We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a small piece of paradise.”
Review of Sensi Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sensi Paradise
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Truly a small piece of paradise.”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We were a bit confused about booking this place due to some of the bad reviews, but we decided to give it a shot and after three nights at this resort, we can highly recommend it. The main thing in the reviews that put us off were the bugs and critters. Well, this resort is actually partially located at what I would call a jungle, so I guess a few bugs must be expected. But don't worry, most of what you see are lizards and they are harmless. At least to humans, actually they eat bugs and mosquitoes so they might even come in handy. The resort is at the far southern end of the main beach in Ko Tao, at a very quiet and idyllic spot with a sandy beach, palm trees, flowers, cliffs and crystal clear water. The cabins are spread out on a large area so it's really not crowded. Pool are in two levels with a pool bar. Nice restaurant down at the beach with good food and excellent service. Breakfast with a good selection being served in the same restaurant. Cabins are spacious, delicate and clean with mosquito nets over each bed, aircondition, balcony with chairs and a sofa and mini bar, water boiler and safe. Free wifi could have worked better in our cabin, but worked flawlessly by the pool. Be sure not to miss snorkling or diving when on Ko Tao. We hired a private boat arranged by the hotel for one whole day of snorkelling and swimming at a very reasonable price and fantastic service by the captain "JoJo" with lunch included. Follow the "jungle" path southward from the hotel to explore some even more beautiful and exotic beaches.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    418
    127
    42
    43
See reviews for
330
628
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I am very surprised to read the last two reviews!
I just come back from Sensi Paradise, and it was a really lovely experience!!
It is a very quiet resort, very well localisated, at the end of Mae Haad beach. It is at two minutes from the first shops, walking by the beach, and so, close to evrything you need!
It is a bit close to the main pear of the island, that can be disturbing if you don't like the charm of the fishing boats coming back in the morning.
It is true that most of the bungalows are up in the hill, and if you have anabilities to walk, it's better to take a room on the beach.
But the hill is not that sharpen!
Concerning the swiming pools, they are very beautifull, and cleaned every morning by the staff! During the day you can have some leaf falling done from the treas, but it's not disturbing at all!
There are two swimmings pools separated, so that everyone is not around the same swimming pool, and it keeps the place quiet and relaxing.
You can order snack and beverage aroud them and the wifi conection is very good there.
The restaurant of the hotel is, according to people livng in Koh Tao, one of the best of the island, regarding price and food quality. And I must confess that we eaten very well. But each time we wanted to try another restaurant, the staff was really nice and helpfull for finding a godd place for lunch or dinner.
Concerning the breakfast, I've read many different things on trip adviser. Now in Sensi Paradise, the breakfast is a Buffet, since the 1st of january. It is very rich and full of everything! I have a special recomandation for the pancakes in form of heart!
The room are very nice, simple and causy. No television, no telephone, just wood bungalows with a big balcony to relax on. If you are enough lucky to be at your home around 12 aclock, the staff bring you a jasmin tea with biscuits.
To finish, the staff is very nice, always smiling, and very helpfull in case of troubles. Even at 11pm!!!

For me the Sensi Paradise was really an amazing choice to forget about my noisy and crazy life in Paris!

Room Tip: rooms 315 and 314 for 6 and 4 people have their own private beach 31 33 36 35 39 have an amazing se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guillaume d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

After visiting and searching on the web, we really wanted to stay at this little paradise in Koh Tao. The stories we read and photo’s we’d seen, the swimming pool, it looked perfect. Upon arrival (catamaran) we walked our way to the resort (never knew that you could ask for a pick-up service from the resort). We were welcomed with open arms, very friendly smiling staff, a refreshing welcome drink and an upgrade. The reception was located at a higher place as mentioned on the web. But so were all the little huts!
Almost all the huts are built in between the rocks. So to get to your hut you have to climb several stairs (read: stairs made from natural stones, different levels of steps). The hut was nicely decorated, with a nice private patio to enjoy nature. Late in the afternoon staff will pass by to enfold the mosquito net above the bed. We decided to take a dive in the pool, however they were building new huts, so we had a lot of noise, the pool was completely dark (due to the stones) and it was not clean (lot of leaves and odd smell).
After a nice (but expensive) dinner we wanted to get out for a little walk, however this resort is located at the end of a pier, lost and dark. It felt very unsafe for two women to walk to the main area.
The next morning we went for breakfast. The staff was compared to the reception not friendly and breakfast was a coffee or tea and orange juice. And ONE choice from the menu. If you wanted a combination of cereals and fruit or an scrambled egg and fruit or another flavour of juice you had to pay extra (f.e. glass of pineapple juice 120 Baht).
Conclusion: nice resort with sometimes sea view, but located at the end of a pier (dark and not save for women). Reception very friendly, great restaurant, very poor breakfast and not friendly for disabled people and/or families with small children). Lack of maintenance of the swimming pool.
And not convenient for people who get easily sea sick.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

One of the worst experiences ever

We arrived to the hotel after we ordered the hotel from a tripeadviser based on the high rating.

We stayed two nights at the hotel.

The first night was ok. Although the hotel is very far away from everything, you can’t walk to the main beach and the taxi prices are very expensive relative to Thailand and to the distance. (200 BHT for one way), and the rooms are not so clean (many ants, and the pool was dirty and out of use) . All that was a bit uncomfortable but we knew it was a small island so we didn’t expect much.

The problems began at the second night. We arrived to the hotel (by Taxi) at 1 am after a party at the main beach. When we got to the room we noticed that we lost the key for the room. We went for the lobby in order to get a new one , but no one was there (they apparently close the lobby at 10 pm), we tried to find some other staff member but no one was there. No security guards no staff person, no one!!!!!!!!

You have to understand, the hotel is located in the middle of a jungle, at night it is very dark, all the rooms are outside (bungalows) and it is very scary (my wife was terrified).
We didn’t know what to do, you can’t go anywhere. We tried for 40 minutes to find someone, shouting for help – nothing .eventually we went for 15 minutes trough some woods until we found a taxi to take us back to the bar we were in. we found the key and went back to the hotel (my wife was hysterical by that time).

At the morning we approached with the story to the hotel manager, expecting for some compensation, but all we got for an answer that we are lying, and there is always a staff member at the hotel and he was sleeping in the lobby.
I asked him, “why would I lay about something like this?”, he told me that he believes to the staff member and not to me! When I told him that no one was there and asked him to check the security cameras located at the lobby, he said that they are currently not working and that we are lying! !!

We felt humiliated and never been treated like this in any hotel (especially not in Thailand) , when I told him that his behavior is not ok and that we were truly stuck, he told me it is our fault and he and the hotel owner that was present at that time laughed at us .

The only thought crossed my mind at that time is that I’m glad that I only lost (and found) a room key and no other health problem or snake bite was our problem Couse than we were defiantly would be stuck in the middle of the jungle with no help.

We were in 10 different hotels in Thailand and enjoyed all of them – this one was the worst experience ever.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank uri g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed at the Sensi the first week in January 2012 and it was amazing. The bungalows are hidden in a wonderful jungle setting so you do not get to see your neighbors. Wonderful for honeymoon couples. East walk to there village and to a number of beaches. They also have two wonderful pools which are suitable for small children. Food at the hotel is excellent and well priced and the restaurant is situated on the waters edge. The bungalows with the low numbers are better situated. Staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious and well kept. Will stay there again if we return to Koh Tao

Room Tip: As for rooms in the low number range, close to the reception or pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chriskCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russia, Moscow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed at Sensi in January 2012 with 2 children.

Quite unique location -- close to the town, restaurants, shops etc. but very quiet. Very nice beach with good snorkeling. Great pool. Great restaurant with romantic atmosphere, delicious food and reasonable prices, well worth having a dinner at sunset. The bungalows are scattered on a large territory, some in the hills, others closer to the beach.

Be cautious with 3 bedoom royal villa. When booking it appears that there's only one located straight at the beach. But there're at least a couple of them and ours was not on the beach but in the mountains. Not a big problem but not very safe with young children. The royal villa itself is two separate buildings. The main house is ok with two bedrooms one with aircon and the other located on the mezzonine floor with high stairs which can be dangerous for children. The 3rd bedroom is not a bedroom in the usual sense but a separate wooden hut, very small, dark, with cracks in the walls and with nothing else but a bed. Good if you have a monk in your family, otherwise avoid this room.

So given all the above we decided to change the room and the hotel made the change quickly and gave us a one-bedroom large beach villa which was able to accomodate us all and was very nice.

Overall we had a very pleasant stay and can recommend Sensi as a nice place to stay on Koh Tao.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mama_Masha9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

One of the best resorts. It is conveniently located. The service is over the top! Great value for the money. The restaurant has excellent food for very reasonable prices. The Tom yum is some of the best we have had in all of Thailand. The service is impeccable. Everyday, at least once the staff comes by to see if you need anything or to restock the items in your room and fix the mosquito net/remake the bed. The pool is very nice and clean. The pool is close to lots of stores, dive shops and the pier while still feeling secluded. It is like paradise. There is free Internet throughout the resort.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hdrake757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,215 reviews
1.3 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,437 reviews
1.9 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
220 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
489 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensi Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensi Paradise

Property: Sensi Paradise
Address: 27 Moo 2 | Mae Haad, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sensi Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sensi Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sensi Paradise Hotel Koh Tao
Sensi Paradise Ko Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing