We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and relaxing, yet lacking pretension”
Review of Sensi Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sensi Paradise
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is a lovely, upscale, well located, well maintained and well run resort, right on a small stretch of beach just south of the main area of Mae Head (wherethe piers with ferry boats etc. and the town are), close enough to walk to "town" in 5 minutes, yet far enough away to feel "away from it all". Guests stay in teak, wood and stone bungalows, many of which are tiered up a hillside. Ours was above the reception, up a good many steps, at treetop level. We could sit on our veranda and watch the birds and squirrels, with the ocean in the background. The king size bed with netting surround was romantic and the room and bathroom and shower modern, and comfortable. AC was fine and there is a safe and small refrigerator, robes and slippers, beach towels and sarongs.
Each morning we descended the stairs to the beachfront, open air restaurant, under thatched roofs and lingered over the lovely buffet breakfast and tea or coffee, while chatting with fellow travelers, reading the Bangkok Post and gazing out to sea. Some days we stayed on property for most of the day relaxing on a chase lounge or thatch roofed bed on the beach or in the same poolside. Sometimes we ordered lunch on the beach or poolside. Occasionally we ate dinner in the restaurant on premises, but usually walked a short way into town to try various restaurants or for street food.
The grounds are lovely, with orchids everywhere and variety of tropical foliage, all well cared for.
A short walk down the beach road got us to all the restaurants, shops, dive shops, and massages that Mae Head offers and we even walked to Sairee one day.
Sensi Paradise proved to be the perfect start to our month long Thailand vacation, allowing us ample time to get over our jetlag and to relax into vacation mode.
Book early, especially for high season. They are often sold out months in advance and when a vacancy occurs the rates are 40% or more than for early bookings. (We paid $75 per night - breakfast included.)

Room Tip: If you can't walk up and down numerous steps, there are units at beach or pool level.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,271)
There are newer reviews for Sensi Paradise
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

We have just returned from a six night stay at sensi paradise, we enjoyed very mush our stay, however we were in 318 which I have to say was an idyllic setting, my only criticism was the "tired out bathroom". The pipe attached to the toilet permanently leaked so around the toilet area there was water on the floor and up the walls, the tap to the sink was loose, no hot water to the sink either, the bathroom was dingy and in desperate need of a refurb.We felt it let the experience of staying at "sensi" down a little, one thing to also be aware of if you are going for a quiet, relaxing holiday is the loud music from the "maya" bar which when the wind is in a certain direction comes straight across the bay this goes on until approx 3.00am, we may have just been unfortunate as to the very windy weather and the the of music being played .during our stay. We do realise that sensi cannot control the weather but we feel one should be aware, other than these little things we found it comfortable and very well situated for restaraunts, massages etc. Good restaraunt at the resort also.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Moira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend and my parents and our family friends, we loved it at Sensi! I loved the accommodation and the island. The service was amazing and the staff couldn't have done more to make us feel relaxed and cater to our needs. I loved the wildlife in the resort. I think if you don't like this resort you are sure one hard person to please! We had the pool view room and it was gorgeous, very romantic. Loved it, would definitely come back and will tell my friends and family to do the same. My favorite thing about this accommodation was the day bed on the balcony that really makes you feel like your in Asian paradise.

Room Tip: Our room by the pool was a little loud, maybe opt for a quieter room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eloise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at the Sensi at the beginning of January for two nights and had a fantastic stay. I agree with all the good reviews - the rooms have superb little touches and the staff were very good always with smiles on their faces. The hotel location is great - nice and quiet but just a ten minute walk into the main streets of Koh Tao. Considering its location the food and drink prices were very reasonable - we will be back......

Room Tip: We stayed in a pool view room and it was great - the balconies are very well equipped.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mindy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Couldn't want for more, so many small touches made this stay unforgettable. Room comes complete with sarongs, hats, torch, umbrella, beach bag, bath robes and slippers. Prepared for everything! Loved he complimentary pot of green tea that would arrive late morning with a jar of biscuits. The view is fabulous and we were upgraded for free. Nice big bed, inside and out (on our balcony). Food at the restaurant was nice but a bit pricey. The included breakfast was nice including pancakes, French toast, eggs, bacon, sausages, fried rice or noodles, dumplings plus fresh fruits and cereal, tea coffee and juice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shanatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Sensi Paradise is a lovely, romantic hotel within walking distance from Mae Haad village. Mae Haad offers good variety of restaurants and services. Mae Haad is not very busy, but we prefer more quiet and to Sairee its possible to walk or to take a taxi. Our bungalow no 13 was great; close to the village, not far from the beach and also close to the hotel restaurant. We were happy woth our bungalow, its simple, clean and beautiful and it was well cleaned daily. There is a mosquito net in the room, which is really needed as there are some. The staff was the frendliest from all the places during our holidays in Thailand. The only disseapontment was the beach; its close to the harbour and even though the staff keeps it clean the sea brings trash and I really didnt want to swim there. Good thing is the amazing pool, there are two of them and well kept. We walked to the beach south and tried other ones by taxi. I can recomment Sensi Paradise to all kinds of tourists, I think its suitable for many needs and the price is fare.

Room Tip: We liked no 13 Bungalow, I would have not wanted to be close by the beach as its not so private. May...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatkustajaNizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

A nice hotel in a good location (just a short walk along the beach to other restaurants and bars). The rooms were on stilts and had their own terrace/balcony with sofas and minibar.

The beds were comfy and the mosquito net is a must. It actually stops more than mosquitoes. You will hear the odd noise but fortunately whilst sleeping but i didn't come under attack.

The bathroom was a bit of a let down and but not a huge problem.

Breakfast and restaurant were great. Lovely views and right on the waters edge. French toast was a hit :-)

We rented a quad bike for 700 baht per day to get around the island and it is definitely worth doing.

I'd certainly go back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Haroldmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,251 reviews
1.3 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,512 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
343 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
526 reviews
1.2 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 49 in Koh Tao
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensi Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensi Paradise

Address: 27 Moo 2 | Mae Haad, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £55 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sensi Paradise 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sensi Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sensi Paradise Hotel Koh Tao
Sensi Paradise Ko Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing