We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Paradise”
Review of Sensi Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sensi Paradise
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rustic Paradise”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Our 2nd stay at the resort- just as good as the first time!
Charming, rustic but very comfortable, some of the rooms have been totally rebuilt since last visit. The breakfast was buffet style rather than set menu options which seems to work better, although things like smoked salmon and eggs benedict no longer available, still plenty of choice though. Staff very polite and friendly, rooms cleaned daily with turn-down / mosquito net service late afternoon. A pot of jasmine tea and biscuits arrives on your balcony around mid-day if you are lucky, we seemed to miss it most days, but it's a nice touch!
What makes the resort so good is the amazing amount of space between bungalows and the beautifully kept gardens with all the wildlife- we heard reports of a resident monitor lizard but didn't see it- and the location. You are literally a few minutes walk into town along the beach or footpath where there are a good range of restaurants, bars, seven-eleven, dive shops, ATM's, gift shops, massage shops, travel/tour operators etc. We found Paprika restaurant particularly good for Thai food, but Dolphin Lounge, Blue Diamond and Tuk-Tah (on the main road to Chalok) are all good.
If you are looking to dive (which is a must on Ko Tao), by far the best dive-school is Master Divers, conveniently located a 5 min walk from Sensi- very professional and safety-conscious compared to some of the others.
Some people are worried about the noise from the harbour, but we didn't mind it at all, the sound of the long-tails is part of the charm (rather like a distant lawn-mower) and watching the comings and going of the ferries from the restaurant and beach area was good entertainment!
Can't wait to go back.....

Room Tip: Ask for beach side of road, the ones over the road are on a steep hill- long walk from restaurant/ p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mozzie-killer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    425
    128
    46
    43
See reviews for
345
634
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed at Paradise over New Year, 2012 for 6 nights, 11 of us in in total. Two families plus a grandparent, ages of children ranged between 10-14. It is a beautiful resort, although it doesn't feel like a resort as everything is set out as if there are only a handful of bungalows. Very tasteful and having little impact on surrounding beauty. The service was of a high standard starting with our collection from the ferry. Our room was stunning, we chose a room with outside bathroom, can you beat showering under the stars? The odd gecko was around but what else would you expect travelling to the gulf of Thailand. The bungalows had a colonial hand crafted feel to them, balconies with sofas to sit on and enjoy the evening drinks (fridge on balcony). The low ambience lighting in the rooms added to the magical, exotic feel. Location was perfect for walks into 'town' with plenty of choice of eateries and restaurants. Food at Sensi was out of this world, breakfast, plenty of choice and plenty of tea/coffee. The standard of food was very high, we never had a bad meal. Children went fishing one day bringing back their 'catch' which the hotel kindly cooked up for us and served beautifully that evening. Rooms were discreetly cleaned daily and mosquito nets pulled down in the evenings. Every afternoon a tray of green tea and nibbles would appear for us on the balcony. Noise of ferries coming to dock never a problem to us, beats cars! We will be returning, if only we could do so more often. Second visit to the island, first time 20 years ago, change is happening on the island but still peaceful, no airport so would hold some people off. We didn't swim at Mae Haad beach as there are plenty of other beaches which are within walking distance giving the opportunity to try local cuisine/drinks at other beach bars. If you get the chance to go, don't hesitate.

Room Tip: Air condition plus fan might be needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Stayed a week, and loved it (hardly paid anything?!) The "rooms" are great, and cleaned well. The staff was very friendly, and always helpful. Breakfast was good and diverse, and the dinner- menu was ok (a little limited).
The hotel is located close to the ferry- dock, but we were never bothered by noise or hassle.
In my opinion the hotel is located on the islands best beach- spot, and if you disagree, it's easy to get around!

If I go back to Koh Tao, I know where i will be staying!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikkel_Ellingsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This is a fantastic resort with lovely rooms, a stunning pool and a great restaurant. The service is friendly and efficient. This resort is absolutely great value for money with a very high standard all-round which is far beyond its price bracket.

I have seen some criticism of the location but we really liked it with a short stroll into town. We did hire a quad (which the hotel organised for us) to explore some of the rest of the island though and there are certainly prettier beaches, but its a small island and easy to get around. I'd also strongly recommend a trip out to Koh Nang Yuan which is stunning. The hotel arranged a longboat for us which takes about 30 minutes each way.

I would highly recommend this resort.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChloeinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We absolutely loved this place and enjoyed our 7 day stay in Sensi on our honeymoon. They picked us up from the harbour even though the hotel is just around the corner. Check in was very quick and they gave you nice refreshments as soon as you got to the hotel. The bungalows are so cozy and romantic.We had the best night sleep in their beds with the mosquito nets.In sensi it feels like there is no one else around you. Hotel beach was nice and good for snorkeling, even though there are some nicer beaches on the island. Its about 10minute walk to all the restaurants and the location is very nice and secluded at the end of the beach. Pool area was also nice and there were always available chairs for you. We had a nice romantic dinner at the hotel restaurant on our last night and i wish we would have eaten there more than once! Doesn't matter if you are travelling with the whole family or as a couple Sensi paradise fits everyone! Will definately go back there some day.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiikkaWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Sensi Paradise in a pool view villa. The rooms are spacious with everything available to use/borrow during your stay from beach bag, snorkles, slippers, sarong and sun hats!. Its only a short walk on to the beach and town with many excellent restaurants to choose from, my personal recommendation is the Whitening. Ths staff were all helpful and professhional. Nice touches like afternoon tea and treats served on your baloncy. Breakfast was a nice range of cooked, fresh fruits, breads and cerals with a view to die for. The beach directly in front of the hotel is quite small and sunbeds are not always available the most annoying thing is people from other hotels/accomodation come along and use them! Water taxis are available from the hotel do not miss a trip over to Nangyuan island 100baht per person.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormanBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Wonderful pools, spacious private bungalow in a big complex, peaceful winding paths, restaurant with a fantastic view. Close to the pier, short walk along the beach or the street to restaurants and the town. Excellent staff. Easy to arrange a long boat to great snorkelling bays, could also snorkel to see some fish off the beach to the ship wreck. We stayed in 37 which was well situated, not on the beach, close to the pool and really nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobynMort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,238 reviews
1.3 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,492 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
337 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
516 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensi Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensi Paradise

Property: Sensi Paradise
Address: 27 Moo 2 | Mae Haad, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sensi Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sensi Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sensi Paradise Hotel Koh Tao
Sensi Paradise Ko Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing