We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent base for your stay in Koh Tao”
Review of Sensi Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sensi Paradise
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“An excellent base for your stay in Koh Tao”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We have just spent three very pleasant weeks in the Sensi Paradise Resort and were delighted with our time there. Without exception the staff were always smiling and there was nothing that was too much trouble for them (being nice in return probably is also important I am sure...).

The resort is built on a big site that stretches quite a way up the hillside from the level of the beach where the restaurant is located. This then means that some rooms (bungalows) have easy access from the paths around the site, whereas others are up a series of steps. If you have any difficulties with steps you should make this very clear at the time of booking as there are plenty of choices that the resort can offer.

All the rooms are based on traditional Thai houses that are built on stilts off the ground. This is a delightful style and means that you will have a verandah to look out from. Our room (no. 2) was probably one of the oldest rooms but was in perfect condition and kept impeccably clean. It was interesting to see small gaps in the wooden floors (old style construction) but the excellent air conditioning and the great tent-like mosquito nets (prepared every evening by the room staff) made the whole experience very special and enjoyable. We had a lovely view between the trees out to the main harbour which was constantly busy.

The resort is built on the southern end of the Mae Haad beach and the restaurant is built out onto the edge of the water so you have a fantastic view at breakfast and other meal times. Breakfasts are plentiful and well prepared.

The beach is big enough for sun bathing and the sand is quite fine and generally clean. There is delightful snorkelling off this beach where an old wrecked coastal vessel lies in some 10 feet of water and is now home to some excellent coral growth and many colourful fish.

The resort is 10 minutes walk from the main harbour via a paved coastal path that takes you past local shops, bars and restaurants that cater for everything you might need. Walking further along the coastal path will quickly (20 minutes) take you over the headland and into Siree Beach with it's many dive shops, restaurants and bars. Siree is more 'touristy' (and expensive) than the Mae Haad side but it is a nice walk and give lots of variety of things to do.

A previous reviewer mentioned the Gekko (very small lizards 1"-2") that are often to be seen on room walls catching flies and mozzies etc. There are also slightly larger (6") Gekkos occasionally to be seen which also do exactly the same bug catching. They are totally harmless and do not want to be in your way at all, so scuttle off at high speed. They all catch bugs and ensure that you are not troubled by insects etc, so do not even give them a second thought.

We enjoyed our time here so much that we were very reluctant to be moving to another island for the next part of our journey. I think that you will also enjoy time spent there.

Rooms situated directly between the (excellent) swimming pool and the reception building appeared surrounded by more vegetation and were, in consequence, darker and more prone to mosquitos. If you can avoid these, most other rooms appeared lighter and more airy.

Room Tip: Check any steps that you may have to climb are within your ability. We had a pretty steep 30 steps t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterMac29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    418
    127
    42
    43
See reviews for
330
628
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We booked to stay 5 wonderful nights at sensi paradise as the photos made the place look magnificent. We couldn't have been more disappointed.

The Room was tiny, dirty, damp, dusty and infested with lizards and mosquitos.

The pool bed chairs where yellow with dirt, the towels where ripped and dis-coloured and the floor was covered in ants.

The beach was swamped with cans, bottles a broken chair and many many more selections of rubbish.

The place was pretty much a nightmare from start to finish, we checked out after 1 full day and they still charged us for three days. When leaving they didn't even ask WHY AND HOW WAS MY STAY ...........
AS TNEY KNEW THEMSELVES

THIS IS NOT THE PLACE TO GO IF YOUR AFTER PARADISE

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Jbrb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
465 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Terrific resort with a nice beach in front. The bungalows are very warm and cozy actually.

Service is high and the overall standard is maintained throughout.

Only one downside: you must be tropical animal friendly when you come here. Giant lizards and geckos roam around the place. Some of them could be mistaken for dragon "cubs".. Especially the two massive crocodile sized ones who roam the roofs of the message house by the beach.

This can be a bit intimidating as it's a bit difficult to fully relax with giant crocodile babies acting as your sentries.

In all fairness this is not at all a fault of the hotel as this island is naturally home to a lot of fauna and flora and these reptilian dragon like predators happen to inhabit this place.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hassan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Was initially a bit suspicious with my choice due to many bad reviews and picked this hotel mainly due to convenient location but was extremely pleasantly surprised. Hotel is great , we had a pool view villa #42 and had nothing but positive things to say. Large bedroom and bathroom, nice view while still hidden between the trees. Extremely helpful and nice staff. Only negative was poor selection of breakfast due to being low season and ongoing refurbishment of some of the villas but nothing to spoil our holidays. Hotel even recommended diving school : Dive Point which we were extremely satisfied with. Overall this is one of the best resorts on Koh Tao and if you want to stay away from backpackers party crowd while being stone throw distance from the town this is the place to be. Will be back next time.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Michal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Booked for 2 nights, with the plan of extending our say here if we liked it. We left after the 2 nd night as were very disappointed with this hotel! We should have listened to the negative cooments on TA:
1. The room is extremely damp!!!
2. Due to this dampness, and poor drainage there is a bad dank smell in the bathroom
3. The rooms are surrounded by trees, because of this there are numerous large Mosquitos in the vicinity!!! bring your repellant!
4. As mentioned in other reviews, there are numerous steps in the hotel, good workout I guess
5. Finally the staff are not the friendliest! Didn't expect the red carpet, but at breakfast felt we were annoying them by being there, also when checking out staff were only interested in my credit card

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrSnow82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here - I hadn't been to Koh Tao before and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is close to the pier and loads of restaurants, but is at the end of the beach so feels nice and private. The room we stayed in was lovely, but quite a walk from the main part of the hotel complex so may be an issue for people with mobility issues. The breakfast buffet had a great selection and was probably the best I had during my month long trip around Thailand. We didn't eat in the restaurant for lunch or dinner because there are endless cheaper options within walking distance. There's a turndown service in the evenings (very posh!) and they also brought afternoon tea round. Really excellent stay, would totally recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ollybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

It took me a while to write this but having stayed at this hotel several times, we were very disappointed the last time. The new additions to the hotel, make it feel generic and less special than it used to be. Almost feels like a club vacation. Plus, it feels over priced for what it is. Still nice, but there may be better offers - they seem to be paying the price of over expansion.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StinoParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,215 reviews
1.3 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,437 reviews
1.9 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
220 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
489 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensi Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensi Paradise

Property: Sensi Paradise
Address: 27 Moo 2 | Mae Haad, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sensi Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sensi Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sensi Paradise Hotel Koh Tao
Sensi Paradise Ko Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing