We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful grounds, nice pool, great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sensi Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sensi Paradise
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, nice pool, great views”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and decided to upgrade to an ocean view bungalow on the last night-- definitely worth it! The Sensi grounds are beautiful and well kept, the pool is fantastic (multi-level), and the rooms are clean and include a security box and mosquito nets.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have a private balcony with a sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    409
    123
    41
    42
See reviews for
325
609
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Our experience at Sensi Paradise was absolute perfection, until check out.... But I will start by telling you the positives of this beautiful hotel.

We were greeted by a lovely lady on check in and were given tasty alcohol free cocktails. The hotel is beautiful to look at, so calm and serene.

Being upgraded for free was a wonderful surprise and our room was an absolute dream. Decorated wonderfully. It was the perfect mix between modern and traditional.

The hotel cater for your every need. We felt like royalty. The restaurant is beautiful and reasonably priced and the staff in the restaurant were amazing. We cannot thank you enough for making us feel so welcome!

During our stay my boyfriend had a nasty fall and we had to go to hospital. The staff were great, organising us a taxi and waiting for us at the hospital.

That day I had to take another taxi into town, I ordered it at reception and waited outside... I was informed that the taxi would cost 200 baht and I paid the taxi driver 220 baht leaving a small tip also.

On check out they tried to charge me the taxi price again. When I explained the situation they said I had signed for the taxi already and so it went onto our bill. The male receptionist was extremely rude. He scrumpled up our bill and threw it. He then proceeded to print the new bill whilst telling me rudely that this was not his problem.

He didn't say another word to us whilst we checked out and paid for our stay. He didn't even say thank you.

The entire stay was amazing, this hotel is wonderful but the male receptionist really was disappointing and tainted our experience at sensi paradise. We left feeling upset and shocked.

Hopefully your experience will be a better one, but be aware of this extremely rude member of staff. I'm surprised they tolerate that behaviour at this upper class hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaDodson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

It was great being in the outdoors watching the wildlife in the trees just outside our room. The rooms were large - note if you have a problem with steps/steep paths it may not be ideal. Breakfast was served in the restaurant on the seafront, beautiful scenery and good service. We booked longtail trip from the resort and had a great day out - lunch, snorkelling equipment and water all included. Pool area was very large and food/drink service was available. It was great to come back to the island again - there is a lot of development there now but it is still a relaxing option .( please note not many resorts have television and water in showers is very low pressure )

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kstew996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bullengarook, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

we visited koh tao for the first time recently and had a great time.we stayed at the sensi paradise resort which was absolutely fantastic. our room was very comfy and even though we didn't spend the extra for a sea view we loved the peace of the garden were we could see squirrels running up and down trees and beautiful butterflys drifting past.our room was very big with a large comfy bed fitted with mozzie net. double doors opened onto a big raised verandah were we could enjoy the wildlife.breakfast was a buffet served at the beachfront restaurant and the very friendly staff were always at your beck & call. the beach in front of the resort was lovely, safe for children and a great place to start off snorckeling. there was a sunken boat just off shore that was great to snorkel about.there are some great resturants nearby and the town is in walking distance.

Room Tip: we enjoyed our room which was back about 3 bungalows from the beach, but if you can afford it one wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayBevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sensi. It was just the right combination of comfortable and relaxed for us. One of the best things about it was the location - at the end of the 'main drag', private and quiet but very close to town. Many other 'resorts' in Mae Head and Sairee Beach are less private and closer together. The bungalows in Sensi are spaced out and the grounds beautifully landscaped.

Another plus is the beach and the easy access to it - some of the resorts we have seen in the other bays are high up the hills and the access to the beach very steep; some have no sandy beach at all. Sensi has a nice sandy beach although this time of the year the tide was low during the day (evenings were better). There is only one tide per day on Ko Tao!

The staff were lovely, many are not Thai but from Myanmar, and most speak good English.

Some of the reviewers complained about the 'wildlife' - we didn't mind the resort's friendly dog following the housekeepers, the morning visit by the pigs (!), the squirrels playing in the trees, or the resident geckos. Our bungalow was at the back of the resort so we also had an occasional visit by some bantam roosters and hens. There were some mosquitoes on the veranda - mosquito coils from 7-Eleven for 20 baths took care of that (coconuts make great stands for them).

If you require absolute silence to sleep, you may prefer a bungalow away from the back boundary, as there was a little noise during the day from the small road and some residential/utility buildings there (hence the chickens?). The nights were generally quiet. The pier is relatively close and busy but the only boat we heard occasionally was the cargo boat that left during the night on the high tide.

Room Tip: Bungalows at the back boundary of the resort (e.g. 324) get a bit more noise from the small road and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antipodean1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My husband and I spent 6 nights at Sensi Paradise and absolutely loved it. We stayed in the Romantic Sea View bungalow which had air con, a really nice sized room with a huge bed with mosquito netting and an incredible private terrace with a bed to take in the stunning view of Mae Had harbour. We stayed in Bungalow #33 which was well located in terms of the pool, reception and restaurant.
As some of the other posts noted, there are lots of native visitors that share the resort, but we found that to be part of the overall charm and experience and loved the sounds during the day and night of all the life around us. If you shut the doors to the room and also the bathroom, you will avoid having any creepy crawlies in your room.
We ate in the restaurant quite a few times for dinner and thought the Thai food was really excellent and well priced relative to other restaurants on Koh Tao. I would recommend eating there. We also had dinner a couple of times at Whitening which is a very short walk down from the resort towards Mae Haad village. We enjoyed the ambience and food there as well. It is very romantic.
We rented a moped from the guy right up from the resort - one of the servers at the restaurant arranged it for us but reception could do this too. It was incredibly cheap at 250 baht a day and we were told that renting from his is better than other places in town in case of any incidents/scratches, not to mention it is convenient when returning the bike at the end. We found the moped indispensable and explored Koh Tao daily on it - it would be hard to do without it, unless you are willing to get taxis everywhere and there are some of the less developed stunning spots that would be difficult to get to without it.
The beach at Sensi is really beautiful and it is possible to snorkel there as well, although it can be hard with a low tide as the corals are very shallow. We also tried Jansom Bay, which is the next resort over from Sensi. It is exclusive to the Charm Churee Villas and so they charge 200 Baht for the privilege of letting you go there.
To put this in perspective, the gorgeous Island of Nangyuan charges 100 Baht entry! So this is very expensive in relative terms and to be honest, there are better places to snorkel and swim on the island. We found that you could not linger in the water too long once you get in because the fish are quite aggressive there - they bite!! Once you start moving (swimming away!) they stop.
We found Tanote Bay to be the best snorkelling and swimming spot. It is pretty straight forward to get there from Sensi on the moped. If you do go, I recommend the stunning tree house/bungalow restaurant at Ao Leuk II, close to Tanote. It had the best Pad Thai I have ever eaten! Loved it! And the view from there is incredible!
We did yoga almost daily mostly at Shambhala Yoga in Sairee. We were taught by Kester and Cynthia and found their classes absolutely fantastic and the studio was great too. Highly recommend it. We also tried Grounded but preferred Shambhala. We followed the morning classes with fab brekkie at the Sairee Sairee café, which I think is French owned. They do great omelettes!
We managed to get out in Sairee one night, following the Koh Tao Festival. I guess we might be getting too old for it - it is a fairly young crowd out there! Koh Tao is not known for its crazy nightlife but this is one of the reasons we picked it.
We loved the location of Sensi, because it is far enough from the more touristy and "party" part of the island, Sairee, but close enough to get there if you need to. Mae Haad itself has shops, restaurants, bars and services and is also big enough if you want to avoid Sairee altogether.
Sensi tailors to the family and couples holiday seekers, although I believe Samui is better suited for families as it could be difficult to get around Koh Tao with kids.
We had a wedding in Samui following this fantastic week and stayed in the seemingly more luxurious Amari Palm Reef. And we missed Sensi! It really depends on your preference: if you want flashy, resorty, expensive and a more developed feel then stay in Samui if you want a more tranquil, remote, less developed and truly unique experience - a true paradise in our opinion - then Tao and Sensi are the choices for you! We prefer the more rustic experiences and actually found Sensi to be incredibly luxurious and fantastic value. I couldn't recommend this place enough! It was like being on honey moon again and we couldn't have picked a better place to spend our 2nd wedding anniversary! Enjoy!

Room Tip: The Romantic Sea View Bungalow is fantastic - we stayed in #33 and found it to be very well located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Svetik82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Sensi Paradise lived up to all expectations of an island holiday. It is rustic and full of creatures from spiders to bats. But if you don't mind the occasional visitor, this experience is all worth while. We stayed in the romantic sea view room which I highly recommend. It is like having your own private bungalow. It was spacious with a huge deck, comfortable mosquito netted bed and clean bathroom. It was rustic in a very 5 star way and the view was simply breathtaking. The resort has an amazing restaurant with very friendly and helpful staff and is literally on the beach. The resort is also extremely close to the small yet well equipped village. The scuba diving is perfection and the clear blue, warm waters do not disappoint. The island is like something out of a story book and the resort is the perfect place to stay if you want the typical island feel. I would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,180 reviews
1.3 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,398 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
321 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
822 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensi Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensi Paradise

Property: Sensi Paradise
Address: 27 Moo 2 | Mae Haad, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sensi Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sensi Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sensi Paradise Hotel Koh Tao
Sensi Paradise Ko Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing