We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst experiences ever”
Review of Sensi Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sensi Paradise
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2012

One of the worst experiences ever

We arrived to the hotel after we ordered the hotel from a tripeadviser based on the high rating.

We stayed two nights at the hotel.

The first night was ok. Although the hotel is very far away from everything, you can’t walk to the main beach and the taxi prices are very expensive relative to Thailand and to the distance. (200 BHT for one way), and the rooms are not so clean (many ants, and the pool was dirty and out of use) . All that was a bit uncomfortable but we knew it was a small island so we didn’t expect much.

The problems began at the second night. We arrived to the hotel (by Taxi) at 1 am after a party at the main beach. When we got to the room we noticed that we lost the key for the room. We went for the lobby in order to get a new one , but no one was there (they apparently close the lobby at 10 pm), we tried to find some other staff member but no one was there. No security guards no staff person, no one!!!!!!!!

You have to understand, the hotel is located in the middle of a jungle, at night it is very dark, all the rooms are outside (bungalows) and it is very scary (my wife was terrified).
We didn’t know what to do, you can’t go anywhere. We tried for 40 minutes to find someone, shouting for help – nothing .eventually we went for 15 minutes trough some woods until we found a taxi to take us back to the bar we were in. we found the key and went back to the hotel (my wife was hysterical by that time).

At the morning we approached with the story to the hotel manager, expecting for some compensation, but all we got for an answer that we are lying, and there is always a staff member at the hotel and he was sleeping in the lobby.
I asked him, “why would I lay about something like this?”, he told me that he believes to the staff member and not to me! When I told him that no one was there and asked him to check the security cameras located at the lobby, he said that they are currently not working and that we are lying! !!

We felt humiliated and never been treated like this in any hotel (especially not in Thailand) , when I told him that his behavior is not ok and that we were truly stuck, he told me it is our fault and he and the hotel owner that was present at that time laughed at us .

The only thought crossed my mind at that time is that I’m glad that I only lost (and found) a room key and no other health problem or snake bite was our problem Couse than we were defiantly would be stuck in the middle of the jungle with no help.

We were in 10 different hotels in Thailand and enjoyed all of them – this one was the worst experience ever.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank uri g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,271)
There are newer reviews for Sensi Paradise
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed at the Sensi the first week in January 2012 and it was amazing. The bungalows are hidden in a wonderful jungle setting so you do not get to see your neighbors. Wonderful for honeymoon couples. East walk to there village and to a number of beaches. They also have two wonderful pools which are suitable for small children. Food at the hotel is excellent and well priced and the restaurant is situated on the waters edge. The bungalows with the low numbers are better situated. Staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious and well kept. Will stay there again if we return to Koh Tao

Room Tip: As for rooms in the low number range, close to the reception or pool
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chriskCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed at Sensi in January 2012 with 2 children.

Quite unique location -- close to the town, restaurants, shops etc. but very quiet. Very nice beach with good snorkeling. Great pool. Great restaurant with romantic atmosphere, delicious food and reasonable prices, well worth having a dinner at sunset. The bungalows are scattered on a large territory, some in the hills, others closer to the beach.

Be cautious with 3 bedoom royal villa. When booking it appears that there's only one located straight at the beach. But there're at least a couple of them and ours was not on the beach but in the mountains. Not a big problem but not very safe with young children. The royal villa itself is two separate buildings. The main house is ok with two bedrooms one with aircon and the other located on the mezzonine floor with high stairs which can be dangerous for children. The 3rd bedroom is not a bedroom in the usual sense but a separate wooden hut, very small, dark, with cracks in the walls and with nothing else but a bed. Good if you have a monk in your family, otherwise avoid this room.

So given all the above we decided to change the room and the hotel made the change quickly and gave us a one-bedroom large beach villa which was able to accomodate us all and was very nice.

Overall we had a very pleasant stay and can recommend Sensi as a nice place to stay on Koh Tao.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mama_Masha9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

One of the best resorts. It is conveniently located. The service is over the top! Great value for the money. The restaurant has excellent food for very reasonable prices. The Tom yum is some of the best we have had in all of Thailand. The service is impeccable. Everyday, at least once the staff comes by to see if you need anything or to restock the items in your room and fix the mosquito net/remake the bed. The pool is very nice and clean. The pool is close to lots of stores, dive shops and the pier while still feeling secluded. It is like paradise. There is free Internet throughout the resort.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hdrake757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

we've just finished a week long diving holiday in koh tao and we stayed in sensi paradise. Its a lovely little hotel - with gorgeous rooms and two beautiful pools and an overall beach holiday relaxed vibe.
We took a two room cottage facing the pool ( well facing is a bit of an overstatement - you had to dislocate your neck to see the pool from the room or verandah, but you get the picture!) and it was a lovely holiday.

the bacon pizzas at the poolside are great, the rest of the food could do with a bit of improvement.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelhappy_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Visited Sensi Paradise in March 2011 for a family/diving break and had an amazing 5 days on this beautiful island. We stayed in a traditional Thai Bungalow which had 3 bedrooms and large lounge/balcony overlooking the sea & beautiful gardens, bungalow was very clean and the staff bring you thai tea, biscuits & fruit in the afternoon and set the room for sleeping. Beautiful surroundings, breakfast is served in the beach restaurant and the gardens and landscape are stunning. Beach itself is not so great, but who cares when you have such fantastic surroundings and lovely lovely people. We would definately stay again. Thanks Sensi xx

Room Tip: More of a traditional Thai experience with open air bathrooms and mosquitto nets on beds. The famil...
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stacey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is a super hotel based at the quiet end of Sairee. It has its own beach which is lovely. The rooms comprise separate chalets and are delightful. The extras and provisions are plentiful. Beach towles are changed daily, umberella's, parasols, beach mats, hats, slippers, dressing down, toiletries, basket of fruit in the room and china tea served on the balcony of your room daily at noon - all included.
The restaurant is well priced and the food good with offerings for all tastes from pizza to a decent Thail meal. The staff are superb and can't do enough for you.
The island is not rich in water supply so the showers are low pressure but roomy and certainly adequate. As with Greece toilet paper must not be placed in the loo anywhere on the island, but in a basket at the side. The staff are fastidious in changing these and the public toilet areas around the restaurant and pool are fabulously clean.
We had two chalets at the top of the slope next to the small supply road to the hotel. This was not an issue and only the odd motorbike went by. The noise from the bars in Siree did indeed float over the water at night and was a slight nuisence - but considering that the island is predominantly for younger people this is to be expected.
The hotel is ranged over a steep sloping site and I would not recommend it for anyone who does not cope well with steps - other than that I would return to this hotel it is fabulous.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Xz3kd47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,250 reviews
1.3 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,512 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
343 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
526 reviews
1.2 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 49 in Koh Tao
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensi Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensi Paradise

Address: 27 Moo 2 | Mae Haad, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £55 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sensi Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sensi Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sensi Paradise Hotel Koh Tao
Sensi Paradise Ko Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing