romantic setting they have created for you.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cadam09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Stayed there in July with wife and 6 yo child. We stayed in the newer 'hotel' building (not in the "villa's").
The rooms are nicely done (well, if you don't mind red carpet in the bedroom and grandma-style white and pink tiles in the bathroom) and offer a fabulous view of the ocean.
There are a LOT of stairs so this is not a hotel for elderly or unfit people.
The restaurant is really nice but sadly the food is overpriced and below expectation. There is a free shuttle to town though.
The swimming pool is really beautifull, as are the garden statues (monkeys mostly).
We did not use the spa as it seemed as overpriced as the food!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews