We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its remote” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jamahkiri Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Its remote”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

The hotel is in a lovely site but it is very remote and there is only three free taxies per day that take you to mae haad, so if you want to go anywhere else you have to pay and the hotel charges more than the local taxies and even they can be expensive. The last free taxi back to the hotel is at 6.30pm from mae haad.
Because the hotel is remote the drinks are very expensive and there is no where else to go for a drink in the evening.
Also be aware there are lots of steps from the rooms to the pool and reception (174)
The staff are lovely and the views are amazing from anywhere at the hotel.
So if you want to be away from it all this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank millie1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    187
    59
    25
    24
See reviews for
129
494
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Como
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

after reading all the comments, i have to say something for future jamahkiri clients.

the resort has nothing to do with other "backpacker"hotels that are on the island. the jamahkiri is the ONLY luxury resort on the island, so i also don t understand the comments about pricy food. yes, of course it is more expensive than the "normal" restaurants. also the eagle view of course is cheaper, but the quality you get at the jamahkiri is not comparable to the rest. also, you get ostrich steak and other things you wouldn t find on any other menu on the island.
the phad thai was the best phad thai i have ever had and yes, it is more expensive, but also worth it comparing it to european standards it is still very reasonable

i recommend not to compare the hotel to the normal thai backpacker standard but to luxurious resorts that are all over the world. comparing it e.g. to koh samui, the hotel costs half than the resorts there and it is much nicer

the hotel is not very family friendly i have to say, but honestly, that s what i (no kids) liked about it.

the rooms are nice and clean, not outstanding, but o.k, but the view is fantastic.
getting there is a bit tough regarding the street that is not done (5 years ago i was also there and it was the same). they definetely need to work on that.
the shuttle i have to agree on should drive to mae had more frequently or at least they should have one shuttle for the evening (e.g. pick up in mae had at 10 p.m) so you are not obliged to eat in the hotel or have to pay an expensive taxi

the stairs i don t think are a problem, good for health and body.
the pool is wonderful, enough sun beds and great service

to sum up, we had a wonderful time there, great food, very relaxing. not recommendable to families with kids, but for couples only a great place to stay for a very good value for money relation.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vero_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

We lived in deluxe room (cheapest one). It's fantastic! All furniture is new. View from balcony is fantastic!
Advantages: Free WiFi, very good SPA.
Disadvantages: very bad road, many staircases, can't swim at low tide.

Food was very good (pork's ribs are delicious) and price is reasonable.
My main disappointment in restaurant (and hotel) was smoking. It's illegal in Thailand but allowed in Jamahkiri. In this reason I don't recommend this hotel for nonsmoking travelers.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank devua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2010

This place is beatiful, no doubt, but thats it. Expencive food, some times 9* more than generally thai-food prizes (ex: Coca cola 100 bath Pad Thai about 350 baht). With every prices comes tax and service charges. Thank God for the family runned restaurant near by (up on the hill left for the entrence to jamahkiri) "Eagle View"!!!!!

On the website Jamahkiri promote every hour shuttle. That is not true, it is three times a day; 8 am, 1 pm and 6 pm. Rest of the day they charge you 800 bath one way. The road is very bumpy, other taxi drivers hesitate to drive you to the hotel.
I find the good reviews here strange. Every gest I met at the hotel had the same opinion as me. We where not satisfied at all.

Stay a way. You get stucked and you feed greedy hotel owners.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Rancilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamahkiriresort, manager at Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2010
Dear Ms Rancilla

We tank you for your visit at Jamahkiri Resort & Spa. We would like you to know that we take your comments seriously, and are happy that you found the resort to be a beautiful place to stay.

The Jamahkiri restaurant is definitely more expensive than other options on the island, but with good reason. We strive to be a 5 stars luxury resort and that certainly applies to our restaurants which is run by a European star French Chef.
We use only the highest quality of foods, pride ourselves on outstanding customers services, and are very competitively priced with other 5 stars luxury resorts and restaurants in Thailand. it is true that we do not cater to Thailand backpackers, but the quality of care and services you receive at Jamahkiri are beyond any others establishments on the island.
Our shuttle service runs exclusively for our hotel guests.

Sincerely
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

If you're considering Koh Tao as a vacation destination, then Jamakhiri is a definite option!
We stayed for 4 nights (5 nights would be perfect though) in the rooms which are very comfortable, have everything you need and a cool view of the ocean and bay.
I couldn't see much benefit in paying nearly double to stay in the pavilions, and felt that 5900 baht/night we paid was very good value for what feels like a 5* resort.
The service was excellent and the breakfast was the best we experienced in Thailand.
Yes, the road to the hotel isn't great but we managed it often with both of us on the scooter and at night time, it's not that bad if you take it slowly.
If you can ride a scooter/motor bike you're sorted, if not you'll be limited to the free pick-up service leaving the town center every half-hour till 8:30pm, and the taxi back after that will cost you like 800baht plus for 2 ppl, which could be an issue when choosing resorts.
We didn’t have a problem with the steps, though try not to plan to many trips to the room and back.
I scoured the whole island with my scooter and IMHO the beach that Jamakhiri is located next to is undoubtedly the best beach on the whole island.
We snorkelled there from Jamakhiri once and walked (+- 7mins ) the rest.
We didn’t have dinner at the hotel though as it was a bit pricey, and really enjoyed our dinners on the beach in Sairee.
There’s a cool little restaurant above Jamakhiri called the Eagle’s Nest, which serves excellent Thai food at very reasonable prices and has a very nice view of the bay.
Jamakhiri and Koh Tao was our favourite part of the trip, highly recommend both and will be back!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durban_Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

My g/f and I came to Koh Toa to take is some of the scenery and relax. We found the hotel to have good value for the dollar and be very quiet ... that is what we were looking for. The shuttle service suited our needs nicely. The last trip to the hotel from town was at 8:30 pm but that was Ok with us as we were not interested in staying out late. The hotel was almost deserted at times. We never shared the pool with more than 3 other couples. The stairs: yep there are lots ... but it is a small price to pay for the luxury, privacy, stunning views, and peace and quiet. Besides we needed the exercise ;). Cocktails at the bar were a little pricey as was the some of the food in comparison to town but I think all resorts are like that. But hey we did not have to leave the resort and we feel we got what we paid for. Tried the spa: it was a nicer experience than a spa in town and more expensive. In short, no regrets. We would certainly return. We really cannot think of too many cons.

Stayed January 2010
Helpful?
Thank DixerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

Architecturally stunning, impecable service (especially from the front reception staff) and immaculately clean. Great view from our room balcony. We upgraded from a backpacker dive and enjoyed the seclusion and unique location of Jamahkiri.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mangina22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
3.1 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.8 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamahkiri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamahkiri Resort & Spa

Property: Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Address: 21/2 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#1 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jamahkiri Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa, is a comfortable and sumptuous living resort located in Thian Og Bay on the south side of Koh Tao, a serenity area of the island, easily reachable by a panoramic 10 minutes drive from the harbour, offering a spectacular view over the gulf of Thailand. Once settled in, you will quickly discover that there are very little reasons to leave the resort, lush tropical garden, cooling pools, the Jamahkiri Spa, a fitness room, the marina and our private PADI diving club, recreational facilities, and fine cuisine, compliment the beauty of the resort's magnificent surroundings. Our place is the perfect combination for peace, serenity and nature lovers; add to that comfort, natural surrounding, and pristine services and its no wonder that since welcoming his first guest in 2002, Jamahkiri has established its distinctive reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Jamahkiri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamahkiri Hotel Koh Tao
Jamahkiri Spa And Resort
Jamahkiri Boutique Hotel
Jamahkiri Boutique Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing