We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Sensi Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sensi Paradise
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

After spending 5 days at Sensi, we moved on to a much ritzier and much more expensive 5 star resort in Phuket. Yet Sensi was the highlight of our trip. Wonderful staff, great snorkelling with a shipwreck metres from the resort, beautiful pool, great seaside restaurant. Getting vegan meals for me was no problem (though I didn't fuss too much about whether fish sauce was present).

We took extensive walks around the area, and - at least from the outside - Sensi seemed to be the nicest resort in the whole place. The huts are tucked away in what could almost be called a jungle. Sitting on the verandah surrounded by lush greenery and watching the tiny monkey/squirrel critters fooling around like maniacs on the trees is a great way to relax. The huts themselves are rustic but still luxurious. We were lucky to get a big lizard in ours (it kept cautiously to the top of the wall, so we had no fear that it would accost us in any way)

Ko Tao itself is wonderful. Dirt roads surrounded by greenery, locals that practically radiate good will, relaxed atmosphere. Make sure you hire a motor bike and go riding around. We were charmed by the place, and Phuket seemed a bit sterile and aggressive by comparison.

The town has something of a trendy 20-something party vibe. If you're a cool cat, you'll want to get accommodation somewhere closer to there, because Sensi feels more peripheral, secluded, and family friendly. For us, that was perfect: walking distance to the livelier areas, but tucked away in heaven for when we just wanted to relax.

Room Tip: most huts seemed to have their own benefits. Just make sure you're away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Davidowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    417
    125
    42
    43
See reviews for
329
621
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed ai this resort three times now, the last two times with girl freind and her 13 year old son. We are always made to feel special by the fantastic staff, the location is perfect(lovely gardens), and the rooms amazing.We still want to return again. Thankyou sensi paradise. John Pedlow, Debbie Clark and Reece Mullings, Feb. 2012

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I recently stayedin this hotel with friends, our two room bungalow didnt have a sea view but it was really nice, clean and quiet. Only one room had AC though (and i stayed in the other one) so it got a bit hot over night. The hotel is a good half hour walk from main entertainment center Saaree beach or you can take a tuktuk for 300baht if you want some crazy beach party at night (go to Fishbowl btw for good fire show). The guy at the reception (his name is Ben) was extremely helpful, really nice and kind. He organized everyhting for us and gave us recommendations. For the rest of the staff, I cant tell the same as I found some of them a bit rude. The breakfast is buffet and there is plenty of choice. They start serving as early as 6.30am which was perfect for us as we had early morning dives. Restaurant and massage services are a bit expensive compared to rest of the island but plenty of choice around i.e. Moov had great tapas and mojitos, and only 5-10 min walk to the hotel. Overall, I really liked Ko Tao and this hotel and can definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank datalay1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed at Sensi Paradise for 4 nights and really enjoyed our stay. Nice resort at the very end of the Mae had beach. Being surrounded by trees and vegetation there were butterflies everywhere as well as frogs and geckos. Mosquitos were annoying between 5-7pm and then they disappeared. The bathrooms needs to be renovated but otherwise all good

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dumlekola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We went for our honeymoon in April

Our room was not up to scratch, newer rooms might be. I have never sayed in an air conditioned room that still required a mosquito net. We came from Phi Phi and the Holiday Inn bungalows are similarly set in the jungle and we had no problems there. That wasn't the problem. The room was basically pitch black even with all the lights on.

On the plus side the pool is lovely and the service amazing. Basically this is a poorly constructed hotel partially compensated with excellent service. For example there were no phones in the room but when we asked about a wake up call they lent us an alarm clock, when we asked to borrow a torch to help find our way back to the room and they were happy to lend us one but the hotel hadn't been constructed with adequate lighting.

Postives - service, pool, restaurant

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This was my first time in Thailand and after coming from Chaweng in Samui I was a little wary that Ko Tao was going to be more of the same - busy and touristy, but I was very wrong. Ko Tao is a gem of a small Island where the hotels blend in perfectly with the natural surroundings. I fell in love with it straight away. We stayed in a 5 star in Phangan after Ko Tao but still preffered Ko Tao.
We stayed at Sensi Paradise hotel and were not disapointed. It's a beautiful place, not so much in a luxurious way but in a tropical Island way, our hut was nestled amoungst the forrest up the hill but yet less than a minute walk to the beach. Sensi Paradise is probably in the top 5 hotels out of 32 in Ko Tao but is very reasonably priced (approx 70 euro p/n). Our hut was a good size, (we choose one of the less expensive ones because we were only staying 3 nights) large balcony and well equiped room with aircon. Breakfast was good - nothing amazing but the restaurant was excellent. The tables are on a mezzanine overlooking the bay with spectacular views and sunsets and the food is pretty good too, it was the only place to give us an ice bucket for our wine during our 3 week stay in Thailand!
The swimming pool is amazing and big, and on too levels, the pictures on the website don't do it justice!!! Good pool service and good food from the bar, If you've had enough of the pool just go to the beach which is also amazing and good for snorkling. You can also take a walk on a small path which takes you meandering through the forrest, hills and rocks to more secluded, undeveloped beaches where you are likely to be the only people there, make sure to bring your swim gear as this is a testing walk and you'll need a dip in the crystal clear waters to cool down when you get there, about 2 km but you can go further.
The hotel supply snorkling gear free of charge and are more than willing to help you with any day trips you are looking to do - I'd suggest you hire a special Sensi long tail boat to bring you around the intire island stopping off along the way to do some snorkling, bathing or whatever.
The hotel is a five minute walk along the beach from the pier (I'd suggest stopping off along the way for a beer in Sunset Bar to watch the sunset) where you'll find plenty of places to eat and drink. Had Sai Ree town is a short taxi ride away where there are more options to eat and drink.

I would definitely stay in Sensi Paradise again. There are a couple more expensive hotels in Ko Tao but are very isolated, for example, the Bamboo Huts, which are close to Sensi but its a tough walk along cliff and forrest to get anywhere. Sensi is in the perfect location with great pool and beach. - stay there, you won't be dissapointed!
If you struggle with mobility, this is probably not for you as there is a lot of steps and hills. Personally, I liked it as it worked off the beer from the night before!
My only regret about Sensi and Ko Tao is that I didn't stay for the full 3 weeks......As a large Austrian once said "I'll be back".......

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and not too high up the hill. We stayed in number 13 which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We expected so much from the pictures and reviews of this resort but felt the place was a little flat and generic.

Whilst it was ideal for families, couples visiting seemed to struggle for bits to do in the resort. It was very beautiful, but you could have been anywhere, there was no character to the place and it was nice to get out of an evening.

With two brilliant pools and a nice beach it should have had everything you'd want and on paper it looks great, but for some reason we just felt that there wasn't anything unique and special about it.

The room we stayed in was a garden view and we felt like we were in the shed at the back of the garden, very nice but with no views and not really what we expected.

For the money, it would have been better staying somewhere in Sairee Village. It was a beautiful place and the facilities were fantastic, but for it wasn't for us really.

Room Tip: Don't go for a garden view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbylid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
1.3 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensi Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensi Paradise

Property: Sensi Paradise
Address: 27 Moo 2 | Mae Haad, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sensi Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sensi Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sensi Paradise Hotel Koh Tao
Sensi Paradise Ko Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing