We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sensi Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sensi Paradise
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great value hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in Febuary, the best thing about this hotel is its location. It is very close to the resort and pier where there are plenty of bars and restaurants. This was the first time we have visited Koh Tao and I have to say it exceeded our expectations. We will definitely be returning! As for the hotel itself the rooms were basic but very clean and well maintained. I was concerned about Mosquitos as we saw some rather large moisuitos around the pool on the first day but we had no issues in our room and a mosquito net is provided. The beach is beautiful and we preferred to relax on the beach than by the pool due to the moisuitos. I would recommend this hotel but be aware if you are travelling with small children or are less mobile as there are lots of steps!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    404
    118
    41
    42
See reviews for
324
600
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Assens, Denmark
Level Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Depending on needs, this can be great or not....we liked the typical Thai bungalows, which had nice terraces and was built in different levels ( note that there are many steps). Also you may have a visit of a bug or two as the huts are in between trees. Use moskito repellant!
The waiters were all very nice and smiling. Food was good and not pricy.
We had hoped for great snorkling off the beach, which was not that great. There is a ship wreck, but nothing worth looking at there...so that was very disappointing, as we mainly chose this hotel due to our desire to snorkle.
The water is not so clear here as lots of boats pass as they go to and from Mae Head.
if you want great snorkling go to Nangyuan, but don´t come just to lie on the beach, as there is little room!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MereteMadsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Stay: February 2013
This resort is made up of a collection of bungalows built in what appears to be traditional style. My bungalow was on stilts half-way up the hill in the jungle-like setting. the bungalow was rustic while being quite comfortable, a short walk to the beautiful beach and restaurant. A very nice touch was the fan above the porch sitting-area, I enjoyed chiling there and listening to exotic jungle noises and watching the resident squirrels tear around the tree-tops right in front of my nose. The only negative thing I can say about the bungalow is that it was very, very dark inside.

The breakfast buffet (included) was the best I had in Thailand. Big selection.

The location is wonderful, on a gorgeous bay, 5 min walk to Mae Haad Town, about a 20 min walk from hoppin' Sairee Village. It's also interesting and beautiful to walk the other way towards the southern tip of Koh Tao -- a path goes right through the resort. Reportedly there are big monitor lizards that live in the rocks offshore. I never saw any myself, but did see other people get really excited about spotting them from the comfort of my lounge chair on the beach.

My activities: walking and exploring the southern part of the island, sitting on the beach watching the activity on Mae Haad Bay, partying in Sairee Village, renting a longtail boat for a sunset "cruise", and snorkeling. I'm not a big swimmer or snorkeler, but even with my limited skills this was the biggest hit for me: Sensi is within swimming distance to a coral reef with a 50-year-old wreck in it! It was amazing.

All in all, definitely somewhere I recommend and would like to visit again.

Room Tip: my "garden-view" room was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dje_baseltown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed at the resort on the busy season - during Feburary for our honeymoon. We booked the place in advance and we were hoping to get to a high level resort, following the photos in the website and the high price- almost 90$ for a night. Well we were very surprised to see that the room was nothing like the photos!!! It was small, dark, not as clean as we imagined and due to the large trees in the garden, we had a consistent feeling of no air. Besides that there were many moskitos.
We decided to leave early than we planed, and stayed there for only 2 nights instead of 5.
The owner was very surprised that we complained but eventually let us go with no extra charge besides what we paid in advance- 50%.
The place is not worth the money. We don't at all recommend it .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaliaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

My wife and I stayed here in February 2013. We chose this hotel based, in part, on the reviews on Trip Advisor. We were note disappointed. Located at the south end of Mae Haad beach set in native jungle. Accommodation in traditional style Thai cottages on stilts, and the quality of these is amazing. Wonderful bed, a/c, great view of bay from terrace. which included a day bed. Steps down to the bay where you can snorkel straight from the resort and scoot back to your room for a shower in the nice bathroom.

Resort pool is excellent, split on two levels, both of which are very big. Plenty of loungers for everyone.

The landscaping of the gardens / jungle is great. Managed enough to feel comfortable in, but retaining the feel of a tropical jungle environment.

Very easy walk to Mae Haad beach (10min) and Sairee Beach (30min). Very good food in both places if you don't want to eat at the very nice, and well priced resort restaurant. Nightlife quiet in Mae Haad, lots more action ar Sairee. Resort far enough away from Sairee so you do not get disturbed from partying.

Staff very helpful, professional.

Personally I think this is the best place to stay on the west side of Koh Tao!

Room Tip: Ask for cottage next to the bay so you get great views and can snorkel from your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alasdair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Our 2nd stay at the resort- just as good as the first time!
Charming, rustic but very comfortable, some of the rooms have been totally rebuilt since last visit. The breakfast was buffet style rather than set menu options which seems to work better, although things like smoked salmon and eggs benedict no longer available, still plenty of choice though. Staff very polite and friendly, rooms cleaned daily with turn-down / mosquito net service late afternoon. A pot of jasmine tea and biscuits arrives on your balcony around mid-day if you are lucky, we seemed to miss it most days, but it's a nice touch!
What makes the resort so good is the amazing amount of space between bungalows and the beautifully kept gardens with all the wildlife- we heard reports of a resident monitor lizard but didn't see it- and the location. You are literally a few minutes walk into town along the beach or footpath where there are a good range of restaurants, bars, seven-eleven, dive shops, ATM's, gift shops, massage shops, travel/tour operators etc. We found Paprika restaurant particularly good for Thai food, but Dolphin Lounge, Blue Diamond and Tuk-Tah (on the main road to Chalok) are all good.
If you are looking to dive (which is a must on Ko Tao), by far the best dive-school is Master Divers, conveniently located a 5 min walk from Sensi- very professional and safety-conscious compared to some of the others.
Some people are worried about the noise from the harbour, but we didn't mind it at all, the sound of the long-tails is part of the charm (rather like a distant lawn-mower) and watching the comings and going of the ferries from the restaurant and beach area was good entertainment!
Can't wait to go back.....

Room Tip: Ask for beach side of road, the ones over the road are on a steep hill- long walk from restaurant/ p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mozzie-killer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed at Paradise over New Year, 2012 for 6 nights, 11 of us in in total. Two families plus a grandparent, ages of children ranged between 10-14. It is a beautiful resort, although it doesn't feel like a resort as everything is set out as if there are only a handful of bungalows. Very tasteful and having little impact on surrounding beauty. The service was of a high standard starting with our collection from the ferry. Our room was stunning, we chose a room with outside bathroom, can you beat showering under the stars? The odd gecko was around but what else would you expect travelling to the gulf of Thailand. The bungalows had a colonial hand crafted feel to them, balconies with sofas to sit on and enjoy the evening drinks (fridge on balcony). The low ambience lighting in the rooms added to the magical, exotic feel. Location was perfect for walks into 'town' with plenty of choice of eateries and restaurants. Food at Sensi was out of this world, breakfast, plenty of choice and plenty of tea/coffee. The standard of food was very high, we never had a bad meal. Children went fishing one day bringing back their 'catch' which the hotel kindly cooked up for us and served beautifully that evening. Rooms were discreetly cleaned daily and mosquito nets pulled down in the evenings. Every afternoon a tray of green tea and nibbles would appear for us on the balcony. Noise of ferries coming to dock never a problem to us, beats cars! We will be returning, if only we could do so more often. Second visit to the island, first time 20 years ago, change is happening on the island but still peaceful, no airport so would hold some people off. We didn't swim at Mae Haad beach as there are plenty of other beaches which are within walking distance giving the opportunity to try local cuisine/drinks at other beach bars. If you get the chance to go, don't hesitate.

Room Tip: Air condition plus fan might be needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
1.3 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
1.9 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.4 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensi Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensi Paradise

Property: Sensi Paradise
Address: 27 Moo 2 | Mae Haad, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sensi Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sensi Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sensi Paradise Hotel Koh Tao
Sensi Paradise Ko Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing